We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this hotel”
Review of Sanibel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sanibel Inn
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I love this hotel”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

My husband and I had a great time in Sanibel inn, we enjoyed every moment in this hotel, is very quiet and relax, has a beautiful restaurant and nice tiki bar in front of the pool, they have bicycles for guest and really nice service, everybody is friendly. The mini suite was perfect with nice bed, nice living room and wonderful view to the beach...I highly recommend this place to stay, this was my second visit and I can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paolam05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    580
    471
    155
    69
    37
See reviews for
453
599
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed here from the 27th -29th of October. Check in was easy and the woman who checked us in was very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay here and would highly recommend it. We had a second floor beachside room in the Periwinkle building. They have free bikes to use to tour the island and chairs and umbrellas that are out on the beach for you to use.
We did not eat at the restaurant but were given a $75.00 Gc for dinner as well as a bottle of wine for their fall stay. The bed was very comfortable. The rooms have been redone and are nice. They have a small fridge and cofee maker in the room. The screened in porches are great to sit out and watch the goings on at the beach. Gorgeous views. Very quiet at night.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancyinRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harmony, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My wife and i had a working vacation during the summer, and we had a long weekend to just relax. Our vacation last year was at a beach location with lousy shelling. I figured go big or go home, and Sanibel is known for big time shelling. After looking at a number of hotels we picked the Sanibel Inn on Sanibel Island Florida. The staff was fantastic, the resort grounds were super. We got a Gulf View guest room.. It was perfect for the two of us. The beds were to die for comfy. Great TV, and a mini fridge big enough for snacks and any left overs from the restaurants on the island. The room was clean and the wifi was very adequate. I would suggest asking for the 2nd story rooms. Our building was the "Jasmine" building and the first floor had to have a lesser view. Our 2nd story view was wonderful. A nice screened in porch / balcony was nice to sip wine and listen to the ocean in the PM. My only real complaint was a very cranky Keurig machine. A staff person came in and slapped the thing upside the head and it worked fine the rest of the trip. Kind of like kicking the car's tire I guess!? We got the $75.00 fall special they offered. The wine was a big surprise. It was very good indeed. The $75.00 credit in the resort restaurant was a nice thing. We ate to the tune of 2/3's the amount credited. We took the leftovers home (along with another bowl of the crab bisque and a full salad) and ate like kings the next day. We were very happy with the food there. With no real expectations we were very happy with the food. easy access to the beach, great shelling, and wonderful scenery. We had access to bikes (which we toured most of the island), beach chairs and umbrellas, and centrally located access to great restaurants nearby. Trust me you will find the cosmetic blemish every so often, but a very nice place. If in Sanibel again,I will go back there in a hurry.

Room Tip: Choose the 2nd floor on the gulf view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We had a great family vacation. Thanks in a large part to Sanibel Inn. My son and I fished right from the beach and caught a variety of fish. We swam and played in the sand the rest of the time and couldn't have had a better time. Our 5 year old loved the beach because he could go out and the water didn't get deep quickly so he had lots of room to play with the lady fish and look for shells. We loved it and will be back

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
port st lucie
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Once we got past the person at check in who seemed less than thrilled with either her career choice or our hotel choice, it was the same great stay. Hopefully she was just having a bad day or possibly was new since I had not seen her during previous stays. The rest of the staff always makes you feel welcome.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank d f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, FL
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The Sanibel Inn is peaceful and features lush, natively landscaped grounds. The parking lots are nicely "rustic" with seashell paving and lots of shrubbery and trees. The rooms are good size and have screened porches. Rooms also have a Keurig-style coffee maker, a microwave, a refrigerator, and a small table and two chairs, in addition to the usual bed, chair, and tv/armoire. Our room was Gulf view (not Gulf front) but we had lovely view of the ocean from our room and porch. The beach attendant was very friendly and was efficient in providing chairs, umbrellas, and towels each day. The walkway to the beach was lovely and easy to navigate.

The best shelling was located north of the Sanibel Inn (toward the Holiday Inn, where we stayed last time). The beach was clean and quiet, and we sat on the beach for hours each day enjoying the views.

Room Tip: First floors are easier when you have a lot of stuff! Gulf view usually provides adequate view of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gillian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We left our bathing suits hanging on the balcony of our room the day we checked out and I got the runaround and buck passing from several staff members. After days of calling about them we were told they were gone, however, I was assured over and over that housekeeping would have them. If they did, they kept them. While we were there we witnessed the check-in staff calling other checked out guest who had left things behind and expected the same courtesy. We are extremely disappointed in the outcome of our dilemma.

Room Tip: Don't leave anything behind!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joannmiller11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
1.0 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,347 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
284 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Song of the Sea
Song of the Sea
#9 of 19 in Sanibel Island
696 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#3 of 19 in Sanibel Island
379 reviews
10.6 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanibel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanibel Inn

Property: Sanibel Inn
Address: 937 E. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6994
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanibel Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in nature at Sanibel Inn. The Inn offers a wide variety of accommodations and amenities surrounded by beautiful gardens and tropical palms. Come to Sanibel Inn to discover why Sanibel Island was just ranked #1 Favorite Worldwide Destination by Arthur Frommer and #5 Top US Beach by Trip Advisor. Just like the tropical flowers in the gardens, Sanibel Inn reflects the colors of the island. From the brightly painted exteriors to the warm soothing interiors of the guestrooms and suites, Sanibel Inn provides a relaxing and comfortable beach hideaway in one of the newly renovated guestrooms and one bedroom suites. Sanibel Inn also offers two-bedroom condominiums that are perfect for families or larger group of friends who wish to stay together. The Sea Star Café is located at the Inn and serves breakfast, lunch and dinner with traditional café fare with an island twist. Sanibel Island is all about nature. Discover nature up close by bike via the 22 miles of paved bike and walking trails. Visit J. N. Ding Darling National Wildlife Refuge to see a variety of migratory birds and explore an undeveloped mangrove ecosystem. Take a walk on the beaches and find rare shells such as the Junonia or 200 other species of shells. Take to the waters of the Gulf by kayak for a different point of view. Feel like a friendly tennis match, Sanibel Inn has a newly refurbished court on the grounds of the Inn or visit The Dunes Golf & Tennis Club. Sanibel Inn guests are also invited to golf at The Dunes where the greens wind through 75 acres of natural lake view fairways and Audubon Cooperative Society wetlands. After a morning of exploration, unwind by the pool and bathe in the warm Florida sun. Just steps away, the Beach Bar offers cool libations and poolside snacks. Sanibel Inn offers a gateway to the various activities on Sanibel and the perfect spot for a relaxing day in the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Odigeo, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sanibel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanibel Hotel Sanibel Island
Sanibel Island Hotel
Sanibel Island Resort
Sanibel Inn Beach Resort
Sanibel Bed Breakfast
Sanibel Inn Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing