We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful and intimate”
Review of Sanibel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sanibel Inn
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
East Coaster
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful and intimate”
Reviewed 13 March 2008

My college-aged daughter and I just stayed three nights at the Sanibel Inn. Never having been to Sanibel before, we relied on Tripadvisor and travelers' reviews before booking...and were very glad we did! The hotel feels smaller than it is, which lends a feeling of privacy. Quiet and family friendly with a pristine beach setting. The grounds are beautifully landscaped, including a butterfly garden and various trees and bushes which attract interesting birds. Our room was excellent - beachfront, with a screened-in porch which permitted us to sleep with the door open and hear the waves. The room was very nicely done, very clean with great beds. The bathroom was immaculate - very modern with granite counters, plenty of fluffy towels and nice amenities. Upon check-in, the staff gave us a map of the island and recommended good places for shelling - and Sanibel definitely lives up to its reputation in that regard. We took advantage of the lounges the hotel puts out on the beach each day, spent hours walking the beach - didn't go to the pool at all because the beach was just too inviting! We ate at the poolside restaurant one day - food was what you'd expect, but good quality and friendly staff. You definitely need a car in Sanibel - the island isn't that big, but the restaurants and shops are a bit of a hike from the Inn. If we'd had more time, we would have taken advantage of the complimentary bicycles and ridden into the town rather than driving. Lots of good restaurants around - we especially enjoyed the Sanibel Cafe for breakfast (unbelievable omelettes and coconut french toast). Also went to the Island Cow - great family restaurant but good, relatively inexpensive food. Sanibel Bean is a coffee spot worth visiting as well. The hotel is a short drive from the Ding Darling wildlife refuge - do not miss it! If you like birds, you'll be in heaven here! Tarpon Bay, also close by, offers self-guided kayak tours which are well worth taking, as well as a sunset cruise on the bay with a very knowledgeable guide. Lots of dolphins, the occasional manatee, and thousands of nesting birds. All in all, a terrific getaway, just wish we had had more time.

  • Liked — Beachfront location
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jhip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    569
    454
    148
    64
    35
See reviews for
431
585
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, N Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2008

As part of our three week trip to Florida we booked four nights in the Sanibel Inn. Mistake! We should have stayed much longer. We had a beautiful room with a pool view and the ocean visible beyond. Room was large and well furnished and there was an excellent bathroom. If I wanted to be picky I didn't like the coffee maker as it could only make one cup at a time. OK that is too picky.

Hotel had direct beach access and a beautiful pool; there were free beach towels and beach loungers. Tennis equipment was available and every day we made use of the free cycles. Staff were consistently helpful throughout our stay. Our room had free wifi but we had no lap top with us and there was no other internet access in the hotel. We were given free access at a sister hotel about 1/2 mile away but on site access would have been nicer.

The hotel restaurant was modeled on a jazz club and they did indeed have a impressive roster of performers; it was however an incongruous setting for breakfast.

Really a very relaxing spot for lounging at the pool or on the beach or for exploring Sanibel Island.

  • Liked — Location close to beach, free use of equipment
  • Disliked — Breakfast setting
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jr89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelby Twp, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2008

Our overall experience was good, but the hotel was very average. Your going to pay for the location, not the hotel.

The hotel is well know for family vactiioning, but the walls are paper thin. You can here casual conversations and televisions through the walls. The staff forgot to refill the toilet paper and we ran out 2 times. The pool is supposed to be open dusk till dawn but the staff started taking down tables and pool toys such as the floaties 90 minutes before dusk, making us, and others, feel like we shouldn't be there anymore and that they wanted to get out of there. My kids were playing with a diving toy we brought and one of the crew asked if we could get that out of the pool. Once we stated that "that's ours" he backed off.

OK, I am the quiet sort but I finnaly decided to talk to the front desk about the toilet paper ordeal on our check-out day. The responce from the young woman was: "OK thanks, I'll tell the cleaning staff" and then continued with other paper work. Not even a "sorry about that"

The door wall in our room was very difficult to open and close.

On the good side: Shelling is awesome! get out there at low tide and bring one of those garmet net like bags. The screaned in porch was a great idea. We could keep the door wall open at all times. If we return to Sanibel Island, we will stay in Fort Meyers and drive to the island (8 to 10 minutes). Will save $200.00 per night in doing so. The bridge only costs $6.00 to cross.

  • Liked — Location. Close to lighthouse.
  • Disliked — felt as if the staff didn't want to be there.
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JRA24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2008

Just returned from the Sanibel Inn. It was everything we remembered and more. The rooms were extremely clean, the staff helpful and everything is top shelf. The front desk staff is very helpful and the housekeeping staff does a great job along with the person who takes care of the beach chairs and bicycle. Can't wait to return next winter. It is the perfect get away

  • Liked — clean
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank reginam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2008

Our family ,husband and two teens (16 and 13) just returned from a first time visit to Sanibel Island in February The Sanibell Inn realy was impressive. My teenage son was delightfully
surprised. We had a great pool side room that had a pool view and beach view. It
was wonderful having a screened in porch and in room fridge. The staff was very
helpful and accomodating. it was great to use their complementary bikes,pool towels
and tennis quipment. The break from the cold was really nice. The island was beautiful. There were no bugs. Lots of car traffic. You defintely need a car !.
Do not bring any skateboards no places to skateboard. they have a minmal basic park underrecontruction at the elementary school.
A day trip to Ft. Myers Beach was disappointing. Touristy and tacky.
The Ding Darling Tram tour is highly recommended. We all enjoyed it. We would of missed a lot of wild like if we did not have the Naturalist to point things out to us.

Helpful?
2 Thank panadero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2008

Just returned from an overnight stay at the Inn, our poolside suite was beautifully decorated and immaculate! The staff was very friendly and helpful. We arrrived early and were afforded the use of a changing room, also immaculate, so we could enjoy the pool while our room was being cleaned.

The pool area was very well kept, however a bit small. The pool side bar / restaurant food was expensive and fair at best. Beach was beautiful, be advised that the staff removes the lounge chairs at 5pm. Found this out the hard way, as I was walking the beach and returned to find all my items on the sand.

Only two probelms we found, the sofa bed was very uncomfortable, opted to put the mattress on the floor. And the shower curtain in the bathroom was too short, allowing water to make the floor very slippery. Otherwise the bathroom was beautiful. We must have gotten a remodeled room.

We would return again!

  • Liked — The suite itself was beautiful.
  • Disliked — The stairs to get there
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachluverNJ19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2008

We stayed at the Sanibel Inn for 2 nights in February. The location is convenient to the bridge yet the property is away from any noise or traffic.

At night it was a pleasure to leave our sliding door open, as the porch is screened in -- we went to sleep to the sounds of the Gulf waves and the wind rustling through the trees. Since the hotel is older, the structure is strong enough so that you don't hear every footstep, moan, and toilet flush, as you do in new chain hotels. It was nice to have a small refrigrator in the room as well. Our only wish for the room is to have a newer mattress, as although the linens are great, the mattress could have been more pillow-top like. The property as grills if you are so inclined. The small poolside bar/grill is relaxing and friendly, and Ellington's is nice for its jazz.

We stayed in Dune Daisy, facing the beach, with just shrubs and dune grass between us & the beach. The views of the sunrises were amazing. It was so convenient to wander to the beach to go walking or shelling, and the hotel provides free beach chairs and towels. Grant, the leisure manager, was so friendly and helpful with setting up umbrellas, fitting the free bikes, supervising children's activities & yoga, etc. He's willing to do just about anything to make the guests comfortable.

All in all, we had a great time at the Sanibel Inn, as it was a great place to stay and to explore the islands.

  • Liked — location, peace & quiet
  • Disliked — mattress
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LoveMyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
1.0 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,181 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#12 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Song of the Sea
Song of the Sea
#10 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
4.1 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
4.0 mi away
Sunset Beach Inn
Sunset Beach Inn
#14 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanibel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanibel Inn

Property: Sanibel Inn
Address: 937 E. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6994
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanibel Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in nature at Sanibel Inn. The Inn offers a wide variety of accommodations and amenities surrounded by beautiful gardens and tropical palms. Come to Sanibel Inn to discover why Sanibel Island was just ranked #1 Favorite Worldwide Destination by Arthur Frommer and #5 Top US Beach by Trip Advisor. Just like the tropical flowers in the gardens, Sanibel Inn reflects the colors of the island. From the brightly painted exteriors to the warm soothing interiors of the guestrooms and suites, Sanibel Inn provides a relaxing and comfortable beach hideaway in one of the newly renovated guestrooms and one bedroom suites. Sanibel Inn also offers two-bedroom condominiums that are perfect for families or larger group of friends who wish to stay together. The Sea Star Café is located at the Inn and serves breakfast, lunch and dinner with traditional café fare with an island twist. Sanibel Island is all about nature. Discover nature up close by bike via the 22 miles of paved bike and walking trails. Visit J. N. Ding Darling National Wildlife Refuge to see a variety of migratory birds and explore an undeveloped mangrove ecosystem. Take a walk on the beaches and find rare shells such as the Junonia or 200 other species of shells. Take to the waters of the Gulf by kayak for a different point of view. Feel like a friendly tennis match, Sanibel Inn has a newly refurbished court on the grounds of the Inn or visit The Dunes Golf & Tennis Club. Sanibel Inn guests are also invited to golf at The Dunes where the greens wind through 75 acres of natural lake view fairways and Audubon Cooperative Society wetlands. After a morning of exploration, unwind by the pool and bathe in the warm Florida sun. Just steps away, the Beach Bar offers cool libations and poolside snacks. Sanibel Inn offers a gateway to the various activities on Sanibel and the perfect spot for a relaxing day in the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sanibel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanibel Hotel Sanibel Island
Sanibel Island Hotel
Sanibel Island Resort
Sanibel Inn Beach Resort
Sanibel Bed Breakfast
Sanibel Inn Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing