We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing oasis right on the beach”
Review of West Wind Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
West Wind Inn
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“relaxing oasis right on the beach”
Reviewed 16 August 2007

The West Wind Inn is located on a quiet stretch of sand on West Gulf Blvd on Sanibel. The location is fabulous, and the staff of the property is warm, friendly, and efficient. It has the feel of Old Florida, but with the comforts of a quiet resort. The Normandie restaurant on site is great, though was not open for dinner during our off-season stay. Our room had two queen beds, ample air-conditioning, and a screened-in lanai. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, including Sally in the gift shop who takes the reservations for beach chairs and umbrellas. Housekeeping was very generous with the towels and face cloths, and managed to get all the sand out of our room each day.
The butterfly garden is just gorgeous. We almost missed this until our last day, but it is well worth a visit. The banyan and Cuban pine trees that flank the entrance are incredible, and there really are butterflies in there! The West Wind Inn is very close to Ding Darling wildlife refuge and is right on the bike path that traverses the island.

The West Wind Inn is a great getaway location.

  • Liked — Location and staff
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank FQTVLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    871
    628
    180
    78
    22
See reviews for
546
890
63
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2007

We stayed here based on the reviews on Tripadvisor. Thank goodness we did. West Wind is a great deal for the money. Just got back today from a 4 day stay in room #146 in the Driftwood section, and we didn't want to come home!
Best location on the island, and clean rooms for $135.00 a night.
We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2007

We stayed at the West Wind Inn for only one night. It was a pleasant surprise. We've stayed at these old beach front motels before, and expected functional but not luxurious. The room was recently remodeled and it looked like the remodel was very costly. We had quartz countertops in the bathroom, and the quartz extended to the entire wall of the shower, and half the wall behind the toilet. The vanity was large and had lots of storage room. The room was decorated very tastfully, with furniture that seemed expensive. The decor was one of my favorites, what I would deem "West Indies" syle. We had a beautiful morning out on our screened porch, drinking our coffee and reading the paper. We'll return again to the West Wind, and hope to bring family for a mini-reunion.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, Room decor, Kitchenette
  • Disliked — Parking is limited
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank ahoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2007

We had a nice time here. Clean room, nice grounds. Pool was large and CLEAN. Cabana bar had good drinks and lunch. The beach was quiet and relaxing. We will definately return.

  • Liked — relaxing environment
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hummingbirdgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2007

After reading a magazine article about Sanibel Island, I always wanted to go there. We decided to stay one night there before leaving on a cruise from Ft. Lauderdale. I chose the West Wind Inn after checking rates and reading reviews of several properties on the island. We were very pleased with our room at the West Wind. Although it is an older property, our room appeared to have been recently renovated and updated. The bathroom was not large, but was certainly adequate. It was scrupulously clean with a nice granite countertop. The bedroom furnishings were lovely -- not basic cheap "motel grade". The room had a king size bed and a huge mirrored wall. We really liked that the balcony was screened since mosquitoes always seem to be attracted to my husband. We had a view of the pool area as well as the beach. Many "extras" were provided such as an iron and ironing board, hair dryer, coffee and coffee maker, morning newspaper, wine glasses, refrigerator, and microwave. We really appreciated several thoughtful little touches such as real Kleenex tissues instead of the cheap kind, and a package of microwave popcorn along with salt and a bowl for a late night snack. I am pretty particular about cleaniness, and I have to say that our room, bed, and bathroom were clean, clean, clean! There were no stains, hairs, mildow or other nastiness -- and believe me I looked thoroughly! The grounds of the hotel were nicely landscaped and well maintained and included a pool, shuffleboard, and 2 tennis courts. The beach was great with lots of shells and it was relatively isolated. I can't wait to return to the West Wind Inn for a longer stay!

  • Liked — Great location on the beach and very clean
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank cruiser620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2007

We stayed in Azalea room 210 at the West Wind Inn. We enjoyed our stay there. The room was not at all luxurious, but was fine for a motel. The minuses were that the bathroom was very, very small and the carpet was a bit old. (Apparently, the rooms in the Buttonwood building were more recently renovated than those in the Azalea building.) The staff was nice, and the room was clean and in fine working order. The bathroom had a spacious, granite countertop. We had plenty of new towels and hot water.

The first night we were there, we discovered the bathtub didn't drain well. I called the front desk and told them and they said they'd "put in a work order" to have it fixed. I was pleasantly surprised to find that it was completely fixed by the next day, when we used it again.

Our kids thoroughly enjoyed the inn's pool, and actually preferred it over the beach. There were several other kids there for them to play with.

Regarding the beach and shelling, the beach was great and very close to our room. The shelling was okay, but we found much larger and varied shells (tons of intact conches of all shapes and colors!) on the northern part of Bowman's beach. We also found the water there to be clearer.

We ordered pizza from the inn's restaurant and it was fine. We ate breakfast at The Island Cow and found it to be pretty decent, although the restaurant was very dirty and the chairs had layers and layers of sticky build-up on them. We actually enjoyed the Dairy Queen on the island more.

We are looking forward to our next trip to Sanibel!

  • Liked — Nearby Bowman's beach
  • Disliked — Tiny bathroom
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank alm2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clermont, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2007

The West Wind Inn at Sanibel is on point. You won't find a better location on the island. The pool was the best and the beach is only yards from the rooms. My wife and I, had a great time. I would recommend the West Wind Inn to everyone. I think we might go back next weekend. Two thumbs up!!!!!!!!!!

Helpful?
5 Thank jandjbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
3.2 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,298 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
268 reviews
4.8 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
3.5 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#2 of 19 in Sanibel Island
378 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#9 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Wind Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Wind Inn

Property: West Wind Inn
Address: 3345 West Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-5501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — West Wind Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Wind Inn is a peaceful beach-front resort on 500 feet of shelling beach. Choice of rooms includes standard guest rooms with garden or Gulf views; and guest rooms with kitchenettes, with garden or Gulf views. Enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner at restaurant, Normandie ; or go casual with food and drinks at our Upper Deck Poolside Bar. Swim, shell and stroll our endless beach. Do laps in our large heated pool; relax at our poolside bar and umbrella-shaded tables and chairs. Play tennis and shuffleboard or venture off-site. Sanibel Island is home to world-famous Ding Darling National Wildlife Refuge, outdoor recreation, theatrical venues, shopping, dining and historical attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your West Wind Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Wind Hotel Sanibel Island
West Wind Sanibel Island
West Wind Inn Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing