We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find”
Review of West Wind Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
West Wind Inn
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“What a find”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We'd never been to Sanibel and picked this based on price and location. For the price we got we didn't expect much, but what a surprise.

The location was right on the beach with a nice beach side pool. Our room was poolside and still had a beach view.

The room was not fancy but you really couldn't ask for more. I think some of the rooms have undergone renovation add ours seemed new. Small but very nice bathroom, refrigerator and microwave. The bed was maybe a little hard and the ac was powerful but did make a little noise. Not objectionable and I'm pretty sensitive to that.

Nice poolside bar with free apps at happy hour. Didn't try the restaurant but other guests said it was nice.

I'd come back for sure!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glenn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,825 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    893
    644
    186
    80
    22
See reviews for
570
908
64
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

I was in august with my family 2 adults and 2 children. It was cery very veri hot and the Air conditioning was noisy, above all during the night. The mattress was covered by a plastic and bed bugs were everywere in the rooms. Dirty, and the water in the bathroom stank! Too bad, because it is a nice place.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank PaolaAvallone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WWI-Guest-Services, General Manager at West Wind Inn, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear PaolaAvallone,

Thank you for your recent stay and I am very concerned about your experience. I have sent you a message through Trip Advisor to speak with you further.

For the benefit of our readers, based upon your Trip Advisor username I was able to identify which room you stayed in a few weeks ago.

I have personally thoroughly inspected the room and found no evidence of bed bugs. In fact, the plastic you speak of is a "bed bag" and completely wraps the mattress in a "zip lock bag", so to speak. We do this for a few reasons, but one of the main ones is to mitigate potential bed bug infestations.

I also tested the water and found no objectionable taste or odor. I did notice the air conditioner needs to be serviced and thank you for bringing it to our attention.

Thank you again for patronage and your helpful review.

Regards,

Brett Gooch
General Manager
West Wind Inn
bgooch@westwindinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

The price is too high for the quality of the rooms. The beds and pillows very bad, the air conditioning noisy at night and we had to turn it off, the bathroom very small. The only positive note is the beautiful place and contact with nature.
Advice to bring insect repellent! We had the full body of bites (small and red) and the majority of bites occurred in the room.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Seav s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral Springs, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Was very pleasant - but the front desk personnel was not very friendly - and made me feel badly about asking a question. Other than that it was a very pleasant lovely hotel GREAT location a bit older but very clean. We had dinner at a great resataurant named "The Mad Hatter" a little pricey but worth it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here throughout the years because it is on the beach and reasonable. This year was not a good year! Rooms never seem to change. Thin bed spread and very broken down mattress.

Too many obnoxious smokers at the pool and on balconies. Until the smoking policy changes here I will not be returning. Loud people by the pool drinking and smoking!! How difficult not to tell them to shut the h---up. Not my type of fun vacation.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bastmuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WWI-Guest-Services, General Manager at West Wind Inn, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Bastmuse,

Thank you for your recent stay and for your loyalty over the years. As a guest who has come time and time again, I take your most recent experience very seriously. I have sent you a note through Trip Advisor to discuss the situation further.

We agree that the West Wind Inn is a beautiful Beach Front Resort that does offer value. It is in our very near future plans to replace all of the soft goods in the rooms, as well as the bedding. You can also look forward to newly painted, lighter rooms.

It is the policy of the hotel that the guest refrains from smoking in the rooms or on the patio's, as the air conditioners can draw that air into the rooms. We are also going to look into smoking and non-smoking areas of our gulfview pooldeck, so that everyone can enjoy themselves as they see fit.

We also have a wonderful poolside bar where guests can enjoy all sorts of beverages, however in this case, it sounds like too many enjoyed too much. We are always looking for ways to improve the property and we rely on honest reviews from our guests in that pursuit.

Again, thank you for your past loyalty and your useful feedback, I hope you will again give us the opportunity to be your hosts on Sanibel.

Regards,

Brett Gooch
General Manager
bgooch@westwindinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I stayed at the West Wind Inn for the second time in August, and I was kind of skeptical after reading some of the latest reviews. I was delighted to realize that this place is just as wonderful as the first time I stayed. Just steps from the beach, you couldn't ask for a better location. The beach was not crowded, because it's not near a public access area. The pool was spotless, as were the grounds. The price was excellent and the service was outstanding as usual. I stayed in one of the rooms that was undergoing renovation the first time I was here, and it was beautiful, especially the walk in shower. The room was kept spotless, even the screened in porch, which was so relaxing to sit and watch the sunset. I will be back for sure.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgiagirl75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This was our first trip to Sanibel and after pouring over all the ads for the hotels available we picked Westwind INN. We opted for the pool view room that does not have a full kitchen. The price was excellent compared to others in the area. One thing I loved was that several times we were the only one on the private beach. The pool is open all hours so we went swimming at midnight. . It was so nice having the pool all to ourselves and it has these colored lights that changes the water to purple..then green blue etc.. very islandy feel. We found lots of shells on the beach and they had a special washing station for shells which we used. they have bikes to rent pretty cheap. i think it was 20 for the day. They do have some grills you can cook out on.I really liked this hotel. Loved our little patio. I was a little shocked that there was a refrigerator and microwave and kitchen cabinets but no glasses plates or anything at all.But i had my own so I was very happy with this hotel. Like others have mentioned, also didn't love the carpet, but it was clean so no worries.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vceee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
3.2 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,345 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
280 reviews
7.8 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
684 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#2 of 19 in Sanibel Island
378 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#10 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Wind Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Wind Inn

Property: West Wind Inn
Address: 3345 West Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-5501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — West Wind Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Wind Inn is a peaceful beach-front resort on 500 feet of shelling beach. Choice of rooms includes standard guest rooms with garden or Gulf views; and guest rooms with kitchenettes, with garden or Gulf views. Enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner at restaurant, Normandie ; or go casual with food and drinks at our Upper Deck Poolside Bar. Swim, shell and stroll our endless beach. Do laps in our large heated pool; relax at our poolside bar and umbrella-shaded tables and chairs. Play tennis and shuffleboard or venture off-site. Sanibel Island is home to world-famous Ding Darling National Wildlife Refuge, outdoor recreation, theatrical venues, shopping, dining and historical attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your West Wind Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Wind Hotel Sanibel Island
West Wind Sanibel Island
West Wind Inn Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing