We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED IT!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Oyster Bay, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“LOVED IT!!!”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We loved everything about our stay with you! The staff was friendly and informative. Our room was clean, spacious, and beautifully decorated. The beach was clean. The food was delicious. It was the perfect family vacation! We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank kcosch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julio M, Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Kcosh:

Thank you for taking the time to complete our resort survey.

We hope to see you back soon.

Julio Morales
Director of Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,146
    722
    303
    130
    46
See reviews for
1,253
686
24
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Great little resort for a family vacation. Clean rooms, friendly staff. Full kitchens a plus and BBQs. Renovations are nice. Poolside bar/restaurant could open earlier. Room faced both pool and Gulf. It was a spacious patio. We'll be back!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Danielle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julio M, Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Danielle P:
I am very glad to see that you enjoyed our resort. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your recent visit.
I will be sure to mention to our restaurant manager about the hours of operations and see if there is anything we can do about opening early.
Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you back soon.

Julio Morales
Director of Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Rude staff.
Rusty rooms.
Bad dining options (no vegetarian options!)
Holes in bed linen.
The television barely works.
If you want more than two beds, someone has to sleep on the couch!
Roof has half dug holes in them.
A/C is noisy and can't cool the whole room.
Bathroom lacks proper ventilation(even though there already is a very noisy one)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnaglnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julio M, Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Johnaglnt:
I have to say I am taken back by your review. I hope you give us a chance to rectify some of these issues before you departed our resort.

I am so sorry about the items you mentioned here. The one that really hits home is "rude staff"
If possible I would like to get some more details on your comments. This way I can address them with specific staff members, or if I had a date I can see who was working at that time.
Again, my sincere apologies and hope you understand that this is not the way we do business here at Sundial.
Please feel free to contact me either by email or by phone. I would like to make sure I address these issues so it doesn't happen to anyone else.

Julio Morales
Director of Services
julio.morales@sundialresort.com
239-395-7231
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Room was clean & spacious. The view was boring, we were disappointed our room did not have a deck but we were happy about having a separate bedroom. The staff was friendly and helpful. Free activities incl. kayak,bikes. They need more chairs for the beach and for all of the areas not just in front of the main area since the resort extends down the beach. Get there early otherwise you will not get a chair/umbrella. The food & staff were good @ restaurant but a little pricey as to be expected. The stuffed french toast was very yummy. The water tastes very gross though- this is all over the island though. It got buggy at night by the pool. Great location for shelling.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Raquel Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julio M, Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Raquel Y:
Thank you for taking the time to complete our resort survey.

We hope to see you back soon.

Julio Morales
Director of Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2014

There for a family wedding and it was a perfect spot for a beach wedding. The ceremony and the reception were both lovely. The food and service at the reception were very good. Would return to the same unit 301G. Did not like the $30 per day activities fee as we were too busy with wedding activities to use.


  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank bbayorgeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julio M, Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Guests:

Thank you for taking the time to complete our resort survey.

We hope to see you back soon.

Julio Morales
Director of Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Wonderful stay overall. Took 3 tries to get overcharge on bill fixed. Front desk never answered phone when wanting sheets for the pull out. They have a fire pit but the staff was not wanting to take responsibility for it... So they never lit it. The pool is nice as is all the activities you can do. The activity desk is fantastic and kayaking is perfect as are the bikes.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 831Jaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julio M, Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear 831Jaa:

Thank you for taking the time to complete our resort survey.

We hope to see you back soon.

Julio Morales
Director of Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Our boys love the pool with the shell slide. We all loved the 2-hour ride on a surrey. Unfortunately we did not have time to use the kayaks but we will come back :-)
The apartment (P304) was great with a great view. It was huge. It was a 2-bedroom but the extra living room with a sofa bed can be closed with doors so it is a 3-bedroom and you still have a huge dining and living room. Washer/dryer in the apartment is great, particularly for us who live in NYC and do not have this luxury in our own apartment.
The only negative thing was the time we checked in. We arrived a bit before 4pm and were told our apartment was not ready but will be soon. We finally got it at 4.20pm after coming back several times at the front desk.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Severine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julio M, Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear SeverineT:

Thank you for taking the time to complete our resort survey.

We hope to see you back soon.

Julio Morales
Director of Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
0.4 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
285 reviews
10.1 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#3 of 19 in Sanibel Island
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
685 reviews
3.2 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,835 reviews
12.2 mi away
South Seas Island Resort
South Seas Island Resort
#2 of 4 in Captiva Island
3,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundial Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundial Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 1451 Middle Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6521
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sundial Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted "BEST FULL SERVICE RESORT ON THE ISLANDS" and "BEST STAYCATION IN SOUTHWEST FLORIDA" for four years in a row, Sundial Beach Resort & Spa is the centerpiece of Sanibel Island, a unique barrier island on Florida's southern Gulf Coast. The island is a natural playground where visitors enjoy miles of pristine beaches, nature preserves, water sports and award winning bike paths. Awarded TripAdvisor's Certificate of Excellence, Sundial Beach Resort & Spa offers a wide array of activities and amenities for all ages including swimming in 5 heated pools, HydroGrid tennis courts, 12 new pickleball courts,cabanas, kayaks, paddle boards, bike tours, golf, organized activities, a marketplace, spa and sea school. One,two and three bedroom residences feature options for views with the conveniences of home in a tranquil, tropical setting. These Residences offer a full kitchen with housewares, living/dining area, full baths and ample space that is ideal for couples or larger families. Best of all, Sanibel's world-renowned, shell-dotted beaches are just steps away from your door. Voted Best Waterfront Dining in Southwest Florida, the resort's restaurants offer indoor and outdoor dining options and delicious menu selections. Look forward to an authentic experience as your dinner is artfully prepared right before your eyes at Shima Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar, the area's only Japanese steakhouse. Shima's Grab N Go provides take out sushi for those on the go. Sea Breeze Cafe offers casual dining and local, fresh ingredients with a true Sanibel Island tropical flair overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. Sundial's tiki-style poolside eatery, Turtle's Pool & Beach Bar, serves up delicious signature drinks at the bar and family-friendly patio. Slice of Paradice provides the perfect poolside venue for tasty treats such as pizza, ice-cream, hotdogs and salads- perfect for beach-goers and sunset strollers. A daily resort fee includes the use of beach umbrellas and chairs, beach towels, kayaks, paddleboards, bicycles, beach volleyball, fitness center, wifi, organized activities and tennis & pickleball court access. In addition to being voted Best Full Service Resort and Best Staycation, the resort has been regionally recognized for Best Event Facilities, Best Chef, Best Server, Best Happy Hour, Best New Restaurant, Best Sushi, Best Tiki Bar, Best Waterfront Dining and Best Tennis on the Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sundial Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundial Beach And Golf Resort
Sundial Beach & Golf Hotel Sanibel Island
Sundial Beach Hotel
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa Sanibel Island, Florida
Sundial Beach Sanibel Island
Sundial Sanibel Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing