We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We stayed here in the summer of 2011 for several days while on our 2 week tour of Florida. Sanibel Island is my favorite place in Florida to visit! Was one of the nicest places we stayed. I'm very picky. It's clean and on the beach. Comfy beds and good for kids. I would refer this hotel to family & friends. :)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ReneeFavoritePlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny A, Director of Sales at Sanibel Island Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
"Good for kids" I agree. I first came to Sanibel Island with my parents and it made such an impression on me that I have made SW Florida my home. Thank you for your comments!
Danny Adams, Director of Sales
danny.adams@att.net
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    494
    223
    74
    66
See reviews for
434
492
33
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

The Holiday Inn in Sanibel Island Florida is not your typical Holiday Inn. It has a very relaxed, beach atmosphere. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The pool is very well kept and has a tiki bar serving drinks and sandwiches from 11:00AM to 6:00PM. There is a restaurant in the hotel called Courtney's which has fantastic food. The beach is a short walk away. There is also an alligator pond, but I never saw any. Grounds are beautiful! Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MomaDChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny A, Director of Sales at Sanibel Island Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Glad you enjoyed your stay! I too enjoy our restaurant and tiki bar on the beach, Chef Dale is one of the islands best! Hope you do come back and visit us. Thanks.
Danny Adams, Director of Sales
danny.adams@att.net
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, PA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We enjoyed our stay at HI Sanibel. The room was clean and comfortable. It would be very convenient for families to get poolside rooms as the beach is just beyond the pool. The only downside to the room was the squinchy little (or as my husband says, "child-sized") commode--but the shower next to it was a large, step-in, tiled shower. The restaurant has very good breakfast, a little pricey. Check out the chef's pancake of the day. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dgandrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chubbuck
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

The grounds around the hotel are wonderful.The grounds keepers and maids were friendly. Some of the front desk staff could be friendlier.It is a motel style hotel.We used Priority points for our stay ,which was booked several months in advance(January) for our stay, which started June 30th.There are two buildings .I was told by the front desk rooms for Priority stays are in the building further from the beach.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 891willwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level Contributor
133 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We we're visiting for two nights, and the location was great! After sleeping in that amazing king size bed we've decided that our bed at home is just not up to standard, and will be buying a new bed. The shower head was great and got all the sticky sand and suntan lotion right off. The lounge chairs on the beach were awesome! The hotel staff was super friendly. Thanks to Claudia who checked us in and was delightfully cheerful. When we arrived it was very late, and when we woke up and went outside I couldn't believe how we landed on such a tropical paradise. One of my favorite things was the shell sink, so I could wash off my shells before going back to the room. My second favorite was the hammocks. The restaurant Courtney's was eh. The breakfast was typical Holiday Inn breakfast. Thanks to Ms. Patty who started our breakfast off right. (Super glad we didn't have the other waitress that morning who seemed to be bothered by all her customers). All in all, a great location, a comfy bed, wonderful shower, and friendly staff. Thanks for the great getaway!

Room Tip: The Gulf View rooms were all booked, but they were closer to the beach, but truly all the rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flowerberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny A, Director of Sales at Sanibel Island Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Thanks for staying with us! I think you nailed it when you said "tropical paradise". Sanibel Island is just that. Thank you for your comments.
Danny Adams, Director of Sales
danny.adams@att.net
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We booked a last minute online stay here during the middle of the week. Two nights, three people two double beds. Got there, checked in with a very personable clerk by the name of Claudia, got to the room, took turns showering and then noticed the double beds. Not cool. Three healthy people in two double beds makes two people uncomfortable.... Called Claudia, confessed MY mistake and she made it right. Thankfully there was a room available with two queen beds by the pool for one night but not the next. There was one available, but not by the pool- not a problem, we would change again. Even though we had already showered and unmade the beds, we moved rooms and Claudia never once made us feel guilty or uncomfortable. The next morning we went to check out and check into the other room and were told that we did not need to change rooms because of a cancellation. Lucky us! We took our belongings back to the room and spent another carefree day on the island. It would have been nice to have gotten a call about the room being available again- then we wouldn't have packed up, but oh well! We did wonder why everything closed down at a certain time- the pool bar closed and the beach chairs were removed from the beach due to a city ordnance , but that was explained later. An employee by the name of Richard was very friendly and helpful with questions and comments my husband had concerning things with the hotel and the island in general. The only complaint was the air conditioners in the rooms and the lack of the Continental breakfast that we usually experience when staying at a Holiday Inn. Upon check-in, we did receive a cool mesh and canvas shell collecting bag that was put to heavy use! We were very comfortable while here except for the air conditioning. We will be back!

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanibelSlim, Director of Sales at Sanibel Island Beach Resort, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Thank you for staying with us! Yes, Claudia is a sweetheart, and Richard, not so much a sweetheart, but a very helpful guy! I'm happy we could accommodate you with the larger beds. I don't know what the issue was with the air conditioner, but we have staff on duty to take care of problems if they arise. Thanks so much for your comments!
Danny Adams, Director of Sales
danny.adams@att.net
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonesboro, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2012

I was very disappointed with my decision to stay at the Holiday Inn Sanibel Island. My trip was scheduled for June 22-25 and unfortunately Tropical Storm Debbie arrived at the same time. As the storm was forming I called to check conditions on the island. The Holiday Inn staff refused to offer me any adjustments to my trip since they "hadn't been evacuated yet"! I live in Atlanta and driving for 9 hours on the assumption that the island would not be evacuated was unacceptable. I will NEVER stay in a Holiday Inn anywhere in the world and will continue to spread how I was mistreated to others!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank butterfly623b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanibelSlim, Director of Sales at Sanibel Island Beach Resort, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
I am sorry you feel you were "chased away". Tropical Storm Debbie was not a threat to Sanibel Island, and we were open for business through-out. The storm center was quite far away. We did get some rain and higher than normal tides and on the positive side; some great shelling. As a person who was here in 2004 for hurricane Charley, I assure you we take guest safety very seriously and would have not let you put yourself in any danger. Thanks for your comments.
Danny Adams, Director of Sales
danny.adams@att.net
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
0.4 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,135 reviews
1.3 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
651 reviews
0.7 mi away
Song of the Sea
Song of the Sea
#10 of 19 in Sanibel Island
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
3.5 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,613 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#9 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanibel Island Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanibel Island Beach Resort

Property: Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Address: 1231 Middle Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6729 (Formerly Holiday Inn Sanibel Island)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanibel Island Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tranquil boutique hotel nestled amid swaying palms and sandy beaches Sanibel Island Beach Resort is a cherished gulf-front retreat for nature lovers - shell collectors and those who enjoy outdoor recreation mixed with great shopping and dining. Guests enjoy private beach access as well as an outdoor pool and sundeck bike rentals tennis courts hammocks and lounge chairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sanibel Island Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island Hotel Sanibel Island
Sanibel Island Holiday Inn
Sanibel Island Beach Resort Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing