We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“serene and joyful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sanibel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sanibel Inn
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Hampton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“serene and joyful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

we had a delightful time at Sanibel inn.. very serene, appropriate accomodations.. only flaw: beware of gal who refuses to give out more than one k-cup per person!!
rest of the crew were very helpful..highly recommend the restaurant-: new owners who are taking this responsibility very seriously..l great food and service.. delightful site on sanibel- easy walk to lighthouse: plan on going back again and again...
the beds are the best!! we looked into purchasing one when we got home!!

Room Tip: we stayed at "latiana". perfect for sunrise views from your bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccgramma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    559
    450
    146
    63
    35
See reviews for
425
576
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

The grounds were very nicely landscaped with tropical trees, flowers, etc. Our room was comfortable with good beds. Mini fridge and microwave were nice so we could have breakfast in our room. However, we didn't find out until the end of our visit that we could have requested a toaster also. Pool was nice - water temperature was very nice. Great to have lounge chairs and beach umbrellas! We did see several pigs feet that washed up on shore on 2/14. We were told they are used as bait for the crab pots. In the 10 years we have been visiting the Florida coast in February we have never seen that before. Probably due to the big thunderstorm Wednesday night and high winds all day Thursday. On a positive note, we saw dolphins our first morning there and again on our last morning - kind of like they welcomed us and then said goodbye! All in all, a nice place to stay and we'd go back. Very friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Upper floors have better view of the ocean. We stayed in the Jasmine building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeanQueen2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Kentucky
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

enjoyed our stay at sanibel inn. Stayed in Queen Bed Gulf view. Room was clean, had mini frig, microwave and coffee maker. No utensils or plates. Small table with 2 chairs and one other sitting chair, closet with safe. The bathroom was large, our was a handicap accessible room so not sure if all bathrooms were that large. Shower with good water pressure. Small balcony screened in area with 2 chairs and table, we had a ground level room with view of the pool but could also see the sunrise every morning that was beautiful. The weather was a little cool so we didn't use the pool, but it looked nice and well maintained. Bar at pool side was nice with happy hour specials. Didn't get to use the restaurant on site because of so many dining options on the island. We used the free bikes and that was a big plus, plenty bikes available for us but you had to be back by 5pm. No store very close for groceries so bring them with you. There is a nice publix before you cross the bridge. Stock up because the toll is $6.00. The resort is simple and clean but location is very convenient. We booked during high season and I felt it was overpriced for what it was, but evidently for that time of year you can expect to pay significantly higher nightly rates. We enjoyed our short stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Nice resort. Stayed in a Gulf View Suite. Worth the extra money. Great pool and beach. Never saw the "pigs feet" like the other traveller.
Tiki bar nice feature to have. Its not the most luxurious resort as far as the rooms are concerned, BUT they are clean and updated as of 2012. We had all the utensils, cups, etc. you would need. Housekeeping did a great job with new towels and amenities everyday.
Beach chairs never a problem to get one or two.
Highly recommend it, we will be back. You get 10% off on your next stay if you ask about it.
Sanibel Generations it is called.

Room Tip: Gulf view suite. Second Floor to get a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whatever017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
141 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Loved our 1 bedroom accommodation, pool with bar and other amenities. The room was clean and had plenty of space.

The only negative comment would be about finding pig's feet when we walked on the beach. At first, there was just an occasional foot, but on Feb. 14, after a thunderstorm, dozens and dozens of feet washed onto the beach. It was absolutely disgusting. We heard many walkers saying the same thing. We approached a police officer on the beach and he said the crabbers use them as bait, then discard them into the water and they eventually wash ashore. If the crabbers can't be forced to dispose of them properly, the city of Sanibel needs to constantly clean up the beach. I would not want a child to play in the waves or see these feet.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martha s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perry, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Older hotel but updated nicely. Room was clean and the beds were comfortable. Free bicycles on a first come first serve basis were really nice to have. Pool area was clean and well kept. Nice for a weekend stay but would not recommend for an extended stay.Advertised "happy hour" at the pool bar but it was really just a small discounted price for one beer choice and/or a margarita or rum punch. Valentine's Day dinner special in the restaurant was fabulous. That was the only meal we had there other than breakfast so cannot comment on the regular menu selection, quality, or value.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leawood, Kansas
Level Contributor
342 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We really liked the location - so close to the entrance to Sanibel. Old style property with dated rooms, but we had a great water view from our Periwinkle room. Our room had a refrigerator, but no utensils or cups. Nice to have free bicycles.

Room Tip: Water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kstraveler81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
1.1 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,141 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Song of the Sea
Song of the Sea
#10 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
4.1 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,618 reviews
4.0 mi away
Sunset Beach Inn
Sunset Beach Inn
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanibel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanibel Inn

Property: Sanibel Inn
Address: 937 E. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6994
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanibel Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in nature at Sanibel Inn. The Inn offers a wide variety of accommodations and amenities surrounded by beautiful gardens and tropical palms. Come to Sanibel Inn to discover why Sanibel Island was just ranked #1 Favorite Worldwide Destination by Arthur Frommer and #5 Top US Beach by Trip Advisor. Just like the tropical flowers in the gardens, Sanibel Inn reflects the colors of the island. From the brightly painted exteriors to the warm soothing interiors of the guestrooms and suites, Sanibel Inn provides a relaxing and comfortable beach hideaway in one of the newly renovated guestrooms and one bedroom suites. Sanibel Inn also offers two-bedroom condominiums that are perfect for families or larger group of friends who wish to stay together. The Sea Star Café is located at the Inn and serves breakfast, lunch and dinner with traditional café fare with an island twist. Sanibel Island is all about nature. Discover nature up close by bike via the 22 miles of paved bike and walking trails. Visit J. N. Ding Darling National Wildlife Refuge to see a variety of migratory birds and explore an undeveloped mangrove ecosystem. Take a walk on the beaches and find rare shells such as the Junonia or 200 other species of shells. Take to the waters of the Gulf by kayak for a different point of view. Feel like a friendly tennis match, Sanibel Inn has a newly refurbished court on the grounds of the Inn or visit The Dunes Golf & Tennis Club. Sanibel Inn guests are also invited to golf at The Dunes where the greens wind through 75 acres of natural lake view fairways and Audubon Cooperative Society wetlands. After a morning of exploration, unwind by the pool and bathe in the warm Florida sun. Just steps away, the Beach Bar offers cool libations and poolside snacks. Sanibel Inn offers a gateway to the various activities on Sanibel and the perfect spot for a relaxing day in the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sanibel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanibel Hotel Sanibel Island
Sanibel Island Hotel
Sanibel Island Resort
Sanibel Inn Beach Resort
Sanibel Bed Breakfast
Sanibel Inn Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing