We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diamond in the Rough”
Review of West Wind Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
West Wind Inn
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Mentor, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Diamond in the Rough”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

My daughter and I stayed at this resort from January 2, 2014 to January 11, 2014. I booked it online when it popped up when I booked my airfare and car rental. We were both pleasantly surprised when we arrived. The staff was phenomenal. Our housekeeper was Maria and she couldn't have been more accommodating. The restaurant and staff is the best kept secret in Sanibel! The only thing I missed was a hot tub, then it would have been almost perfect. The cost, however, was a lot more than what I thought it should have been for off season guests. We really enjoyed having the use of the kitchen which came fully stocked. A definite repeat visit if I ever get the chance!

Room Tip: When booking, make sure you ask to be able to see both the pool and the gulf! You will love waking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet F, Public Relations Manager at West Wind Inn, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Maria, is great isn't she? We would have to agree that she goes above and beyond to help accommodate. Thank you both for choosing to have your Sanibel experience with us, during the high winter season. We also have kayak rentals and biking rentals that you can inquire about with the front desk staff who would love to help you again. We look forward to seeing you in 2015!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    863
    624
    179
    77
    22
See reviews for
539
884
63
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2014

First time staying here and chose only because there was very limited availability on the Island.
Room was small and a bit dated but clean with full kitchen. A nice ocean view from our 2nd floor. Perhaps we are out of touch with the going rates in this area and we did have to book this at the last minute but we felt $313 per night was much too pricey for just average accomodations. We did enjoy our stay but would likely try a different place next time.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erolpxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet F, Public Relations Manager at West Wind Inn, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for choosing West Wind Inn to vacation with us in Sanibel. Unfortunately during the month of February, it is considered our high season, and rates are all around higher. If you choose a time after May, you will find rates to be much lower. Thank you for your endorsements on our clean rooms. We hope to see you again during your next vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clancy, Montana
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This was my second visit to sanibel and the west wind inn. You couldn't ask for a better location. It's steps to the beach and located on the quiet end of the island. We were in a gulf view kitchenette. The kitchen was well supplied with everything we needed to prepare our meals. The staff was friendly and courteous and the grounds are very nice. The room was spacious and the screened-in balcony was great. We ate at the Normadie restaurant a couple of times and had excellent meals there. The service wasn't great - they need more wait staff. Our recommendations to the hotel would be 1.) get better mattresses and don't use a plastic cover as the bed was very uncomfortable, 2.) get some new towels as they were paper thin, and 3.) offer beach chair/umbrella sets ups at a more reasonable cost. We would definitely return to the west wind if the bed was more comfortable.

Room Tip: Gulf view room had great view and was very close to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet F, Public Relations Manager at West Wind Inn, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for making your second visit to Sanibel at the West Wind Inn again. We agree that will have one of the best locations on the island, with only steps to the beach. We are currently going through some renovations and updating in our rooms and appreciate your suggestions. Our guests comments and ideas are very important to us and we would suggest requesting an updated room during your next visit and also trying to get to the beach as easily as possible, depending on the season, due to busyness. We look forward to seeing you in the near future soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Very pleased with the service and accommodations. Candy helped us out when we were in a pinch and needed to find a new place to stay at the last minute. Overall great place to stay while visiting the island.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jraebishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet F, Guest Relations Manager at West Wind Inn, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Candy is great isn't she? We're glad she could help with your last minute travel plans. Be sure to check out our specials when you have the opportunity to stay longer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

After a hectic couple of weeks, my husband surprised my with a quick last minute get-a-way to Sanibel. The room was less than adequate for the price paid and was extremely musty smelling. Had to throw all our clothes in the wash as soon as we returned home, even those we did not wear! The view was just OK. For the price of the room, beach chairs should be included. Towels provided at the pool were paper thin! Those in the room were not much better. All in all what was supposed to be a romantic get a way was so disappointing we checked out after 1 night.

Room Tip: definitely would not recommend this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ElynLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

This was our third time in 30 years at the West Wind Inn. We booked in November for a great January deal; probably wouldn't have stayed at their normal in season prices though. The location is very well placed for shopping/restaurants. The front office, restaurant, and pool bar staff were friendly and helpful.

The room was simply decorated but comfortable; microwave and mini-fridge were useful. It was a bit cramped; not much room between the end of the bed, chairs, and dresser. We had a very nice room on the second floor overlooking the pool towards the beach; great view when it wasn't foggy or rainy. We ate breakfast and had snacks on the balcony. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom properly appointed.

The grounds were very nice with pretty landscaping and easy access to the beach. The pool is quite large and warm enough although not normal Florida temperatures! We were glad that we had brought our own beach chairs because they were not provided by the hotel. We utilized the computer room once and it was adequate.

The advertised Wifi was barely adequate; difficult at times to get a signal and very slow loading. Sometimes we had to access it from the balcony (although it was fun to pick up the "pool bar" signal). This was not a make-or-break feature but if advertised, it should be usable (we learned that their equipment was five years old which explains the slow speed and difficult connections).

Overall we were satisfied with our experience and would recommend WWI to others for a short stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MGreene16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet F, Guest Relations Manager at West Wind Inn, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank you for your endorsement! We agree, the views from the balcony's are absolutely amazing and inspiring. We're glad you enjoyed the amenities, pool and closeness to the beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

The setting of this hotel could not be better. It is a few steps from a beautiful beach. The grounds are lovely and extremely well kept. We requested a number of items and all were efficiently provided. The restaurant on the hotel grounds was excellent and very accommodating.
The kitchenette was well appointed and very useful.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BFJ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet F, Guest Relations Manager at West Wind Inn, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
We are glad you and your group had a wonderful time. We hope you come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
3.2 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,295 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
267 reviews
4.8 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
3.5 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#2 of 19 in Sanibel Island
378 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#8 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Wind Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Wind Inn

Property: West Wind Inn
Address: 3345 West Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-5501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — West Wind Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Wind Inn is a peaceful beach-front resort on 500 feet of shelling beach. Choice of rooms includes standard guest rooms with garden or Gulf views; and guest rooms with kitchenettes, with garden or Gulf views. Enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner at restaurant, Normandie ; or go casual with food and drinks at our Upper Deck Poolside Bar. Swim, shell and stroll our endless beach. Do laps in our large heated pool; relax at our poolside bar and umbrella-shaded tables and chairs. Play tennis and shuffleboard or venture off-site. Sanibel Island is home to world-famous Ding Darling National Wildlife Refuge, outdoor recreation, theatrical venues, shopping, dining and historical attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your West Wind Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Wind Hotel Sanibel Island
West Wind Sanibel Island
West Wind Inn Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing