We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful beach and lots of shells”
Review of West Wind Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
West Wind Inn
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Mississippi
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach and lots of shells”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a week during a Road Scholar tour of Sanibel. My room was nice with 2 double beds. It was very clean and quiet. The beach was nearby and the shelling was fabulous. We ate all breakfasts and many other meals at the hotel and the food was good.
This is the last hotel in a long line of them along the southern shore before there are only private homes, so the beach is uncrowded.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the beach so you can open your doors at night and hear the waves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissNancy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet F, General Manager at West Wind Inn, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
We're glad you enjoyed your room and found relaxation in the ocean waves. We have even more shells to be found and hope you can come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,825 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    893
    644
    186
    80
    22
See reviews for
570
908
64
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Wife and I cam from the Marriott Marco which is beautiful and the polar opposite of the West Wind. We chose this spot from the TA reviews. When we first walked in...we weren't sure if we were even going to stay!..LOL Small room, tiny bathroom, motel like setting...but we ended up loving this property...we just had to figure it out and let it happen. The room is very small with two twin beds, so..well we would have preferred a queen. The property is two story and each room has a decent size screened in balcony...NO SMOKING on the balcony..I was looking forward to a cigar on the balcony, but no such luck. Rooms were unremarkable, small, with a fridge and stove....not much room for even the two of us. The hotel surrounds the pool like a "U" and the pool is very nice with a fantastic bar that is slightly elevated above the pool. Great bartenders and the prices are reasonable. Really nice view from the bar. The property has a restaurant on premises called the Normandy, open for Breakfast and lunch every day and for dinner on Friday and Saturday "in season". We ate dinner he one night and it was really lovely. You come to understand that there are a LOT of return guests to this property and that gives it some of its charm..this property really is like an old friend..comfortable and with a few quirks. We ate breakfast at the property twice which was very convenient...prices were reasonable and the food was decent if not slightly above average. The location to the beach is awesome..you are literally just steps from the ocean and our room had a partial ocean view. OK...The HUGE problem...No-see-ums...we both got chewed at this property and we suspect that they little buggers were in our room..my wife is very reactive to them and it really put a spoiler on her time on Sanibel. They pretty much tell you that the screens on the porch wont keep them out...you just have to hose yourself down with DEET to keep them off. We had some wine one night during sunset and didn't realize how bad they were...we of course did this before we had on insect repellant. The location is close to a couple good restaurants..we drove to them, but you could probably bicycle to them. We walked the beaches both days and really enjoyed Sanibel. Don't think we will go back, but we really did quickly appreciate how special the property and the island is. We had no problems/issues with children...Most of the guests were retired or at least slightly on the older side..very quiet.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Texas_Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet F, General Manager at West Wind Inn, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
We're glad you enjoyed the majority of your stay. The 1 problem you speak of, the no-seeums, are part of our natural island ecosystem. We suggest bringing bug spray with you or purchasing specialty repellant that is created and sold here on Sanibel island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Our stay at the West Wind Inn from October 28 - November 9, 2013 was our 19th in as many years. It has always been a pleasurable place to spend a quiet comfortable vacation. The units are very clean and all just a few step to the gulf beach. The screened porches are a wonderful place to watch the sunset before going out to dinner. We love this place and plan to return for our 20th year in 2014.

Room Tip: All of the rooms offer a view of the gulf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MB_Beach_Lover45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet F, Guest Relations Manager at West Wind Inn, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank you for your loyalty for the past 20 years! We're happy that you have found our resort and our island your choice vacation getaway. We look forward to seeing you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We could actually see the Gulf from our 2nd floor room, even though it was technically a pool view room. The hotel is definitely right on the beach, and the beach would keep any kid looking for shells busy for hours. There are sand flies but the Off fan I used kept them 100% off of me so no problem.
The room was just right, complete with microwave, popcorn and bowl as well as a mini fridge with small freezer compartment. No breakfast provided but we enjoyed lunch at the adjacent Seaside Pub (service there the next morning was not as good, however, so can be spotty). We would definitely stay here again.
Give yourself at least a full week here, there is so much to do both on Sanibel and in Ft. Myers, and only 2 hours drive down to Everglades City for an airboat ride. $6 toll each time you drive onto the island, nothing when headed the other direction.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3wilddogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet F, Guest Relations Manager at West Wind Inn, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
"If only we could have stayed longer..." We get that allot... Our area has do much to do that people keep coming back year after year and never seem to have the time to fit it all in. But remember for those just looking to relax at the West Wind Inn, the beautiful Gulf of Mexico is right at your doorstep if you're looking for a short distance between your bed and your beach chair destination.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalmar, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This hotel on Sanibel Island offers a good quality in spacoius rooms. Nice pool area bar, and good pools. Unique nice chairs to sit in pairs watch the sunset or just relax next to ocean. Nice service, clean and well-planned rooms woth balcony.
Will tru to get back soon.
Only negative was the limited open time at reastaurant before main season.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Btorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet F, Guest Relations Manager at West Wind Inn, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
We're glad you enjoyed our world-class rooms, pool, bar and beaches! Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We just returned from spending 6 days at the West Wind Inn on Sanibel. We have been going to Sanibel for over 15 years but this was the first time we have stayed at the West Wind Inn. What a gem! We loved this resort and will return. At check in I said we would prefer being by the beach. I was given three sets of keys to check out rooms and select the one we liked the best. The beach is lovely, the pool is very nice, the restaurant had great food, every morning we had a paper outside the door, very comfortable room, very friendly staff, super clean.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Directly on the beach--I can literally throw a stone into the gulf from my room--this is the perfect place to relax. Room are comfortable and clean with a nice screened in porch. Some rooms have a kitchen. What can you say about the pool except it has a bar right by the pool. Great place. We go every year and have for a decade.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackandanntraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
3.2 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,345 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
280 reviews
7.8 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
684 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#2 of 19 in Sanibel Island
378 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#10 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Wind Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Wind Inn

Property: West Wind Inn
Address: 3345 West Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-5501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — West Wind Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Wind Inn is a peaceful beach-front resort on 500 feet of shelling beach. Choice of rooms includes standard guest rooms with garden or Gulf views; and guest rooms with kitchenettes, with garden or Gulf views. Enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner at restaurant, Normandie ; or go casual with food and drinks at our Upper Deck Poolside Bar. Swim, shell and stroll our endless beach. Do laps in our large heated pool; relax at our poolside bar and umbrella-shaded tables and chairs. Play tennis and shuffleboard or venture off-site. Sanibel Island is home to world-famous Ding Darling National Wildlife Refuge, outdoor recreation, theatrical venues, shopping, dining and historical attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your West Wind Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Wind Hotel Sanibel Island
West Wind Sanibel Island
West Wind Inn Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing