We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful Property”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

As you've most likely read from the other reviews, the location for this hotel is great (a few short steps to the beach) and the landscaping on the property is beautiful! Another thing you've most likely read is that the rooms are less then spectacular. All of the above is accurate as of this posting (6/16/14).
The good:
- Easy access to the beach
- Plenty of beach chairs for guest's use only
- Beautiful property
- A tiki bar with a bartender (Amy) who can make a mean margarita!

The Bad:
- The rooms. They are old, the furniture is quite dated and the style is a mix of pacific island meets hotel furniture outlet.

My final verdict is that this is a great place to stay so long as your goal is to be outside, and you only need your room to crash in. (Which is kind of the point in a vacation)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drufasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny A, Director of Sales at Sanibel Island Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments!
Beach and landscaping are quite great, I agree. The rooms, we are working on with the same zest we use on our landscaping! Good things are in motion. We sure hope to see you again soon!
Danny Adams, Director of Sales
danny@sanibelbeachresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    502
    225
    75
    68
See reviews for
438
502
34
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Great location , pool bar service poor and closed at 7 at night front desk handed you a book not very helpful. 17 th anniversary . I would not go back to this hotel . It was average at best. There was a dead roach on curtains and it was a room for handicap. When I called and said it was my 17 th anniversary it was like I was bothering the person on the phone . Lesson learned but it is a beautiful island

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny A, Director of Sales at Sanibel Island Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Well, then I'm disappointed. Very sorry we let you down. On a special occasion; your 17th anniversary, you should expect better, even with no occasion it's our intention to treat you properly, as the valued guest you are. We will learn from this and do better. Thank you for sharing your comments.
Danny Adams, Director of Sales
danny@sanibelbeachresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poland, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2014

First let me say that the front office staff couldn't have been nicer. I needed a room in an easy access area for my mom who has mobility issues and I got what I requested. The room is fairly basic, tile floors....let's say serviceable. Beds were comfortable tho. THE best part is the access to the beach. Short walk to the beach. They have a limited number of lounge chairs and umbrellas, but they put them out for you each day. Long, lovely beach to walk on. Warm shallow water. They have an outdoor café/bar by the small pool. It's nice except it closes so early, but maybe they know their cliental. I just thought it would have been nice to have a cocktail in the evening. Great for families, very kid friendly and good for older folks too. They have an onsite restaurant as well, but I didn't try it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pixie1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny A, Director of Sales at Sanibel Island Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thanks for staying with us!
The city of Sanibel requires us to close the beach bar at dark and remove the chairs and lounges from the beach in keeping with our natural theme: Leave nothing on the beach but footprints. We are not allowed to have lights on in the beach area due to turtle nesting season. The bar in the Starfish Grille remains open, but we must keep the beach dark, quiet and natural. A small price to pay to maintain the natural habitat.
Thanks for mentioning our staff, they really want you and your family to enjoy your time on Sanibel Island. We appreciate you sharing your comments.
Danny Adams, Director of Sales
danny@sanibelbeachresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlinville, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We had an amazing stay! We really didn't need any extra service, but when we saw any of the employees they were very nice. The grounds are very clean and the buildings freshly painted. The beach area couldn't be better, the free chair and umbrella service is AWESOME! I do agree with the other reviews that the pool is small, but with the ocean and excellent beach area, it is not needed. We would stay there again and recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bremer90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altamonte Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My wife and I looked at many places on Sanibel to stay and I chose this one for the value and that it had direct beach access. I was VERY pleasantly surprised at just how nice it was.

Location was super convenient, off the main street and easy to get to the restaurants and sights near-by by car or bike path, but felt set back and quiet.

The front desk staff were friendly and helpful with things like directions, tide-charts, and even a complimentary sea-shelling bag.

Our room was clean and comfy. Housekeeping dealt very well with all the sand we tracked in each day.

The pool area was nice, the pool bar was nothing special but definitely served its purpose. The area between the pool and sun deck and the beach is a lovely grassy, palm tree-shaded haven with a few hammocks and tables. Much more paradise-like than I'd expected for a Holiday Inn. Also near the pool area was a special sink for washing off your sea-shell treasures, and almost every room had a collection drying outside their windows.

Overall this place seems like a real deal on Sanibel and I will definitely stay again for a weekend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny A, Director of Sales at Sanibel Island Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Not your average review and we thank you for that! Sounds like you really know how to enjoy our islands. Thank you for sharing your comments.
Danny Adams, Director of Sales
danny@sanibelbeachresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Often overlooked by seasoned traveler's the HI at Sanibel has a fine restaurant ( LaVita is a great host ) , friendly check in representatives ( David and Claudia are a solid team who provide excellent service) and a convenient location for touring the island.
Check it out next time you are in the area; it will exceed your expectations

Room Tip: If you want the best room for a beach view ,ask for 2nd floor ,# 244 and #246
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riiick1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny A, Director of Sales at Sanibel Island Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Wow! Thanks very much for mentioning some members of Team Sanibel, we all strive to make your stay comfortable and stress free; so glad Lavita, David, and Claudia made it so. I will see that they see your comments. Thank you!
Danny Adams, Director of Sales
danny@sanibelbeachresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodboro Maryland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We chose the Holiday Inn because it was one of the least expensive options. We didn't miss out on much. The hotel is near the beach, less than 100 yards to the water. It has a tiki bar on the way, a pool, chaise lounges on the beach with umbrellas. It wasn't far from good dining options like the Il Ceilo restaurant.

my only complaint was that the bathrooms were very small and offered very little privacy. Also, the bed sagged a bit in the middle.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chuck9115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny A, Director of Sales at Sanibel Island Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and pointing out that we are a good value for a Sanibel Island beach location. Yes, totally agree; wonderful restaurants on both Sanibel and Captiva islands. We appreciate you sharing your comments.
Danny Adams, Director of Sales
danny@sanibelbeachresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
0.4 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,185 reviews
1.3 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#12 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.7 mi away
Song of the Sea
Song of the Sea
#10 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
3.5 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,670 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#8 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanibel Island Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanibel Island Beach Resort

Property: Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Address: 1231 Middle Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6729 (Formerly Holiday Inn Sanibel Island)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanibel Island Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tranquil boutique hotel nestled amid swaying palms and sandy beaches Sanibel Island Beach Resort is a cherished gulf-front retreat for nature lovers - shell collectors and those who enjoy outdoor recreation mixed with great shopping and dining. Guests enjoy private beach access as well as an outdoor pool and sundeck bike rentals tennis courts hammocks and lounge chairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sanibel Island Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island Hotel Sanibel Island
Sanibel Island Holiday Inn
Sanibel Island Beach Resort Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing