We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific!”
Review of Sanibel Moorings

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sanibel Moorings
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
North Carolina
Level Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Terrific!”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Second stay here in 3 years. Beautiful properties at a great location.
Our 2nd floor unit faced the shoreline and offered wonderful views. Rooms were VERY clean; without any issues. Beach was a short walk; very convenient. Staff/service were helpful from booking thru checkout.
No question we'll be back!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMCA845, Front Office Manager at Sanibel Moorings, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Jay C,

We're so thankful that you took the time to share your experience with others. We're glad you enjoyed your stay here at Sanibel Moorings and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    552
    120
    19
    5
    2
See reviews for
431
176
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaver, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Great place, dog friendly, beautiful gardens, awesome pools, fully equipped kitchens, screened in porches, clean beach, quiet and nice people who work here! We recommend going to a grocery store to stock up on food prior to traveling over the bridge to Sanibel so you aren't forced to eating out all the time.

There are nice beach chairs and umbrellas available, but bring your own beach towels and water shoes. Very laid back, not a resort feel - which we love!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MCR1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMCA845, Front Office Manager at Sanibel Moorings, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear MCR 1970,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of our resort! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay! Please come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
142 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We have stayed here many times during spring break over the years with our kids and loved it! Great condos with beautiful views of the beach and the gardens; easy, short scenic walk along the boardwalk to the beach; I loved it here.

The gulf water is warm even in spring and so calm my kids could play in the water. Dolphins swam right in front of us on the beach. And when the kids tired of the beach we could easily take them to the pool. When we were there, they did have adult-only hours for the pool, so we needed to keep that in mind. It was never a problem.

My kids enjoyed the Easter bunny coloring contest and it was so delightful to them that they both got to win a ribbon, each in a consecutive year.

We felt like we were in a home away from home in one particular condo on the second floor--although the living room balcony looked out upon another resort, our master bedroom balcony's view was of the beach and it was such a pleasure to sit out on the screened balcony and have breakfast or lunch or a drink and just relax.

One year we could not book our favorite 2 bedroom condo for the spring break vacation week (we had to book a year in advance to get the one we wanted!) and we had another condo that suffered from a bathroom door that wouldn't fully close or lock and a leaking air conditioner causing a moldy smell to the rug but they addressed these issues as soon as we reported them.

We loved walking along the beach, looking over what had washed up after a storm, checking out the other resorts along the way. I remember DH taking us for a walk along the beach (after we had watched the sunset elsewhere), hearing the ocean water lapping at our feet, watching the light from the lighthouse--just great memories with our kids.

The condos really feel like a home away from home, the grounds are beautiful, the location is great and we loved the beach view from our balcony.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fireflymd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMCA845, Front Office Manager at Sanibel Moorings, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear fireflymd,

We are so thankful that you took the time to write such a terrific review of our resort! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you'll come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We just got back from a week at Sanibel Moorings. This was our first trip to the island and we were very excited. I choose Sanibel Moorings partly based on the great reviews and we were not disappointed! What a wonderful place! We stayed in unit 222 and our condo was beautiful! It had absolutely everything we could need. The grounds are lovely and we saw lots of wildlife, including the family of baby armadillos. I thought the canal side of the complex was just as beautiful as the gulf side. Check in was very easy and luckily, we were able to check in an hour before the stated check in time because we had a car full of groceries! We spent a lot of time on the beach and there was always plenty of chairs and umbrellas. Our son loved the pool. I was really happy that they had swim noodles available as the pool is pretty deep and my son, who is a very timid swimmer, loved floating around with the noodles. They have a nice area with three large grills that we used for a cook-out. We also made use of the laundry facility on site as well. Overall, we were very happy with our experience at Sanibel Moorings and would not hesitate to stay there in the future! Oh- and the rest of Sanibel Island is just as wonderful!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMCA845, Front Office Manager at Sanibel Moorings, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Suzanne S,

Thank you, very much, for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of our resort! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed yourselves! We hope you'll come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We have been going to the Moorings for about 8 years. We tend to see the same people at the same time, which gives you a good idea that it is a home away from home. There is an extraordinary friendliness and welcoming nature to the people who go - some of whom are owners and some of whom are renters like us. You can cook in, barbeque on the property or go to a slew of restaurants on the island. There is sun, water, sand and no need to do anything. What a getaway!

Room Tip: the gulf view rooms are special
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank W Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMCA845, Front Office Manager at Sanibel Moorings, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Scott B,

We are so thankful that you took the time to write such a wonderful review of our resort! We're glad you enjoyed your stay, again this year, and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We have been coming to Sanibel Mooring for over 10 years. We visited this year March 9-16, just my 13 yo son and myself. We had a beautiful second floor gulf front 2 bed condo. I spent the entire week on the lanai looking at the beach, sitting on the beach, or walking on the beach. My son was able to come out and join me or stay in the condo. The dolphins would swim right in front of my chair as I was sitting on the beach! The grounds are beautiful and the staff is very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cutter50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMCA845, Front Office Manager at Sanibel Moorings, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear cutter50,

Thank you, so much, for taking the time to share your experience, at Sanibel Moorings, with others! We're are so pleased that you've been coming back for so many years and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I've stayed in fancier lodgings but the view of the Gulf makes up for any shortcomings in furnishings. Sitting on the lanai while wearing shorts and looking at the beach in March is fantastic. Inside the condo the furniture was worn. It looked OK, just past its prime. The attractive kitchen was adequately stocked but there were no staples, such as salt and pepper or aluminum foil, that I have become accustom to while staying in a vacation rental. There were four plastic containers with lids.

Sanibel had enough to keep up busy (no children this time) that we ventured off the island only for a day trip to the Everglades. There were several multigenerational families staying at the Sanibel Moorings, and they enjoyed playing on the grassy lawn and swimming in the pools. For a swim, I prefer the beautiful gulf with the pelicans diving close by.

Room Tip: I recommend paying extra for a gulf-view condo, preferably on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kokicmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMCA845, Front Office Manager at Sanibel Moorings, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear kokicmp,

We are so appreciative that you took the time to write a review of our resort and share your wonderful experience with others. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope you'll come back and visit us, again, soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
1.2 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,183 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#2 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
4.2 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#8 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanibel Moorings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanibel Moorings

Property: Sanibel Moorings
Address: 845 E Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-7096
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanibel Moorings 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanibel’s only Botanical Garden with six acres of lush, tropical gardens located between the Gulf of Mexico and the canals of the back bay. 1, 2 & 3 bedroom beachfront fully furnished and equipped condominium suite rentals daily, weekly & monthly. 2 heated swimming pools, 2 tennis courts, wireless internet, boat dockage, canoeing & kayaking, DVD and bicycle rentals and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sanibel Moorings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanibel Moorings Hotel Sanibel Island
Hotel Sanibel Island
Sanibel Moorings Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing