We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place right on the beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sanibel Island Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place right on the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

The room we stayed in was about as far away from the beach as you can get, except we were on the first floor. This hotel only has two floors, which makes it nice that way. The room was a little small, but for vacation, that's fine. Bed was comfortable, and very clean. Their restaurant was a nice place to eat, but with so much to see, there were other places to try. After a nice stroll, you were on the beach. What can you say, it's a vacation beach that's private. Absolutely would go back to this hotel again. I booked this vacation through Southwest vacations and am going to use them again. We traveled in March of 2012.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny A, Director of Sales at Sanibel Island Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
...and we will absolutely welcome you back again. Thank you for sharing your comments.
Danny Adams, Director of Sales
danny@sanibelbeachresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    489
    222
    73
    65
See reviews for
429
486
33
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stewartstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Husband and I stayed here for
three nights. Beds comfy,
plenty of towels provided including beach towels in the room. Rooms could be a little cleaner in the bathroom corners but for most people they would probably be acceptable, I'm really picky. Grounds are well maintained, pool is clean and beach is short walk through the palms with hammocks to relax in. Plenty of chairs and umbrellas provided as long as you are on the beach by 10a.m. Bikes on the property to rent at a reasonable price. Tiki Bar at the pool offers a great variety for lunch. I would recommend the fish tacos. Husband had grilled chicken and bacon sandwich, which was good too. Overall , nice quiet place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J_Jforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I was a bit concerned booking this hotel as it has exterior corridors and looked a bit outdated on the website, however, I was pleasantly surprised by all the amenities this hotel had to offer from flat screen TV's, docking stations, fridge, microwave, safe, beach towels, plenty of linens, etc. It had a nice beach and pool, hammocks and ping pong too! The best was the Star Tiki Bar. Dan was awesome and very entertaining! There is a Sushi Chef that visits Tues-Friday and the Sushi was great! It was a quick 2 day getaway for my husband and myself and it was perfect. It was also centrally located to almost everything there is to see and do in Sanibel and even had a bike rental station right on site. I would definitely return.

Room Tip: Enjoy happy hour at the Star Tiki Bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is not your five-star establishment. So if you're looking for that you should head elsewhere. But, it's Sanibel Island at what I think is its best. A little old school, a bit of a throw back. The motor lodge-type build actually works really well for beach properties. And this one is right on the beach. It's hard to beat that. The pool was great, the bar was nice without overwhelming the space and making it feel like an "adults-only" area, and we were steps from the ocean and some pretty awesome shelling. There's a restaurant right on the property which is much nicer than it seems from the outside.
The room decor is a little dated. But that didn't bother us. Maybe it's my Jersey shore childhood speaking, but I found it charming.
For the price, maybe charming isn't good enough. If it wasn't so expensive I would have rated this even higher.
The only minor complaint I have is that housekeeping was slow and not very thorough. They arrived late, didn't replace our toiletries and left us dangerously low on tp.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank themaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Excellent position on the beach, just the "sand in your toes" vacation we wanted.
Rooms, spotlessly clean, no smokey smells, the staff were very amiable and attentive. Bicycles available right inside the hotel, bikes with comfy seats too, a perfect way to see the island.
Nearby restaurants were more than adequate with prices to suit all budgets.
The only pimple being the area around the pool and tiki bar, was way too small, once you have a couple of boisterous kids in the pool, forget it, but you can always hang out on the beach.

Room Tip: Ask, not to overlook the car park?
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CTonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my family over the Memorial Day weekend. Beach location at a more reasonable price. Room was nice and clean. Nothing fancy. We came for the beach and shelling ... It was perfect. Plenty of lounge chairs available on the beach. You need to be out there by 9 if you want an umbrella... They go fast. No charge for either which was nice. Would stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Picabo228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west palm beach
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

This hotel felt more like an all inclusive resort(without the all-inclusive perks). The grounds were well kept. Personnel was friendly and accommodating to our needs. The beach is well kept and there are always chairs to relax by the pool or beach. Rooms are kept clean. This place never felt crowded and is wonderful to enjoy with your significant other (as I did) or with family. Overall, I was very satisfied with the Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank papazotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny A, Director of Sales at Sanibel Island Beach Resort, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Ok, all I can say here is: thank you! We sure hope you are able to come visit again.
Danny Adams, Director of Sales
danny@sanibelbeachresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
0.4 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
1.3 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.7 mi away
Song of the Sea
Song of the Sea
#10 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
3.5 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,576 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#9 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanibel Island Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanibel Island Beach Resort

Property: Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Address: 1231 Middle Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6729 (Formerly Holiday Inn Sanibel Island)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanibel Island Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tranquil boutique hotel nestled amid swaying palms and sandy beaches Sanibel Island Beach Resort is a cherished gulf-front retreat for nature lovers - shell collectors and those who enjoy outdoor recreation mixed with great shopping and dining. Guests enjoy private beach access as well as an outdoor pool and sundeck bike rentals tennis courts hammocks and lounge chairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia and IHG so you can book your Sanibel Island Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island Hotel Sanibel Island
Sanibel Island Holiday Inn
Sanibel Island Beach Resort Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing