We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location location location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sunset Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunset Beach Inn
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Location location location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

This was a nice quiet clean hotel. The room was a nice size and the screened in balcony was a huge plus since the bugs were bad when we were there. The beach was nice and quiet, never made it to the pool however there was a family that pretty much had it to themselves. We will book here again for sure. WIFI wasn't the best but it was free and we were on vacation.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeriJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    231
    78
    50
    43
See reviews for
251
312
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed at Sunset Beach Inn for 1 night about 2 weeks ago. Our room was on the 2nd floor and was nice. We didn't have any issues with anything while we were here. We checked in about 9 pm and the lady at the front desk was so sweet and helpful. In the morning they had a continental breakfast which consisted of bagels, donuts, cereal and fruit. It was fresh and good.

Pros:
* Room was nice, quiet.
* Continental breakfast was nice since there really isn't anywhere else to go that is quick and nearby.
*Staff was friendly
*On the beach
*Free parking

Cons:
*Carpet needed to be cleaned
*no elevator (that I saw), so had to carry suitcase up steps--big bummer!

Also, this isn't the hotel's fault, but I was disappointed with the shells. I thought they would be bigger and there would be more of a variety. Most of them seemed to be white and medium sized.
One more thing that wasn't the hotel's fault was the bugs outside. People are not kidding about these things. You will get bit and never even see the bug. We didn't take bug spray, but needed it badly!

This hotel really is cute and cozy. You have to compare apples to apples here, so the people that are giving this hotel a low star rating must be comparing it to a Four Seasons or something.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeninin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

This is a very comfortable hotel on the west side of the island on the beach. Great pool also and tennis and shuffle board courts. Free bicycles, beach umbrellas, tennis rackets and balls, the works all included.

Breakfast included (bagels, fruit, cereal, coffee, milk, etc)

Great for kids for sure; nearby turtle nests and lots of shells. On the quiet side of the island from the main road (Periwinkle)

Room Tip: We stayed in three rooms on the same floor as the office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgoodpas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurnee, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Staying at the Sunset Beach Inn was the most enjoyable part of our visit to Sanibel. One of the cleaning staff was singing as we checked making us feel very welcome and actually right at home. From the front desk to the cleaning staff everyone was very polite and very helpful. Access to the beach was right there and the cleanliness of the property was perfect. I will stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for room 207
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

This hotel was very comfortable (we stayed with our 2 kids, 3yr old & 4 month old) The room was VERY spacious and comfortable. Having a microwave, mini fridge and stove was a great bonus. Private beach access for hotel guests means it was NEVER crowded, they give you beach umbrellas and lounging chairs (we opted not to use umbrellas because we brought our beach tent for more covered space) The breakfast is served in the front office (you take your tray to go get what you want and then back to your room (the room has a large table to eat) The only downfall for me was that breakfast was lots of SWEET treats (donuts, muffins, pastries etc, not much of a healthier choices) but none the less they were very tasty.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zaraaf6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorain, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

As a returing guest, I had an idea of what to expect. Upon walking into the reservation area, I was pleasantly greeted. I was given detailed information about all of the included amenities - pool, tennis courts, shuffleboard, bikes, beach umbrellas and lounge chairs. The newly remodeled room was the exact beach feel we were looking for - the pops of yellow made the room very warm and comfortable. The staff was great. Kim in the reservation area was always pleasant and full of information not only about the resort but also about what to do on Sanibel /Captiva. Alain the groundskeeper was available to help with anything in the room from changing a lightbulb to resetting the safe.

This is a place to getaway from all of the hustle and bustle.

Room Tip: An upgrade to the garden view is well worth. These same rooms also offer a view of the gulf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Therese S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
115 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

I really enjoyed staying at this property. From the minute you check in you are greeted by a friendly staff. The hotel room was very large and had an efficiency kitchen. Compared to most hotels on the island, this hotel was very updated, clean and offered everything you needed. The only complaint I had was the air conditioning. The unit couldn't keep up with the amount of cold air we wanted. Even with the air, I would stay at this property again. The property is right on the beach and the hotel has the biggest pool on the island. Thank you for making our stay a great one!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlabrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
3.0 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,145 reviews
4.7 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Song of the Sea
Song of the Sea
#9 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
7.9 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach Inn

Property: Sunset Beach Inn
Address: 3287 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-5611
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Beach Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunset Beach Inn includes forty-six guestrooms and suites nestled on 4.5 acres of tropical Sanibel Island. Our 360 feet of beach along the Gulf of Mexico offers beautiful shells, tranquil sunsets and pristine sand. Relax by the pool with the Gulf of Mexico across the horizon.Each morning prepare for an activity filled day with a complimentary Continental breakfast, with an assortment of fresh fruit and breakfast breads. Play a set of tennis or ride a complimentary bicycle and explore the 23 miles of bike paths throughout Sanibel Island. Play a friendly game of volleyball with the beach just within view. Two shuffleboard courts await a challenging game near the picnic area. The resort offers two gas grills and picnic tables-perfect for a family dinner out under the graceful palms. Whether relaxation or fun filled activities are in your vacation plans, The Sunset Beach Inn provides the perfect beach getaway for families and couples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunset Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanibel Sunset Beach Hotel Sanibel Island
Sanibel Island Sunset Beach Resort
Sanibel Sunset Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Sunset Beach Hotel
Sunset Beach Inn Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing