We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff, beautiful Island” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunset Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sunset Beach Inn
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, beautiful Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed here for just one night. Greeted by very friendly and helpful staff. The room was lovely, clean and comfortable. Free bikes were great for exploring, very enjoyable experience. The beach side location was very handy, however there are nicer beaches on the island which are not to be missed. All in all this was a lovely place to stay and i would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oliviam471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    230
    76
    51
    43
See reviews for
248
310
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We came a Ross this resort by complete chance but were very impressed.
The staff were very helpful and the rooms were beautifully presented with good sea views.
There was direct access to the beach and it had lovely kept pool area.
There is plenty of choice for good places to eat and visit locally within short distance.
I would highly recommend this to anyone who who is looking for a relaxing break on Sanibel.

Room Tip: Request a sea view room and the staff will do what they can to find you a good one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

it was our first time staying on sanibel island, and maybe our last. we were so bit up by those no see ums, sand fleas, we could not enjoy ourselves. i had over 200 bites. we tried skin so soft, bug spray, benadryl ointment and pill form. the two bedroom, two bath was clean and comfortable for three adults and 2 children. the pool was clean. just steps from gulf of mexico. i would stay at sunset beach inn again if i knew i would not get bit by those no see ums.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tammy n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

The Sunset Beach Inn is our favorite place to stay on Sanibel. Holly, Kim and all the staff go out of their way to make you feel at home. The location on West Gulf Drive is perfect for shelling or just relaxing on the beach. It is close to Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grill when you are ready for great food and drinks.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Spent anniversary weekend there. Nice hotel. It's not luxury but still nice place to stay. Staff is extremely friendly. Every staff member I passed had a smile and said hello. Continental breakfast is offered. Worth staying.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ceciliaW2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Sunset Beach Inn, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you so much for your positive and candid review! We do take great pride in our service and our teams have a sincere love for people. Please know that your comments will not only be shared but celebrated with our team. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altamonte Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Thank goodness I'm coming back in July! I got super lucky, my room was on the 2nd floor 1 room from the beach. Great view of the pool and the beach. Super clean room, had dishes, silverware, coffee maker, fridge, microwave, oven and stove. DVD player. The grounds were clean and quiet. Chairs and umbrellas on the beach. We "borrowed" bikes and rode further west on W Gulf to catch another great sunset. (I am admittedly "over the top" OCD so check out my "makeover" to the bike rack!)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gidget911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Sunset Beach Inn, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you so much Gidget911 not only for your amazing review but for our bike rack makeover! We are so glad that you not only enjoyed your visit with us but that you'll be returning to see us soon. We'll be sure to take great care of the bikes for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Cod, MA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

The hotel is a bit dated, but our room was acceptable and clean. We were not in the room very much, except for sleeping. It was quiet and we had no problems.Good location and we were able to get a good price. The pool was kept very clean and there were places for shell washing made available to us.

Room Tip: Don't expect Hilton type rooms... this is a Florida hotel on the water and with a great beach ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oneheart58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Sunset Beach Inn, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you oneheart58 for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay, found great value in our property, and took the time to share it with others. We do hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
3.1 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,058 reviews
4.7 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Song of the Sea
Song of the Sea
#10 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
7.9 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach Inn

Property: Sunset Beach Inn
Address: 3287 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-5611
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Beach Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunset Beach Inn includes forty-six guestrooms and suites nestled on 4.5 acres of tropical Sanibel Island. Our 360 feet of beach along the Gulf of Mexico offers beautiful shells, tranquil sunsets and pristine sand. Relax by the pool with the Gulf of Mexico across the horizon.Each morning prepare for an activity filled day with a complimentary Continental breakfast, with an assortment of fresh fruit and breakfast breads. Play a set of tennis or ride a complimentary bicycle and explore the 23 miles of bike paths throughout Sanibel Island. Play a friendly game of volleyball with the beach just within view. Two shuffleboard courts await a challenging game near the picnic area. The resort offers two gas grills and picnic tables-perfect for a family dinner out under the graceful palms. Whether relaxation or fun filled activities are in your vacation plans, The Sunset Beach Inn provides the perfect beach getaway for families and couples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Sunset Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanibel Sunset Beach Hotel Sanibel Island
Sanibel Island Sunset Beach Resort
Sanibel Sunset Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Sunset Beach Hotel
Sunset Beach Inn Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing