We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FABULOUS STAY!”
Review of Sanibel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sanibel Inn
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“FABULOUS STAY!”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This was our first stay in Sanibel and we are in love with the island. We arrived at 10:00 AM and were able to check in to our room immediately. Our Gulf-view room was very clean and the view was spectacular. My husband and I enjoyed two days of walking the beach, riding bikes around the town and kayaking on the Gulf. The front desk staff and the young man at the recreational kiosk were extremely helpful and made us feel like family. It was such a peaceful stay as we left the balcony doors open and enjoyed the peaceful sound of the ocean throughout the night. We took an early walk on the beach and observed a pod of dolphin cruising close to the shoreline for at least an hour. Grandma Dot's, The Island Cow, The Sanibel Bean and The Bubble Room on Captiva Island each served up delicious meals for every tastebud. The Sanibel Inn provides guests with complimentary beach chairs, tennis racquets, kayaks, and bicycles as well as a changing room with showers. My husband and I highly recommend that you visit Sanibel and stay at the Sanibel Inn.

Room Tip: Gulf view room provides a peaceful and romantic setting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    569
    454
    148
    64
    35
See reviews for
431
585
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We booked one night at the Sanibel Inn before taking the ferry to Key West. While intended just as a stop over, we enjoyed our experience there very much. The staff was friendly and very organized even when there were multiple guests with requests. We had a second floor room with a view of the Gulf and it was lovely to enjoy the view as the sun went down. (Just a note, in November you cannot see the actual sunset from the room). I realized that I had not printed out my boarding pass for the ferry. The desk clerk (Shahana) worked very hard to figure out how to print the pass from my phone. She made it seem that it was important to her to get the passes printed. After many attempts, she called the ferry (while we were at dinner) and found out that we did not need to have printed boarding passes. What a relief! However, an hour later, she called and then delivered to our room the printed boarding passes as she was leaving for the evening. I would definitely stay in this hotel again - management must be doing things right to hire and retain staff who make a difference.

Room Tip: Get a beachfront room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Live 3 hours away and have a 2 year old. Wanted somewhere we could check in early and enjoy the day at the beach on Sat check in day. Was assured there wouldn't be a problem. They suggested we call when we were on our way to make sure room would be ready. we did. We called at 9 am and told them we would be there around 11. We arrived at 10:30 and only one person helping. Too busy for 1 person. We checked in and were assured we would get a call just as soon as room was ready then to come back and get key. So we dressed out of the car and headed to the beach. We stayed out there for a couple of hours and decided to go get lunch to go back to room. We ate and came back at 1:10 pm thinking the room had to be ready. Nope... The lady called the room no answer. She said she would call just as soon as it was ready. Well at 4:30 we returned after driving around for 75 miles with a two year old and behold the room was ready. No one ever called. The carpets in the bedrooms were very dirty. Worn out bedding. only Light in extra bedroom inop. Had to use table lamp. Not even close to being worth $299 per night.
Will never stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bojiblackbelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2013

My husband and I had a great time in Sanibel inn, we enjoyed every moment in this hotel, is very quiet and relax, has a beautiful restaurant and nice tiki bar in front of the pool, they have bicycles for guest and really nice service, everybody is friendly. The mini suite was perfect with nice bed, nice living room and wonderful view to the beach...I highly recommend this place to stay, this was my second visit and I can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paolam05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed here from the 27th -29th of October. Check in was easy and the woman who checked us in was very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay here and would highly recommend it. We had a second floor beachside room in the Periwinkle building. They have free bikes to use to tour the island and chairs and umbrellas that are out on the beach for you to use.
We did not eat at the restaurant but were given a $75.00 Gc for dinner as well as a bottle of wine for their fall stay. The bed was very comfortable. The rooms have been redone and are nice. They have a small fridge and cofee maker in the room. The screened in porches are great to sit out and watch the goings on at the beach. Gorgeous views. Very quiet at night.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancyinRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harmony, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My wife and i had a working vacation during the summer, and we had a long weekend to just relax. Our vacation last year was at a beach location with lousy shelling. I figured go big or go home, and Sanibel is known for big time shelling. After looking at a number of hotels we picked the Sanibel Inn on Sanibel Island Florida. The staff was fantastic, the resort grounds were super. We got a Gulf View guest room.. It was perfect for the two of us. The beds were to die for comfy. Great TV, and a mini fridge big enough for snacks and any left overs from the restaurants on the island. The room was clean and the wifi was very adequate. I would suggest asking for the 2nd story rooms. Our building was the "Jasmine" building and the first floor had to have a lesser view. Our 2nd story view was wonderful. A nice screened in porch / balcony was nice to sip wine and listen to the ocean in the PM. My only real complaint was a very cranky Keurig machine. A staff person came in and slapped the thing upside the head and it worked fine the rest of the trip. Kind of like kicking the car's tire I guess!? We got the $75.00 fall special they offered. The wine was a big surprise. It was very good indeed. The $75.00 credit in the resort restaurant was a nice thing. We ate to the tune of 2/3's the amount credited. We took the leftovers home (along with another bowl of the crab bisque and a full salad) and ate like kings the next day. We were very happy with the food there. With no real expectations we were very happy with the food. easy access to the beach, great shelling, and wonderful scenery. We had access to bikes (which we toured most of the island), beach chairs and umbrellas, and centrally located access to great restaurants nearby. Trust me you will find the cosmetic blemish every so often, but a very nice place. If in Sanibel again,I will go back there in a hurry.

Room Tip: Choose the 2nd floor on the gulf view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We had a great family vacation. Thanks in a large part to Sanibel Inn. My son and I fished right from the beach and caught a variety of fish. We swam and played in the sand the rest of the time and couldn't have had a better time. Our 5 year old loved the beach because he could go out and the water didn't get deep quickly so he had lots of room to play with the lady fish and look for shells. We loved it and will be back

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
1.0 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,179 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#12 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Song of the Sea
Song of the Sea
#10 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
4.1 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
4.0 mi away
Sunset Beach Inn
Sunset Beach Inn
#14 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanibel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanibel Inn

Property: Sanibel Inn
Address: 937 E. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6994
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanibel Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in nature at Sanibel Inn. The Inn offers a wide variety of accommodations and amenities surrounded by beautiful gardens and tropical palms. Come to Sanibel Inn to discover why Sanibel Island was just ranked #1 Favorite Worldwide Destination by Arthur Frommer and #5 Top US Beach by Trip Advisor. Just like the tropical flowers in the gardens, Sanibel Inn reflects the colors of the island. From the brightly painted exteriors to the warm soothing interiors of the guestrooms and suites, Sanibel Inn provides a relaxing and comfortable beach hideaway in one of the newly renovated guestrooms and one bedroom suites. Sanibel Inn also offers two-bedroom condominiums that are perfect for families or larger group of friends who wish to stay together. The Sea Star Café is located at the Inn and serves breakfast, lunch and dinner with traditional café fare with an island twist. Sanibel Island is all about nature. Discover nature up close by bike via the 22 miles of paved bike and walking trails. Visit J. N. Ding Darling National Wildlife Refuge to see a variety of migratory birds and explore an undeveloped mangrove ecosystem. Take a walk on the beaches and find rare shells such as the Junonia or 200 other species of shells. Take to the waters of the Gulf by kayak for a different point of view. Feel like a friendly tennis match, Sanibel Inn has a newly refurbished court on the grounds of the Inn or visit The Dunes Golf & Tennis Club. Sanibel Inn guests are also invited to golf at The Dunes where the greens wind through 75 acres of natural lake view fairways and Audubon Cooperative Society wetlands. After a morning of exploration, unwind by the pool and bathe in the warm Florida sun. Just steps away, the Beach Bar offers cool libations and poolside snacks. Sanibel Inn offers a gateway to the various activities on Sanibel and the perfect spot for a relaxing day in the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sanibel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanibel Hotel Sanibel Island
Sanibel Island Hotel
Sanibel Island Resort
Sanibel Inn Beach Resort
Sanibel Bed Breakfast
Sanibel Inn Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing