We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, not great”
Review of West Wind Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
West Wind Inn
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Coast
1 review
“OK, not great”
Reviewed 16 November 2011

This was my first time on Sanibel so I do not have any other hotels to compare this one to, other than other vacation spots like Siesta Key. The room, small but ok for single or couple, definately not two friends. Had ants and a GIANT SPIDER in my room the morning I was thinking about leaving or maybe staying an extra night. That made up my mind in a flash and I was so out of there. Other things were, first floor had people walking past room all the time and the place to rinse feet right outside my room so there was no privacy if I wanted to leave the curtains open at all. Also was not impressed by bedding AT ALL.

Room Tip: DO NOT stay on first floor. Restaurant is excellent. Had only breakfast but their greek omelet was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnyewan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,704 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    826
    608
    174
    77
    19
See reviews for
509
858
63
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Bend, WI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

I vacationed at the West Wind this past week and couldn't have been more impressed. This is my third visit to Sanibel Island and I always enjoy the opportunity to return—and to stay at the West Wind. The staff is friendly and helpful, the pool bar serves amazing tropical cocktails, the Normandie Seaside Pub is always delicious, and the beachfront...the true jewel of this property. The West Wind's location is the westernmost of a string of Sanibel beach resorts, which ultimately affords it great exclusivity and privacy. It neighbors miles of multi-million dollar vacation homes. Walk the beach, go shelling, bask in the sun with a good novel, view the sea life, and never forget to stop for that sunset! To go, is to return. The West Wind embodies that expression to the fullest.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dannyerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
congleton, uk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

We were looking for a laid back, tropically resort, with a great location by the sea and 'boy' we were not disappointed. We chose a King Bed room with kitchenette, that overlooked the pool. The location was perfect with an adjacent, super, shell-filled, white, soft sand beach that stretched and stretched with companion holiday makers sharing 'acres' of space between us. While we chose to breakfast in our room, actually on the balcony, we were spoilt for great eating houses nearby. Great shopping was just minutes away and we wanted for nothing. Reception was warm and friendly and cycles could be hired. We would definitely return here and are already talking about at least a weeks stay next time!

Room Tip: 2nd floor, pool /sea views while the kitchenette option gives much greater flexibility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fiestas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
Level Contributor
67 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed in late October, and I feel the poor weather affected how we felt about the hotel, because we spent more time in the room than we would have if the weather have been better.
On arrival there was no welcome just two women signing us in, not one smile between them, the room as dark and in need of updating, especially the bathroom, though it was very clean.
There were problems with the lights and TV, I tried to get help without success and had to fix the problems myself.
The location is great, but I feel they could do more to warn about the insects, within an hour of sitting by the pool we were all covered in bites.
The fact that the restauraunt was not open meant we had to drive to go to dinner so it was no drinks with dinner for me.
The beds were very hard.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerremys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindenhurst, Illinois
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

We stayed here based on the reviews and enjoyed relaxing at the pool and beach despite the cloudy weather. The pool bar had a great collection of tropical drinks..bahama mama was delicious. Overall the room was not special but the location and peaceful nature of the place was refreshing. Bathrooms were nicely updated. The weekend staff could be a lot friendlier especially since the weekday staff was over the top. Try the hawaiian french toast with pineapple marmalade...yummy

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCauwels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

I pretty much echo the other good comments. Stayed four nights and found that the services and facilities are beyond what I expected for the price and the location is perfect.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidsDad007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2011

The people who greeted and gave me my room keys were very nice and accomodating to say the least. I had to change my room request and they were very pleasant and made the change with a smile. The evening sunset proved to be spectacular and from the room I could see the pool and hear music, it was exactly what I was looking for .The walk onto the beach could not of been any closer and there were alot of shells for the taking. Once on the island it was a pretty easy find for their location. I would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lwags999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
3.2 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,247 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#15 of 19 in Sanibel Island
265 reviews
4.8 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
3.5 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#2 of 19 in Sanibel Island
374 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#8 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Wind Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Wind Inn

Property: West Wind Inn
Address: 3345 West Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-5501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — West Wind Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Wind Inn is a peaceful beach-front resort on 500 feet of shelling beach. Choice of rooms includes standard guest rooms with garden or Gulf views; and guest rooms with kitchenettes, with garden or Gulf views. Enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner at restaurant, Normandie ; or go casual with food and drinks at our Upper Deck Poolside Bar. Swim, shell and stroll our endless beach. Do laps in our large heated pool; relax at our poolside bar and umbrella-shaded tables and chairs. Play tennis and shuffleboard or venture off-site. Sanibel Island is home to world-famous Ding Darling National Wildlife Refuge, outdoor recreation, theatrical venues, shopping, dining and historical attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your West Wind Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Wind Hotel Sanibel Island
West Wind Sanibel Island
West Wind Inn Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing