We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Greenwood, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our favorite vacation”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

We love it here at Sanibel Siesta. Our condo is very comfy and updated. Kids love the pool and private beach. It feels like a home away from home. And Sanibel Island...simply the best. Laid back, non-touristy. All shops and restaurants are local, yocal places. This is our family's favorite vacation.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank markowengrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    70
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
225
72
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
OKC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Our family of four (two adults, two kids- 4 and 8) stayed 5 nights in room 607. Check-in was simple. We did not have much interaction with the staff, but they were helpful when we did so. The property overall, as far as common grounds, pool, walkways etc., was nice and clean. The gas grills worked fine. The washers and dryers in the laundry room near buildings 6 and 7 looked brand new and worked very well. The pool was never crowded during our visit so there were plenty of chairs and loungers available. One note about the pool, it starts at four feet deep and goes to seven feet deep so smaller kids cannot stand up even in the shallow end.
Room 607 pros:
Location- Second floor room, so no neighbors above you. There are elevators available that were close but not too close to hear others on them. The sandy part of the beach is roughly 50 yards from the building.
Garage- 607 includes a garage which kept the car cool. There were a few beach chairs and an umbrella in the garage. The chairs were older but adequate.
Kitchen- the appliances seemed fairly new and worked well. There were also small appliances like a coffee pot (and filters), blender, and toaster. The kitchen was fairly well equipped with kitchen gadgets like tongs, wine opener, bottle opener, cutting boards, pots, pans, etc. They were not high quality but sufficient. The granite counter tops looked fairly new.
Lanai- the screened in lanai had a nice view of the beach. It was a little cramped though with a table, four chairs, two loungers, and a drying rack.
Safe- master closet included a small safe like you find in most hotel rooms.
Wifi- worked well and had no connectivity issues throughout the property.
Neutral- dining room table and chairs were decent. Couch, chairs, and TVs were adequate.
Cons- the beds, bedroom furniture, and paint in the bedrooms were horrible. The beds were cheap and uncomfortable. Furniture was cheap but served its purpose. The second bedroom was very small. The large closet in it was difficult to use. You had to move the bed in order to get in it. There were electrical issues in 607 as well. Several outlets were loose and/or not working. Instead of fixing them, inadequate extension cords were used. There was also peeling caulk and rust. This might just be part of living near the water. The blinds and curtains were cheap and did not work well either. All of these cons did not ruin our vacation, but we just did not expect to have these issues with a property rated #1 on tripadvisor. Also, each unit is likely individually owned and could be better or worse.

Room Tip: Any room would be a short walk from the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank braco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanibel Siesta o, Manager at Sanibel Siesta on the Beach, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
I love to hear you had a great vacation. Thank you for telling us of the bedding we will look into this immediately. I also wanted to comment on the electrical outlets. If there is a loose outlet please let us know and we will fix it promptly. The reason for any extension cords in the units would be because the closest socket is controlled by the light switch. Once again thank you for staying with us and please if you have any issues while you are staying with us in the future let us know. We have on site staff to take care of all guest issues.
Sincerely,
Julie Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westborough, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Our family of three adults stayed seven nights during mid-May in Rm 504. I travel extensively for business (50+ nights annually), and I can honestly tell you this property deserves its 4 star rating (from AAA). The room was delightful - well equipped, clean and well-appointed. The overall property was clean, well-maintained, the pool area was excellent, and the service provided by the front desk outstanding. We wanted to go snorkeling; Sarah directed us to a local captain with a 20' skiff. Reasonably priced. We had a wonderful three-hour boat ride and snorkeled, shelled and saw dolphins and manatees. Of course the Sanibel beach is fabulous and being 100' from this room made it all the better. I highly recommend bldg 5 as it gets morning sun (on the screened in balcony) but afternoon shade. The only thing I would say to watch is booking on holiday weekends. The last day of our stay was on Memorial Day weekend, and the place was just mobbed. We will return to this property.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank WboroMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeWitt, Michigan, United States
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed 5 nights in room 608 and it was absolutely fabulous. It was the perfect size for our family of four and the beach views were phenomenal!! I loved the way it was decorated and my boys thought the tiki themed beds were great. The screened in porch was the best. We would go back again in a heartbeat and would highly recommend the condo.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I stayed with Family here over Easter, the flats are privately owned and rented out through the office. So what you get is some personal touches to the decoration, living area and layout etc. We had 3 apartments between us and they were all individual but all very nice. All had big balconies with lots of space. The lounge area was big, the bedrooms fine. There were 2 bathrooms in the 2 bedroom flats. Garage downstairs for the bikes and hire car too. Pool was fine, but when the beach is only 10yds away! The beach is great, sandy white sand (!)... for miles and miles. Wifi was good too for skyping home. Def recommend. 4 or 5 stars? Well the air con was noisy! Can't comment on the value as I didn't pay the bill.

Room Tip: All have balconies, all have stairs, there was a lift , but all had their own features.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billybiscuits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hackensack, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Just returned from a quiet and relaxing stay at the Sanibel Siesta. We had a beautiful condo with great views. Beach was close and uncrowded; most of the time we had the swimming pool to ourselves. Staff very friendly We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joenj150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkton, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We found and selected this condo from a discount booking service, but we couldn't be happier to book the room for the bargain price. We are here mid May, sort of a shoulder season, but that just means the temps are a little higher but there are very few people on the island. Easier getting tables for dinner, easier to travel around the island and relatively empty beaches.
Our unit has 2 BR, one with queen bed and the other with twins. We didn't need the extra room for just the two of us, but it allowed us to spread out our luggage and clothes. The master has a large walk in closet-- certainly more space than we need for a week's worth of shorts, sandals and swimsuits.
The pool is kept clean and has several shaded spaces as well as the full sun chairs. We had two little issues that were resolved quite quickly by the friendly staff. Bike rentals are available and there are miles of bike trails to just about anywhere you'd want to go on the island.
Living on the island for a week is probably a bit more expensive than a week over on the mainland (Ft Myers Beach), but the community here is so laid back and residential the extra cost is all worth it.
Don't come for the nightlife, the discos or the tuxedo dinner parties, but certainly come for the sun, the water and the company of your travel mate.

Room Tip: Beach front units only have a slightly better beach view, so not sure that price upgrade would be wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCS311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
0.4 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,347 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
285 reviews
10.3 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,835 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sanibel Moorings Resort
Sanibel Moorings Resort
#1 of 19 in Sanibel Island
754 reviews
3.5 mi away
Beachview Cottages
Beachview Cottages
#2 of 19 in Sanibel Island
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanibel Siesta on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanibel Siesta on the Beach

Property: Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Address: 1246 Fulgur Street, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6600
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sanibel Siesta on the Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanibel Siesta, located on world famous Sanibel Island in the Gulf of Mexico, is a crown jewel along the coast of Southwest Florida. Our seaside resort offers a private gulf front location featuring 2 bedroom/2 bath accommodations with spacious living rooms, dining areas, fully equipped kitchens, cable TV, free wifi and a large screened lanai --- the ultimate in vacation rental condominiums! Surrounded by lush tropical gardens and sugar white beaches, Sanibel Siesta offers a heated pool, tennis courts, shuffleboard and outdoor gas grills. A challenging golf course is nearby. You'll enjoy friend neighbors and a quiet charm at our island resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sanibel Siesta on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanibel Siesta Condominiums Hotel Sanibel Island
Hotel Sanibel Island
Sanibel Island Siesta Condominiums
Sanibel Siesta On The Beach Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing