We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Be wary of what is considered a ocean view room.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Pinconning, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Be wary of what is considered a ocean view room.”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We booked a ocean view room months in advance of our trip. When we arrived we were placed on the 1st floor pointing towards the Ocean ($165 a night) but could not see anything because of a pool in the way with a tall white fence and a lot of people using it. We checked out and went to another hotel.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank birdtrax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny A, Director of Sales at Sanibel Island Beach Resort, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
So sorry you were not pleased with our property. Our gulf view rooms do open onto the pool which is on the beach. Also,we have a sun deck and tiki bar directly on the beach. Thanks for taking the time to share your comments.
Danny Adams, Director of Sales
danny@sanibelbeachresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    373
    502
    225
    75
    68
See reviews for
437
501
34
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlestown, Indiana
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I will be the first to tell you, I was not boastful to tell my friends that I booked at room at the Holiday Inn, and when we pulled up and saw it was a motel not a hotel, I was very leary. But, trying to get just one night on Sanibel, the choices are limited, so we said, why not!

The overnight stay was great, very relaxing with free beach chairs and a pool complete with a tiki bar.

The grounds (athough a little corny in some places) and rooms were very clean, the staff excellent, good posiition on beach great, but cannot see the sunset from here.

Free morning coffee in the lobby was a nice treat when we departed.

Overall, a great stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nationallparks1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny A, Director of Sales at Sanibel Island Beach Resort, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thanks for staying with us. Yes, you are correct, we face almost due south on the curl of the island, so sunset is a little up island. It's a great spot on the beach, though! We appreciate your comments.
Danny Adams, Director of Sales
danny@sanibelbeachresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We didn't have reservations, but we stopped at the Chamber of Commerce building after the causeway and they told us to mention them to get a discount. Room was very reasonable, and love that they have a pool as well as beach access. Grounds are beautifully maintained. On site restaurant, with good (but expensive) food. Also liked that there were bikes to borrow on the property, we rode the numerous trails and left the car parked in the lot. A very fun visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkierGRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coconut Creek, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Hotel is right on the beautiful beach and loungers and umbrellas are free. Grounds and pool area very well kept, and all the staff we met were friendly and helpful. Rooms a little tired but clean and comfortable. BUT don't eat at the Starfish Grill, very expensive and the only place I know where the unpriced 'specials board' is more expensive than the regular menu!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The hotel looks like a motel. They are a lot of rooms. Rooms are clean and quite big, with microwave and fridge. This swiiming pool is okay (a little small) but the surroundings is nice and calm. There is a private beach really close to the hotel. This hotel would be really nice for families and good for couples. The employee at the reception could be more welcoming and smily. The hotel is good but the price is expensive due to location.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaelysJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Awesome location, right on the beach, close to shops and bike rental. Perfect for the family. Front Desk Connie was extremely helpful and went the extra mile to help us with our request. The staff was friendly. Pool area and tiki bar with view to the beach.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Florida200017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed here with some friends while one member of each couple competed in the Captiva Triathlon in September 2013. We were satisfied with our stay. Rooms are typical double motel rooms, with two double beds. The upstairs rooms were carpeted and the downstairs rooms had a nice saltillo-style tile. The rooms have had cosmetic upgrades in terms of paint and some bathroom updating, but it seemed inconsistent in room to room. For example, we had a great tiled shower stall that seemed fresh and modern. Our friends downstairs had a bathtub that was probably original to the motel, and despite being clean it still looked like what it was, small, old and dingy.

All that being said, you're not picking a 40-year-old Holiday Inn that sits beachfront but still has rooms for $109 in the off season because you are looking for luxury accommodations. We wanted a clean place to hang out before and after the triathlon with our small kids, and that's what we got. The grounds are large and well-maintained, with hammocks strategically placed before the dunes under the palm trees. The pool is large and has nice shaded cabanas in the seating area, which was a great place for the adults to gather while the kids swam and the poor odd-parent-out had to get in the pool with the smallest ones. We set up a barbecue meal on the pool deck Saturday evening and had no problems.

Being Sanibel, there are some things that out-of-towners should plan on wherever they stay. All hotels must be set back off the dunes to preserve the beaches, so it's a long walk to the beach. I'd suggest some sort of a wagon or a tote. If it's warm enough to be outside without a sweater on and there's not a strong breeze, there will be no-see-ums, which are small biting gnats, at dusk and dawn. You will want to bring bug spray or plan not to be outside at that time.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank watergirl76Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
0.4 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,183 reviews
1.3 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
0.7 mi away
Song of the Sea
Song of the Sea
#10 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
3.5 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,660 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#8 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanibel Island Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanibel Island Beach Resort

Property: Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Address: 1231 Middle Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6729 (Formerly Holiday Inn Sanibel Island)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanibel Island Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tranquil boutique hotel nestled amid swaying palms and sandy beaches Sanibel Island Beach Resort is a cherished gulf-front retreat for nature lovers - shell collectors and those who enjoy outdoor recreation mixed with great shopping and dining. Guests enjoy private beach access as well as an outdoor pool and sundeck bike rentals tennis courts hammocks and lounge chairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sanibel Island Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island Hotel Sanibel Island
Sanibel Island Holiday Inn
Sanibel Island Beach Resort Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing