We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sanibel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sanibel Inn
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2007

We just returned yesterday from our wonderful 5 night stay at the Sanibel Inn. The property was beautiful, our room was ready when we arrived at 1PM, we stayed in a beachfront suite and it was exactly as described on the website. Very nice and clean and what suprised us the most was how quiet the rooms were even though we knew our whole building was full we rarely heard anyone! Ellingtons the resturant on the property was fantastic, we walked over nightly for a drink and the great live music. Red tide was a dissapointment the first two days but by Sunday it was gone and we had 3 days to swim in the Gulf. I don't understand the complaints about the continental breakfast.There was a large variety of breads,muffins,bagels,cereal, fruit, yogert and hard boiled eggs, plus juice and coffee. Everything was clean and well presented. I guess if you wanted bacon and eggs you would be dissapointed but thats not a continental breakfast! Our 1 bit of advice would be that if you don't plan to rent a car you are somewhat limited. We biked everywhere but to get to Ding Darling,some resturants or the shell museum it is a fairly long ride. We will definitely stay at the Sanibel Inn again!

  • Liked — The room and the Resturant
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank debo45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    559
    450
    146
    63
    35
See reviews for
425
576
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Upstate NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2007

Although we knew Sanibel was going to be pricey going into our trip, we had know idea that there would be such a discrepancy between price and value. Our two bedroom guest suite was in serious need of renovation--the furniture was not only worn, but torn, the venetian blinds in the second bedroom were of no use and the sound coming from the nearby parking lot and jazz club was so loud that we needed earplugs just to go to sleep at night. The housekeepering service was substandard--kitchen towels were not regularly changed, the coffee service was not adequately replenished, and the bathroom was only mildly cleaned during our 6 night stay. We were very disappointed in our stay at the Inn--perhaps because we have been accostomed to the excellent suites that Marriott provides. However, after we filled out the Guest Survey following our stay, we were promised a one night's refund. The view from our patio was lovely and Ellington's was a rare find--superb jazz, superior service and the best food we had on the island by far. But, we will not be staying at the Sanibel Inn again.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank SuziQ07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2007

Sanibel Inn was a very pleasant experience in many ways. My family and I flew in to Fort Myers airport, and were delighted to find that if you drove across the causway, it would stop directly in front of the Sanibel Inn. The location was quite convenient, and since the room were set back, you couldn't here any backround noise of cars or buses.
The Sanibel Inn has very nice people at the front desk, who took care of everything, from when my sister skinned her knee, to when we needed a nice place for lunch. The resort was pretty small, so nothing was ever too crowded.
The pool went from 3' deep to 8', and though you couldn't dive, it was a lot of fun. There was a little cabana, where you could rent or borrow bikes (complimentary), pool toys (complimentary), or towels and beach umbrellas. The pool toys were not broken, and worked very well. The pool was a very popular hang out for kids like my sister and me, so we often met many kids.
There were also kids at the beach, which also wasn't crowded or rocky at all. I found many magnificent shells, as well as played in the water. There were tons of sand dollars, which were also really cool.
The only thing about this resort is that you should not go here if you are looking for a very romantic, children free, vacation. Children are everywhere, and a perfect peaceful suntan is not what you are going to recieve at the beach, unless you enjoy sitting on a boat a hundred feet out with earplugs.
There is a restaurant called Elington's, which we did not find very good. The breakfast there is free, but cold and dry, as well as very bland. If you are looking for breakfast, check out Amy's Overeasy Cafe, which we found very satisfactory.
All in all, the Sanibel Inn is perfect for a not too expensive, laid back, beach vacation(especially for kids like me).

  • Liked — Lots of other kids, and a great beach.
  • Disliked — The food at the hotel restaurant.
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Actressgirl1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington, dc
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2007

We stayed for 4 nights at the Sanibel Inn with our 2 children 8 and 6. The Inn is very conveniently located just off the causeway (but is a good 40 minutes from Captiva). Our 1 bedroom suite in the Periwinkle Building was very nice and was kept very clean by the friendly staff. It had a wood floor and the patio chairs weren't stained and were wood and cloth, not plastic. We had a great view.

The beach had some residual seaweed on it but nothing bothersome. Actually, the only flotilla of red algae we come across was when we chartered a boat to Cayo Costa one morning. We also hired Captain Andy from the Ding darling marina to take us fishing which was definitely a highlight. The shelling wasn't particularly spectacular on this visit. I wonder if it might be a seasonal thing.

The breakfast was fine. The coffee was weak but I like mine strong.

The free bikes were great! About my only complaint was with the size of the pool which I felt was kind of small for a property the size of the Inn. It got quite crowded with kids and parents all piled onto of one another.

Overall we had a great time. my daughter would say the highlight was seeing these little beach rabbits that seem to inhabit the property and my son had a great time going on lizard finding expeditions.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank beefking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Main Line, Pa
Level Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2007

We stayed at the Sanibel Inn for 5 days and just returned home. Lots of positive experiences here: a beautiful, clean beach; nice staff; a safe, quiet property; kid-friendly; free bike rentals; good access to the quieter side of Sanibel like Pinocchio's Ice Cream and the East End Deli; beautiful butterlfy garden with pretty butterflies fluttering about; on-site breakfast at Ellington's. A few things that were less than positive: our 2 bedroom condo had brand new tile throughout but peeling wallpaper, holes in the walls where pictures used to hang, old and stained seating, and a funky looking ceiling in need of some repair and paint; the pool turned into "kid soup" most days with kids jumping on boogie boards (sooo dangerous in a full pool with little kids all around) and throwing footballs in the full pool (yes, I got nailed in the head and the father and son did not so much as even blink an eye...); no kids activities at this hotel despite what I was told on the 1-800 # when I called to make my reservation.

We were determined to have a great vacation, so we spent a lot of time down at the beach enjoying the gulf and all the shells and powdery sand. I was a bit bummed at first about the lack of kids activities despite what I was told and what I had read in a Flodia with Kids guidebook I bought. But, it seemed like way too much of a hassle to go to the Sundial and do the kid stuff offered there, especially considering the size of the Sundial and knowing everything would be crazy during Easter break. And you know what? We had a great time with our 3 kids and the kids had a great time too. Everyone at the Sanibel Inn was super nice and the newly remodeled rooms look great. I also have to comment on the breakfast. Totally adequate if you are feeding little kids and just need a yogurt or some toast before you run off to the beach or pool. And the people working the breakfast never stopped moving, always re-stocking juice and coffee and danish. I'm not sure what people expect, but I found it to be totally adequate. My kids loved the donuts!

I adore Sanibel and will be back. Not sure if I will stay at the Sanibel Inn again, but I will return to Sanibel.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — run-down 2 bedroom condo
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cljd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontiac, Michigan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2007

We didn't actually stay at the Sanibel Inn, but stopped by to visit their butterfly garden that they have listed in the Sanibel/Ft. Myers destination guide from the chamber of commerce. The butterflies weren't flying that day, but one of the groundskeepers invited us to hang out at the bar they have poolside, and feel free to use the beach in front of the resort. We took a walk around and returned a few days later, asked one of the front desk workers if it was ok to return (even though we weren't checking in), and she welcomed us just as the other worker had. We were so impressed by their hospitality, we would certainly return there to book next time we travel there. The beach was beautiful there, soft, powdery sand, and they even have a place to rent chairs and umbrellas (as well as bikes). What a slice of heaven - thanks to the Sanibel Inn and their friendly staff. We will be back!

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank skweingartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2007

We had a great stay in this hotel. We stayed in a beachfront room which gave us a great view and provided a nice breeze. The beach is beautiful, the pool was very nice, although there was a better breeze on the beach. The continental breakfast was fine, but we did get tired of the same offerings every day, so we went out for breakfast quite a few times. There are plenty of places to choose from if you do go out for breakfast. We also chose to eat in our room
a couple of nights and the resort was very accommodating with plates and cutlery. The rooms were very clean and well-equipped. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — The sound of the waves at night.
  • Disliked — The bathtub wasn't high enough for a relaxing bubble bath.
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Navigate440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
1.1 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,142 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Song of the Sea
Song of the Sea
#10 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
4.1 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,619 reviews
4.0 mi away
Sunset Beach Inn
Sunset Beach Inn
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanibel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanibel Inn

Property: Sanibel Inn
Address: 937 E. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6994
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanibel Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in nature at Sanibel Inn. The Inn offers a wide variety of accommodations and amenities surrounded by beautiful gardens and tropical palms. Come to Sanibel Inn to discover why Sanibel Island was just ranked #1 Favorite Worldwide Destination by Arthur Frommer and #5 Top US Beach by Trip Advisor. Just like the tropical flowers in the gardens, Sanibel Inn reflects the colors of the island. From the brightly painted exteriors to the warm soothing interiors of the guestrooms and suites, Sanibel Inn provides a relaxing and comfortable beach hideaway in one of the newly renovated guestrooms and one bedroom suites. Sanibel Inn also offers two-bedroom condominiums that are perfect for families or larger group of friends who wish to stay together. The Sea Star Café is located at the Inn and serves breakfast, lunch and dinner with traditional café fare with an island twist. Sanibel Island is all about nature. Discover nature up close by bike via the 22 miles of paved bike and walking trails. Visit J. N. Ding Darling National Wildlife Refuge to see a variety of migratory birds and explore an undeveloped mangrove ecosystem. Take a walk on the beaches and find rare shells such as the Junonia or 200 other species of shells. Take to the waters of the Gulf by kayak for a different point of view. Feel like a friendly tennis match, Sanibel Inn has a newly refurbished court on the grounds of the Inn or visit The Dunes Golf & Tennis Club. Sanibel Inn guests are also invited to golf at The Dunes where the greens wind through 75 acres of natural lake view fairways and Audubon Cooperative Society wetlands. After a morning of exploration, unwind by the pool and bathe in the warm Florida sun. Just steps away, the Beach Bar offers cool libations and poolside snacks. Sanibel Inn offers a gateway to the various activities on Sanibel and the perfect spot for a relaxing day in the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sanibel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanibel Hotel Sanibel Island
Sanibel Island Hotel
Sanibel Island Resort
Sanibel Inn Beach Resort
Sanibel Bed Breakfast
Sanibel Inn Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing