We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will always go back to Sanibel Inn”
Review of Sanibel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sanibel Inn
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
New City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Will always go back to Sanibel Inn”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

This was our third stay at the Sanibel Inn. As always, we enjoyed our visit thoroughly. Our room was super comfortable. We had a great view of the water. This location has it all...beach, pool, view, tennis, bikes, and great staff. We're looking forward to our next visit to the Sanibel Inn.

Room Tip: Condos are great for families. Kitchen, nice size bedrooms, living room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JudyB1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    575
    456
    151
    65
    37
See reviews for
437
591
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

When we arrived Shahana at the front desk checked us in. She was so friendly and helpful and remained that way for our stay ( 8 days) . The room was very nice with a living room, bedroom and kitchenette. Fantastic view of the pool and beach. The coffee maker and blow dryer were broken. I called down to the front desk and they were replaced, The location and beach are wonderful. We had a great stay here and I would stay here again. One more thing..unlike most hotel beds..this one was very comfy!

Room Tip: Ask for a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elmfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckeye Lake, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We were at Sanibel Inn from Arizona for a week this Christmas. What a beautiful place and the room was so beautiful we are already planning our next trip back. The kids loved the pool and the beach access was close, barefoot walking all week. The shops and restaurants and bikes all day were excellent. We are already planning another week there but not leaving to any other resorts as we had to the day we left and that was in Ft. Lauderdale but Sanibel Inn had already spoiled us.

Room Tip: Beach view every day was the room we had 3rd floor and very beautiful! The room was also all tropic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

The location is great. Centrally located to the island attractions. It's located right on the beach. The room was spacious and very comfortable for our family. The beds were very comfortable, as well. There is a small kitchenette which allowed us to grab a quick breakfast in the mornings. I would not recommend the on -premise restaurant. The prices were high, portions small and food quality average at best. The staff was not accommodating at all and not very friendly. There are a lot of really cute restaurants in the area that are more worthy of a visit. It was very nice that the inn provides beach umbrellas, chairs, towels, sand toys, bicycles, kayaks, and water toys in the resort fee. Check-in and check-out went smoothly. I would also comment that there seemed to be an issue with housekeeping providing towels and supplies. We had to request more of these items several times. I did really appreciate that they are very environmentally friendly by providing recycling bins in the room and outside on each floor. Shelling was a highlight for all of us including seeing live shells in the tidal pools which we had never seen before. Just make sure to leave them in their surroundings since live shelling is prohibited. Additionally, star gazing is at a premium in this more remote location.

Room Tip: Rooms on the beach are worth the up charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harrisburgmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in December for 3 nights and wished it could have been longer. We arrived late after a long drive from Tampa, and were very well looked after by lovely staff. We had a lovely room facing the ocean. Room decor is not fancy, but the free bicycles and the beach bar and general ambience of the place more than made up for any minor shortcomings in the room . Highly recommended

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

In a vacation of glitches, cancelled flights, a broken cruise ship, loss of hotel water etc. Shalana really answered the call of duty here. Of course they had no record of our Booking.com reservation, but she ensured not only a nice room at the agreed upon price, bur her humor, grace, and overall attitude ensured a great experience. It is a very nice property in a beautiful place that we will most likely return to, as we only had one night here.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Navyguy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
105 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

This is a quiet, well located, small resort. Not sure it's as tranquil "in season" but worth finding out.

Room was spacious enough. Had a small in room eating area and a food prep area with microwave and mini fridge. Bring your own cutlery, plates, and cups.

Balcony was screened in which is probably necessary given the nearness of the preserved, natural areas surrounding the property.

Room had 2 queen sized beds with mattresses that were a bit hard and in need of turning.

Beach and pool are steps away from all units. There is a Tiki Bar at the pool.

Parking is in front of each building so very convenient.

Take advantage of the resort's bicycles. You are paying for them in the resort fee anyway. Sanibel is committed to safe cycling and walking with the wonderful bike paths that run the length of the island.

My only negative was with the hotel's staff. They neglected to replenish the coffee pods and bath towels on day 2. When I called the front desk the woman who took the call seemed to make light of it and missed that this was important to her guest. I was a bit taken aback but the missing items were soon provided.

For the price, this was a very good value.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank reddogsrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
1.0 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,251 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
265 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Song of the Sea
Song of the Sea
#9 of 19 in Sanibel Island
684 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#2 of 19 in Sanibel Island
375 reviews
4.1 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanibel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanibel Inn

Property: Sanibel Inn
Address: 937 E. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6994
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanibel Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in nature at Sanibel Inn. The Inn offers a wide variety of accommodations and amenities surrounded by beautiful gardens and tropical palms. Come to Sanibel Inn to discover why Sanibel Island was just ranked #1 Favorite Worldwide Destination by Arthur Frommer and #5 Top US Beach by Trip Advisor. Just like the tropical flowers in the gardens, Sanibel Inn reflects the colors of the island. From the brightly painted exteriors to the warm soothing interiors of the guestrooms and suites, Sanibel Inn provides a relaxing and comfortable beach hideaway in one of the newly renovated guestrooms and one bedroom suites. Sanibel Inn also offers two-bedroom condominiums that are perfect for families or larger group of friends who wish to stay together. The Sea Star Café is located at the Inn and serves breakfast, lunch and dinner with traditional café fare with an island twist. Sanibel Island is all about nature. Discover nature up close by bike via the 22 miles of paved bike and walking trails. Visit J. N. Ding Darling National Wildlife Refuge to see a variety of migratory birds and explore an undeveloped mangrove ecosystem. Take a walk on the beaches and find rare shells such as the Junonia or 200 other species of shells. Take to the waters of the Gulf by kayak for a different point of view. Feel like a friendly tennis match, Sanibel Inn has a newly refurbished court on the grounds of the Inn or visit The Dunes Golf & Tennis Club. Sanibel Inn guests are also invited to golf at The Dunes where the greens wind through 75 acres of natural lake view fairways and Audubon Cooperative Society wetlands. After a morning of exploration, unwind by the pool and bathe in the warm Florida sun. Just steps away, the Beach Bar offers cool libations and poolside snacks. Sanibel Inn offers a gateway to the various activities on Sanibel and the perfect spot for a relaxing day in the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sanibel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanibel Hotel Sanibel Island
Sanibel Island Hotel
Sanibel Island Resort
Sanibel Inn Beach Resort
Sanibel Bed Breakfast
Sanibel Inn Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing