We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise”
Review of Sanibel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sanibel Inn
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Milroy.PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise”
Reviewed 6 February 2008

My husband and I recently stayed for 5 nites, from the moment we arrived we were treated very well. We had never been there before so we didn't know what to expect.Every one from front desk , to the bike guys were soooo nice and helpful.We didn't rent a car so we took the Sanibel Taxi(the hotel recommended
it was like we spent a week with friends.The lady at the pool bar was sooo nice also. Asking how's everything are you enjoying sanibel, the free bikes were cool too, and the guys were helpful with directions to and from differnt places. The jazz bar was way too expensive. The shelling was unbelievableI have never seen so many different sea shells.Our beachfront room was beautiful and the view was everything it said it was.If you want peace and quiet, then Sanibel Inn is the place,The only thing I would change is we told by people that it used to have a continental breakfast at the pool, that would be nice if they bought that back again. Would defintly recommend and are planning next year going back with our 4 grown children and grandchildren.Also Johnny's Pizza was great espically the delivery(since we didn't rent a car) would probably recommend a car rental

  • Liked — Peace and quiet, Location, Location. Location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hailiejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    569
    454
    148
    64
    35
See reviews for
431
585
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
121 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2007

This was our third visit to the Sanibel Inn and we love it. The furnishing and decor of some of rooms and condo's is a bit dated but everything is clean and very comfortable. The Inn is ideally placed for cycling (free bikes) to Periwinkle and the Lighthouse. It is also right on a lovely stretch of sandy beach. The pool is extremely well kept and at this time of year, very quiet. Some afternoons we had it to ourselves. We didnt eat on the property preferring to visit the selection of interesting restaurants such as Island Cow, Sanibel Grill and Grandma Dots. A take out salad from Jerrys was the perfect lunch eaten on our terrace. We are looking forward to visiting again.

  • Liked — Friendly atmosphere and great location
  • Disliked — Paying for a sun umbrella on the beach
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bellaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2007

This resort is a small, intimate quiet place. The pool area was lush and tropical. We had a great time and cant wait to go back, We have traveled to many beach towns, carribean ect, and this place is just like being on a carribean island. We were very glad to not have stayed in Ft Myers. The beaches were great, keep in mind though some beaches, especially the south facing ones tend to have more seaweed on them (which can give off an oder). Stop at the Chamber of commerce, they have great books for the taking, and extensive information. One of the best beaches we found was next to the South Seas Resort on Captiva, about 20 min ride. The shelling is great, recommend taking a cruise out to one of the many isolated islands. the Sanibel Inn was great, it was laid back, very clean, staff very friendly. The pool was immaculate, and I love being able to see the ocean from the pool. The bar was very expesive, 10.00 for a beer and 1 mixed drink, but the rooms have fridges to buy your own and take them to the beach yourself. Ellingtons had the best dinner we had, the jazz bar was awesome !! A bit pricey, but well worth it. We found the furniture in great shape in the room, no moldy smell, and housekeeping was great, they use down comforters, which I am sure dont get washed at all, but you dont need to use it. Rooms were spacious, we stayed in a suite, highly recommend this.

  • Liked — close to beach
  • Disliked — high prices at the bar
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tikibargal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2007

Had a very good stay at Sanibel Inn the weekend of 11/16-11/18. My sister, her family, and mine arranged a surprise getaway with our mother to celebrate her 70th birthday. I was a bit concerned after reading the previous post about the 2 bedroom. I faxed the hotel manager a letter requesting our rooms be next to each other and ones that were recently refurbished. The 2 bedrooms are condos that are individually owned. We were in the Bromelaid building in 3424 and 3425. The furniture in 3425 was a bit dated but the room was clean with new tile floor. 3424 was a bit nicer, new tile floor and somewhat updated furnishings. The weather was cool so we slept with the windows and sliders opened. It was great sleeping weather for us Floridians. We were very surprised when we got to our room. The manager arranged to have a birthday cake on the dining room table. My mom was so surprised and it was a very nice touch. The front desk staff was very warm, welcoming, and called to make sure everything was to our satisfaction. They even allowed us a 2pm checkout in both rooms at no extra cost. See if you get that at the chain hotels! We had a casual dinner at Island Cow and a great birthday dinner at The Jacaranda. We will definitely return to the Sanibel Inn. But if the kids don't come with us, we would like to try Song of the Sea. We hear that is more for couples.

  • Liked — Right on the beach
  • Disliked — Pool was a bit small
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, MI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2007

We were scheduled to stay at the Sanibel Inn for 7 nights. We were very disappointed upon arrival and left early the next morning of our first night's stay. Had it not been so late when we arrived, we would have cancelled our stay entirely. Fortunately, we were able to transfer to the Sundial Resort and enjoyed our stay there.

I was very disappointed with our stay, the rooms were definitely not as advertised (even after I spoke with a Customer Service Rep three times before reserving), the carpet was dingy, the place hadn't been updated in years, and looked like a place I would have stayed during my high school Spring break. Even more disappointing was the cost of the room. Rooms at the Sanibel Inn were significantly more expensive than other condos yet the quality was not even half of the other units on the island. I would not recommend to others.

When I expressed my disappointment with the 2 bedroom condo, the hotel rep said that "yeah...we've received complaints about these rooms. There really isn't anything we can do about it as we don't own the rooms, we just rent them."

The Sundial was a much better resort and ended up being cheaper for a significantly superior room.

  • Liked — Can't think of one thing.
  • Disliked — The rooms were not as depicted on the website and particularly not worth the cost. A real disappointment.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChristyRoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seabrook, MD
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2007

I recently stayed at the Sanibel Inn and thoroughly enjoyed my visit. The property is pleasantly laid back and low key, although being there in the off season may have had something to do with that. The one-bedroom suite was very nice, tastefully decorated with good quality furnishings -- the Web site picture is accurate. If you can, spring for a suite - it is really worth the extra space.

The pool is small as is the pool-side bar/grill. While the grill food was fairly blah, the food at the onsite restaurant, Ellington's, was very good. The resort supplies free beach chairs, towels, and water "toys", but umbrellas cost $10.00 for a full day. Bikes are also available at no cost, but it was so hot while we were there, we didn't try them out.

I'd definitely stay here again.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank MdGen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 20 October 2007

After reading everything on here, we had some idea going in what to expect. Overall, it wasn't a bad experience. Especially reading that some hotels charged for beach chairs and towels. (No cost at Sanibel Inn). The weather was great and the staff was friendly. We especially enjoyed the free bike rentals. We also enjoyed the beachfront suite's view....very close to the water and you could hear the waves at night. The only downside was no room service. But this is not a big hotel chain. It had the 'old Florida' feel which both of us loved.

We both were disappointed with the Pink Flamingo restaurant. $16 for the 'famous Ceasar salad' that was terrible and served in a plastic plate with plastic fork. Not worth the money at all!!! The Island Cow was wonderful! Good value for the money and the food was GREAT! Large menu selection...although if you sit outside at night, get ready for the bugs! I would recommend renting a car. We also drove to Captiva (about a 20 minute drive) and had dinner and enjoyed the shops and sites.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
1.0 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,179 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Song of the Sea
Song of the Sea
#10 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
4.1 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
4.0 mi away
Sunset Beach Inn
Sunset Beach Inn
#15 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanibel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanibel Inn

Property: Sanibel Inn
Address: 937 E. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6994
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanibel Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in nature at Sanibel Inn. The Inn offers a wide variety of accommodations and amenities surrounded by beautiful gardens and tropical palms. Come to Sanibel Inn to discover why Sanibel Island was just ranked #1 Favorite Worldwide Destination by Arthur Frommer and #5 Top US Beach by Trip Advisor. Just like the tropical flowers in the gardens, Sanibel Inn reflects the colors of the island. From the brightly painted exteriors to the warm soothing interiors of the guestrooms and suites, Sanibel Inn provides a relaxing and comfortable beach hideaway in one of the newly renovated guestrooms and one bedroom suites. Sanibel Inn also offers two-bedroom condominiums that are perfect for families or larger group of friends who wish to stay together. The Sea Star Café is located at the Inn and serves breakfast, lunch and dinner with traditional café fare with an island twist. Sanibel Island is all about nature. Discover nature up close by bike via the 22 miles of paved bike and walking trails. Visit J. N. Ding Darling National Wildlife Refuge to see a variety of migratory birds and explore an undeveloped mangrove ecosystem. Take a walk on the beaches and find rare shells such as the Junonia or 200 other species of shells. Take to the waters of the Gulf by kayak for a different point of view. Feel like a friendly tennis match, Sanibel Inn has a newly refurbished court on the grounds of the Inn or visit The Dunes Golf & Tennis Club. Sanibel Inn guests are also invited to golf at The Dunes where the greens wind through 75 acres of natural lake view fairways and Audubon Cooperative Society wetlands. After a morning of exploration, unwind by the pool and bathe in the warm Florida sun. Just steps away, the Beach Bar offers cool libations and poolside snacks. Sanibel Inn offers a gateway to the various activities on Sanibel and the perfect spot for a relaxing day in the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sanibel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanibel Hotel Sanibel Island
Sanibel Island Hotel
Sanibel Island Resort
Sanibel Inn Beach Resort
Sanibel Bed Breakfast
Sanibel Inn Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing