We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a nice place but a bit less friendly”
Review of Sanibel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sanibel Inn
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Still a nice place but a bit less friendly”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We've been going to the Sanibel Inn for many years and up until recently it has been wonderful, however on our last visit the reception was less than expected. The front desk clerk was unfriendly when I inquired about a weekend get away package offered vs. booking nightly. Basically the answer from him was you got what you got and you can't change it, fortunately I asked the same question a few hours later and the woman at the desk was very professional and polite. She went out of her way to assist me and was disappointed in the manner in which I was treated by the morning clerk.
Upon checkout the clerk who checked us in was much more polite and willing to assist. Will we be back? You bet!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    575
    456
    151
    65
    37
See reviews for
437
591
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kula, Maui
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This is a year-round beach community and thus crowded. Once you are on the property the congestion isn’t as noticeable. The landscaping is Florida and not Hawaii. “Natural”
is good to a point, but a little fresh water can do wonders for plants and thus the general atmosphere of a location. The only reason one would want to spend time in the rooms is to sleep or get in out of the heat.

On both Sanibel and Captiva one feels guilty walking on the beach because one invariably breaks many shells a kid up north would love to have. That being said, the best selection for variety seems to be South of the Inn toward the light house. However, for those of you to whom size matters, we found bigger and more varied ones a short drive, or medium bike ride, at the North end of Captiva.

Be sure to visit the shell museum.

Room Tip: Look at the layout on the website and choose a room closest to the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReadyonMaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This is an older resort that has been well maintained. The rooms are clean and attractive, some with attractive views of the Gulf between Sanibel and the Estero mainland. Dining Room was marginal, but in fairness, we visited in a very low season.

Room Tip: Interior- located buildings have limited view of water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigoak34705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This was our first stay in Sanibel and we are in love with the island. We arrived at 10:00 AM and were able to check in to our room immediately. Our Gulf-view room was very clean and the view was spectacular. My husband and I enjoyed two days of walking the beach, riding bikes around the town and kayaking on the Gulf. The front desk staff and the young man at the recreational kiosk were extremely helpful and made us feel like family. It was such a peaceful stay as we left the balcony doors open and enjoyed the peaceful sound of the ocean throughout the night. We took an early walk on the beach and observed a pod of dolphin cruising close to the shoreline for at least an hour. Grandma Dot's, The Island Cow, The Sanibel Bean and The Bubble Room on Captiva Island each served up delicious meals for every tastebud. The Sanibel Inn provides guests with complimentary beach chairs, tennis racquets, kayaks, and bicycles as well as a changing room with showers. My husband and I highly recommend that you visit Sanibel and stay at the Sanibel Inn.

Room Tip: Gulf view room provides a peaceful and romantic setting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We booked one night at the Sanibel Inn before taking the ferry to Key West. While intended just as a stop over, we enjoyed our experience there very much. The staff was friendly and very organized even when there were multiple guests with requests. We had a second floor room with a view of the Gulf and it was lovely to enjoy the view as the sun went down. (Just a note, in November you cannot see the actual sunset from the room). I realized that I had not printed out my boarding pass for the ferry. The desk clerk (Shahana) worked very hard to figure out how to print the pass from my phone. She made it seem that it was important to her to get the passes printed. After many attempts, she called the ferry (while we were at dinner) and found out that we did not need to have printed boarding passes. What a relief! However, an hour later, she called and then delivered to our room the printed boarding passes as she was leaving for the evening. I would definitely stay in this hotel again - management must be doing things right to hire and retain staff who make a difference.

Room Tip: Get a beachfront room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Live 3 hours away and have a 2 year old. Wanted somewhere we could check in early and enjoy the day at the beach on Sat check in day. Was assured there wouldn't be a problem. They suggested we call when we were on our way to make sure room would be ready. we did. We called at 9 am and told them we would be there around 11. We arrived at 10:30 and only one person helping. Too busy for 1 person. We checked in and were assured we would get a call just as soon as room was ready then to come back and get key. So we dressed out of the car and headed to the beach. We stayed out there for a couple of hours and decided to go get lunch to go back to room. We ate and came back at 1:10 pm thinking the room had to be ready. Nope... The lady called the room no answer. She said she would call just as soon as it was ready. Well at 4:30 we returned after driving around for 75 miles with a two year old and behold the room was ready. No one ever called. The carpets in the bedrooms were very dirty. Worn out bedding. only Light in extra bedroom inop. Had to use table lamp. Not even close to being worth $299 per night.
Will never stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bojiblackbelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2013

My husband and I had a great time in Sanibel inn, we enjoyed every moment in this hotel, is very quiet and relax, has a beautiful restaurant and nice tiki bar in front of the pool, they have bicycles for guest and really nice service, everybody is friendly. The mini suite was perfect with nice bed, nice living room and wonderful view to the beach...I highly recommend this place to stay, this was my second visit and I can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paolam05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
1.0 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,250 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
265 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Song of the Sea
Song of the Sea
#9 of 19 in Sanibel Island
684 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#2 of 19 in Sanibel Island
375 reviews
4.1 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanibel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanibel Inn

Property: Sanibel Inn
Address: 937 E. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6994
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanibel Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in nature at Sanibel Inn. The Inn offers a wide variety of accommodations and amenities surrounded by beautiful gardens and tropical palms. Come to Sanibel Inn to discover why Sanibel Island was just ranked #1 Favorite Worldwide Destination by Arthur Frommer and #5 Top US Beach by Trip Advisor. Just like the tropical flowers in the gardens, Sanibel Inn reflects the colors of the island. From the brightly painted exteriors to the warm soothing interiors of the guestrooms and suites, Sanibel Inn provides a relaxing and comfortable beach hideaway in one of the newly renovated guestrooms and one bedroom suites. Sanibel Inn also offers two-bedroom condominiums that are perfect for families or larger group of friends who wish to stay together. The Sea Star Café is located at the Inn and serves breakfast, lunch and dinner with traditional café fare with an island twist. Sanibel Island is all about nature. Discover nature up close by bike via the 22 miles of paved bike and walking trails. Visit J. N. Ding Darling National Wildlife Refuge to see a variety of migratory birds and explore an undeveloped mangrove ecosystem. Take a walk on the beaches and find rare shells such as the Junonia or 200 other species of shells. Take to the waters of the Gulf by kayak for a different point of view. Feel like a friendly tennis match, Sanibel Inn has a newly refurbished court on the grounds of the Inn or visit The Dunes Golf & Tennis Club. Sanibel Inn guests are also invited to golf at The Dunes where the greens wind through 75 acres of natural lake view fairways and Audubon Cooperative Society wetlands. After a morning of exploration, unwind by the pool and bathe in the warm Florida sun. Just steps away, the Beach Bar offers cool libations and poolside snacks. Sanibel Inn offers a gateway to the various activities on Sanibel and the perfect spot for a relaxing day in the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sanibel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanibel Hotel Sanibel Island
Sanibel Island Hotel
Sanibel Island Resort
Sanibel Inn Beach Resort
Sanibel Bed Breakfast
Sanibel Inn Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing