We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gulf Breeze Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Placid, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC!!!”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

This cottage was fantastic. My husband, myself, and our 2 kids ages 1 and 2 had a great time.

First off we had unit #12. Its a 2/1. This cottage came with more than we thought. The cottage was in excellent condition. The housemaid did a great job. Her cleaning was to the tee all the way down to wiping all the door knobs and the parts of the door that you grab. You have your own front porch with patio table and chairs. You have a gas grill off to the side that on this unit its a little secluded so that was nice. The kitchen was great. Had all cooking utensils and eating utensils. A full stove and oven as well as a full size refrigerator. The TV swiveled which was nice you could watch it whether in the kitchen or sitting in the living room. Even the channels were great. They offer several channels more than I have seen in a hotel. For kids they have the nickelodeon, cartoon network, and disney.

Secondly, you have your rooms. They were very spacious. The bathroom was nice and a good size too. There were nice size closets in both rooms and tall dressers in each room as well. The beds were nice and comfortable. Now they are not like sleeping on a $3000 mattress but this is a hotel not a luxury home.

Unit 12 would be great for kids. This unit is somewhat secluded from all the other cottages and the office and its the only one with a huge backyard. Our kids liked that and so did we. We used it a lot.
The beach was nice and for us about a 3 minute walk through the other cottages. They have nice almost new lounge chairs you can take to the beach and in your room they leave you your own umbrella to carry out to the beach. That was nice as well.

The hotel staff was great. We arrived a little early and we were good to go to check in. We also asked about a late check out and they were great to offer us a check out at 12 instead of 10 since the people were not going to be arriving later in that afternoon.

We are already planning a family trip to come back with everyone else in about 2 months. We have found our new beach vacation getaway.

Room Tip: If you are a big family...unity 12 is a 2/1 and its a duplex with 12A which is a 3/2. So the back po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oneills4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C, Manager at Gulf Breeze Cottages, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Thanks for your feedback. We are so happy you enjoyed #12.

We are looking forward for you to bring more family and rent the whole duplex next year!

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    41
    9
    4
    5
See reviews for
49
62
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Urbandale, Iowa, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2012

My husband and I with our two teenage children spent a week at Gulf Breeze Cottages on Sanibal, Island. We stayed in cottage number 8. It was lovely, spacious and close to the beach. Cottage 8 is much larger in life than it is in photos. The grounds are lovely and it is only a short walk to the beach for shelling, swimming, or making sand sculptures. Every item needed to cook was clean and available in the kitchen of the cottage. We had a great time. We could breakfast on the deck and sort shells on the deck table later in the day. We hope to return because we loved it!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurieDot8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C, Manager at Gulf Breeze Cottages, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Thank so much for the praise and taking the time to review us. We hope to see you soon. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We stayed at Gulf Breeze Cottages from Feb. 9 to Feb. 16, 2012 and really enjoyed it. This is a small group of cottages of varying size close to the beach and away from busy roads. Most of the other properties on Sanibel are condos, we really liked the individual cottage. It was simple but clean and well maintained, Mike and Sandy were very friendly and helpful. If you want a big party or lots of excitement this might not be for you but if you like to kick back, relax, or walk on a great beach you can't do much better.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C, Manager at Gulf Breeze Cottages, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. We can't wait to see you again! Thanks for taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
myrtle beach sc
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Spent 3 nights at this family run property the end of January. Everyone was as pleasant in person as they had been via email. It is a lovely, beach front, quiet and cozy location. Our room was large with a great front porch area .... perfect to display our shells !! The rooms are very close to the beach and shelling is great there at low tide. We will definitely be back again!!

Room Tip: Off the beaten path ... everything you need for any meal is included in the kitchen !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdelsignore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C, Manager at Gulf Breeze Cottages, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us. Congratulations on the rare shell you found while stay at Gulf Breeze Cottages.

We look forward to you visiting us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

to reviewed, but all in all I can recommend it, if you are prepared to not to meet perfection in every detail. We spent 2 nights in one cabin and then had to move to another one, but we knew that in advance. Both cottages were well equipped, plenty of dishes, large fridge, clean and a bit of shabby chique here and there. But no complains about the rooms. The beach's is short walk away and you have to secure one of the few beach chairs that have not yet completely desintegrated and carry it down, as well as an umbrella, if you wish to have some shade. The beach is nice and endless, the water wonderful with dolphins circling really close around us as we swam out somewhat. My son wasn't convinced it were dolphins, so he hurried back to the beach! If you travel with children this is a perfect spot to go to. Everybody - including myself, I have to admit - became totally addicted with collecting shells, taking them back to the bungalow in the evening and checking in the reference book what a rare specimen we found! It' s really great fun for young an old and a visit to the nearby shell museum worth while. we never cooked at home but went to one of the many diners along the main road. Anyway, we loved the place despite it's little imperfections! After all, we were on holdays!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Launcelot77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C, Manager at Gulf Breeze Cottages, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review Gulf Breeze Cottages. We hope you come stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparta, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Off the beaten path, literally. You turn off a main road onto a dirt one to find these cottages. Immediately, we were charmed by this old world Floridian beach front property. It is nestled into the landscape where you go back in time which is unusual in this day and age. Gulf Breeze Cottages are a stand out gem. The accomodations are very clean and the hosts are friendly & helpful. We weren't going to stay overnight but ended up staying two nights.

The property is surrounded by a cookie cutter style hotel whose owners understandably want to purchase this property. I can only hope it is never sold. You can stay at regular hotels anytime, anywhere. Sanibel Island is an escape from the same ole, same ole. Why stay at a location that is the same ole, same ole?

I rate the kids activities as excellent according to my standards. Yours may differ. The beach, bikes, and grilling were a hit for us. If you want your kids to have more stimulation, this might not be the place for you.

I totally fell in love with Gulf Breeze Cottages and found it incredibly difficult to leave.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SWoffbeatenpath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C, Manager at Gulf Breeze Cottages, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us. We are looking forward to seeing you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leipzig
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 November 2011

great beach hut style accomodation a few steps from the beach. The only criticism would be the price is a bit steep for what you get.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cztim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C, Manager at Gulf Breeze Cottages, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
First of all thank you for taking the time to review our cottages on this website. I am glad you had a relaxing trip. However, I disagree with you on the price of staying here. I feel we are one of the better deals out on Sanibel. Maybe for your next visit you can come in the fall.

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
0.8 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,251 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
265 reviews
1.0 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,710 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#8 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,284 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sanibel Moorings
Sanibel Moorings
#1 of 19 in Sanibel Island
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gulf Breeze Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf Breeze Cottages

Property: Gulf Breeze Cottages
Address: 1081 Shell Basket Ln, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6819
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2 star — Gulf Breeze Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our beautifully decorated cottages and efficiencies feature a living room, dining area, central air conditioning, Satellite TV, VCR and wireless Internet. Cottages with kitchens are fully equipped, while efficiency units feature stove top, microwave and refrigerator. All household linens are supplied and there is on-site laundry available.We are proud to provide our guests with ultra-clean, modern accommodations! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Gulf Breeze Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gulf Breeze Cottages Hotel Sanibel Island
Gulf Breeze Cottages Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing