We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gem of a place!”

Sanibel Historical Museum and Village
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A delightful village museum that recounts the island's history through photographs, exhibits and live presentations.
Iowa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Gem of a place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

We stopped by for a "quick look" and ended up spending a couple hours here. Great volunteers with a very interesting history to tell of the area and much to see. We were impressed and recommend a visit if you have more than a day on Sanibel and an interest in a fascinating history.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank janetb39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    77
    12
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Okeechobee, Florida
1 review
“Amazing historical features”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2013

Our visit to this historical site was a highlight of my life. The obvious care to the artifacts, antiques & information make it worth the time spent. Nearly free tour, I think a couple dollars per person...don't remember but it was worth every penny.

The Sears house was an eye opener as I never knew you could buy a house from the Sear's catalog in the day & have it delivered & put together or you can DIY! The care that was taken to transport the house to its present location in the village will give you a perspective of the whole site.

Lots of food for thot in this place. You will not be disappointed.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank JC S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Florida Early 20th Century”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

Enjoyed the video interview with old timers on the island. Interesting buildings from the turn of the 20th century furnished with period pieces.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank carol h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Step back in history...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013

After few times on Sanibel we decided to check out the Sanibel Historical Village. Wow, what a surprise...The whole place is so well kept it's amazing, and just to think, all by volunteers! There are many interesting exhibits and our favorite was the Sears Catalogue house. Hard to believe that at one one time you could buy a house from a catalogue and all you did is put it together. Sears was definitely ahead of Ikea... To view all the buildings you'll need at least 3 hours. If you bring kids you can treat to them to ice cream afterwards, it's just around the corner.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterO709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanibel Island, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Attraction”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

It is an interesting trip into the history of Sanibel. Be sure to wear comfy shoes as there is a lot of walking.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sanibel Historical Museum and Village also viewed

 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sanibel Historical Museum and Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing