We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good beach hotel!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seaside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Seaside Inn
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
128 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Very good beach hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Stayed in a cottage, in front of the area of the hotel where the pool and small garden is, at hte back of the hotel away from the street. You walk out of the cottage and find sand, that leads you to a small walk to the beach. This hotel has umbrellas and chairs on the beach, so you don;t have to take your own, very convenient.

We rented their kayak for $15 all day which was a lot of fun.

If you get a cottage ask for the ones where you can park your car right next to it, otherwise you'll have to haul your stuff to and from the parking lot located at the front of the property.

The cottage we stayed is like a small one room, one bathroom apartment with a sofabed in the living area. Kitchenette and eating area. We were three adults and our 8 year old son, so we were provided with an inflatable bed so he could sleep in our bedroom (tight but OK).

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Miguel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    216
    53
    29
    18
See reviews for
252
287
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

As my husband and I pulled into the parking lot at around 9:45pm hoping we might be able to secure a room for the night on a last minute whim, a gentleman was coming out of the registration office with a large garbage back. We hadn't even made it completely out of our vehicle before the man was back in the office, all the lights were turned off and the office door was locked. We called the phone number listed on Tripadvisor and was told that there was vacancy. The lady we spoke with quoted a price that was almost $30 higher than the price listed on Tripadvisor (same exact description of the room). When asked about the price difference, she stated that she did not know why Tripadvisor was showing that price because it was wrong. We later realized (when we called several other inns in the area and spoke with that very same lady) that this place is operated by The Inns of Sanibel and that the prices for each of their properties (Sanibel Inn, Sunset Beach Inn, Song of the Sea, and Seaside Inn) are incorrect as listed on Tripadvisor. In addition, there is a daily resort fee of $12 on top of the room charge, which was never voluntarily disclosed until we specifically asked about it.

As it turned out, we found very nice, less expensive accommodations down the road, where our business was appreciated and we were treated wonderfully! So although I'm really not at all disappointed about not being able to stay here. I do feel it's important to share our experience with fellow Tripadvisor users. We certainly didn't feel like our prospective business was appreciated and I don't think anyone likes to be surprised with higher prices and hidden fees.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
26 Thank weride02h-d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
192 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We left on an icy highway to drive for over 3 hours, seeing overturned semis, and cars off the Interstate. The airport had been shut down for the first 2 days of our trip. What a unpleasant beginning to our vacation! Sanibel was our last stop on a three part trip. Everything had been booked in advance of our Indiana Winter Storm. What a relief it was to be out of Indiana and in Florida! The weather was great, and our room was great! We had a little problem with our booking upon arrival. I had booked oceanfront, and we were placed in a side section of the inn. I was very disappointed. Everything had been unloaded from the rental car into the room we were told that was ours. I protested, and we were switched. They did help us move our suitcases. If you rent here, you do want oceanview. The side rooms are smaller, and there is no view.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank memoryseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We just stayed at the Seaside Inn for our 33rd anniversary. Staff is very friendly including . Rooms are neat, clean and kept up to date. Bedspreads are changed with every new guest. That does not happen at every hotel. Pool was big and very clean. Wonderful continental breakfast delivered every evening at your door for the following morning so you could enjoy it in the privacy of your own room. If you need anything, just ask and the staff will do what they can to accommodate you. Oh and almost forgot the free bikes you can check out and ride all over island. Some have baby seats and some also have the pull behind carts for toddlers. We will return and highly recommend to anyone wanting to get away for a relaxing beach trip.We just stayed at the Seaside Inn for our 33rd anniversary. Staff is very friendly including . Rooms are neat, clean and kept up to date. Bedspreads are changed with every new guest. That does not happen at every hotel. Pool was big and very clean. Wonderful continental breakfast delivered every evening at your door for the following morning so you could enjoy it in the privacy of your own room. If you need anything, just ask and the staff will do what they can to accommodate you. Oh and almost forgot the free bikes you can check out and ride all over island. Some have baby seats and some also have the pull behind carts for toddlers. We will return and highly recommend to anyone wanting to get away for a relaxing beach trip.

Room Tip: Room 133 is a second floor gulf view room. Probably the best for Gulf view. Room 115 is a poolside r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

My family and I stayed here for an extended weekend. I couldn't have been more relaxed and content. All staff was exceptional, went above and beyond for each and every guest from what I observed. Complimentary rides, beautiful-deep- pool, on the beaches with FREE lounges and umbrellas! And if that wasn't enough, they leave a basket of treats each day. We also got a daily resort credit which we could either use at the sister resort bars/restaurants or on resort wear / items. I could not have been happier with my stay here. It does have a shabby chic feel to it which made it that much more relaxing. I was a little nervous beforehand, due to a couple of the reviews, but I WILL be back again...and again...and again.

Room Tip: The pool is very deep, so those with small children may want to bring life jackets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merci L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We just got back from our second visit to the Seaside Inn and loved it once again. This quaint little spot is full of amenities that make it a wonderful value, and the location is perfect. What really puts it over the top is the customer service by innkeeper Tresann. She's been there for both our visits (one last year for just my husband and I, and this year with the kids). She goes above and beyond in service, making sure we got the same room, suggesting activities/discounts, and making sure we have everything needed to make the most of our trip. The housekeepers are very sweet and helpful as well.
The inn is quaint with clean, spacious rooms (think Tommy Bahama style decor with 50s beach prints on the walls): very apropos old Sanibel. It's just the right size (about 32 rooms total) with one building facing the beach. A little higher rate is worth it for the view. The other rooms surround the old-style rectangular pool. Again, not fancy but clean and lots of fun, and all steps from the beach.
It's the little things that make this place extraordinary. In addition to the friendly staff, they have bikes to borrow (adult, kid-size and even a tag-a-long kid trailer) which saved us a good bit in bike rental fees. There's shuffle board, a laundry and shell washing station, grills, games, books, and beach toys to borrow. The complimentary breakfast basket is nice tide-over to save a few bucks and allow for more $ to eat out later.
For the reviewers with complaints: if you want swanky, go to the Ritz in Naples. If you want sweet, old-Island charm, this is your spot. We've enjoyed both, but can't wait to go back and relax at the Seaside Inn!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank VanMeter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Seaside Inn is a cute little hotel with the charm of old Florida. A bit dated but very clean with comfortable new bedding. A small kitchen with microwave, small refrigerator, coffee maker. Directly on the ocean with spectacular sunsets. Would recommend but do not expect a 4 star. Would rate this property a 3 star. Complimentary bikes and Danish for breakfast.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin112300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
1.8 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,062 reviews
0.6 mi away
Song of the Sea
Song of the Sea
#10 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
4.8 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,576 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#9 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Inn

Property: Seaside Inn
Address: 541 E. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957-5005
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Seaside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaside Inn invites you to rediscover the charm of a quaint beachfront inn on beautiful Sanibel Island where life’s pace is slower. Unwind by the pool or enjoy a day at the beach looking for shells or soaking up the sun. Seaside Inn offers personalized service along with 32 newly renovated guestrooms, suites and cottages with interiors inspired by the sun bleached sand beyond the dune. Each guestroom and suite is furnished with a comfortable king or queen beds with views of the pool or beach. The cottages offer a separate living area with a new sleeper sofa, full kitchen and one bedroom with a king bed. Each cottage has a deck just off the living area to enjoy the Florida sun with family while overlooking the pool. Each day a complimentary continental breakfast basket is delivered to the rooms for the next morning’s enjoyment. While on Sanibel enjoy the wide variety of outdoor adventures. Spend time exploring the 23 miles of paved nature trails that wind through the wetlands with one of the bikes provided by Seaside Inn. Visit the J.N. Ding Darling National Wildlife Refuge to view a wide variety of migratory birds and explore an unspoiled mangrove ecosystem. For more active play, Sanibel Island offers 18 holes of golf on 75 acres of natural lake view fairways and Audubon Cooperative Society wetlands at the Dunes Golf & Tennis Club. For play and relaxation, let Seaside Inn welcome you to the pace of island living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Seaside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaside Hotel Sanibel Island
Seaside Inn Sanibel Island, Florida
Seaside Sanibel Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing