We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food, but on styrofoam/plastic?? gross.”
Review of Sea Star Cafe & Bar - CLOSED

Sea Star Cafe & Bar
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Located in the Sanibel Inn & Resort, this casual American theme restaurant is a wonderful addition to Sanibel Island. We are family friendly and serve breakfast, lunch and dinner in a beautifully appointed setting. Additionally we are open to the public from 8am - 10pm 7 days a week so all of our local friends, as well as our out of town visitors can enjoy a great meal at prices that will amaze you.
Tukwila, Washington, USA
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good food, but on styrofoam/plastic?? gross.”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

our four-top had to serve ourselves at the outdoor tiki bar, which was a great atmosphere being beachside. we ordered lunch items--the grouper sandwiches were really tasty--and they arrived in styrofoam and plastic containers. that really cheapens the experience, even with the "compostable plastic" cups, which because of florida's nonexistent commercial composting operations will endup in the landfill, along with everything else we ate from--completely unnecessary! come on, sanibel--do your due diligence in waste reduction and at the same time up your sustainability game--it's been a new millennium for a while now.

Helpful?
1 Thank seattlemarketgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    62
    36
    25
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sanford, FL
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Mixed...Reviews...”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I gave this place an avergae rating because their while their breakfast cowboy skillets were for lack of a better word....disgusting.....the kobe burger we had at the tiki bar was great.

At breakfast it seemed we had to ask for everything...sugar, menus, silverware, napkins, refills on drink and coffees. The steak in the cowboy skillet was like something scraped off the side of the road which truly shocked us because we had the same thing 2 years ago and it was superb. It was gross and bland and blegh. Half our toast was burnt and dripping with butter yet the other half was dry and barely toasted....a very weird feat. The waitress was not very friendly. And this night sound picky but they seriously need to stop using a door chime to let the waitress know when the food is ready. That is just tacky. And after our breakfast with just coffee, 1 soda, 2 cowboy skillets and even after the 10% off it as still $40!!!!!!! When you can get better food, better coffee and even a mimosa at a local very popular restaurant for the same price if not cheaper?????? Let's just say we ate breakfast somewhere else the rest of our trip.

However lunch from their tiki bar?? The service was great and their Kobe burger was hot, fresh and super tasty and well worth the price, beer was ice cold.

So their lunch sort of made up for the breakfast but still....breakfast was so bad that it gives the SeaStar cafe an average rating of Average.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zdavis29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food! Great waitress!”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We were staying at the Sanibel Inn and decided to just walk to their restaurant instead of trying to go out and drive around to find someplace to eat. I was a bit skittish to try the restaurant because some of the reviews had not been the best. We were so pleasantly surprised! The waitress was wonderful and so helpful. She was also the bartender and made us some delicious drinks! We were there during happy hour and the mixed drinks were only $3. Our whole family ordered different menu items and everyone thoroughly enjoyed their meal, from the chicken sandwich (which was HUGE) to the mahi mahi to the chicken Caesar salad. the onion rings were also delicious!! If we ever make it to Sanibel again we would definitely come here to eat!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kersten S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liberty, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best Food on the island”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Our sea food was hot, fresh and good ... we have eaten here in the past when vacationing on the island- the service has always been bad last year we said that even thought the food is great the service was so so bad we would not come back.
Well we arrived late in the day this year and was really wanting some good fish so we decided to give ti another try..... It was amazing the past manager and waitress ( I think they are part of the ownership ) were gone they had a new waitress she said she had been there about 7 months she was great!
The food was great what a difference replacing the old sever and manager even if they are related to the owner!
Best food on the island and now good service to go with it!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vacationbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not to good”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

What a shame this establishment didn't stick with Ellington's as it is now there really isn't much positive to say. Our last visit there the wait staff were overwhelmed with the huge crowd of three costumers. We sat at the bar and after a terribly long wait finally offered to help mix our own drinks and run the bar for them since they seemed to incapable of running the floor.
This wasn't our first to the Sea Star Cafe but it IS our last!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sea Star Cafe & Bar also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing