We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Used to be THE place to stay on Sanibel Island”
Review of Casa Ybel Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Ybel Resort
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Used to be THE place to stay on Sanibel Island”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed here years ago and always wanted to go back. I am sorry to report that we were fairly disappointed in our stay, especially in the quality of our unit, which was a 1 bedroom and are the furthest from the pool and reception areas. All the buildings, including those in the common areas, seem to be in need of renovation. We are not complainers, especially about small issues and we are fairly well traveled but we found things unacceptable when we arrived. The sliding glass door lock was broken, the kitchen faucet was broken and the toaster was broken. These are items that any guest would have a basic expectation of being in working order and should be apparent to any housekeeping or maintenance staff. We also had a problem with ants in the kitchen. We used to live in Florida, so we are aware of the on going battle with ants, but this is a resort with cooking facilities in every unit, so ants are unacceptable. To be fair to the resort management, all of our concerns were addressed, but these are basic expectations of any guest and should not have happened in the first place. On a positive note, housekeeping was attentive and came every day(not at 4pm either). We like the proximity to the beach and the grounds. The pool is large for Sanibel Island, but the resort gets a negative for still using the practice of charging their guests for the use of the beach chairs-who does that any more and they aren't even nice chairs. On a final note, and this is a safety issue, there appeared to be a bee hive in the tree right by the entrance to our building.

Room Tip: First and second floor units both have their advantages-first floor(actually up one level) you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandinourshorts260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaYbel-Mgr, General Manager at Casa Ybel Resort, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Thank you for taking the team to review your recent stay at Casa Ybel. Please accept our sincere apology for the series of items mentioned in your review. I am glad to read your concerns were addressed during your visit. We continually work toward providing quality beachfront accomodations with excelent guest service. We hope you will consider a return visit to Casa Ybel to allow us the opportunity to regain your trust. Best regards from the team at Casa Ybel Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    161
    71
    32
    27
See reviews for
257
231
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somers, New York
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

This was our first time in Sanibel and the Casa Ybel Resort. We loved the resort as well as the island. The facilities are fantastic and well maintained. Every room does have a view of the Gulf. The rooms were very clean. The grounds are well groomed and manicured. The staff is very friendly and accomodating. We did not require any of the child services but I know there are activities on site. We did not eat at the restaurant but we did use the BBQ for several meals. They are kept clean. The a/c was a tad noisy but it was very effective. I will note that this was time share exchange for us. Therefore I don't have price point to base the cost of the room vs the amenities. Overall, we loved Sanibel and our stay at the Casa Ybel.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zeist, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We spent two nights at Casa Ybel and liked the setting at the beach and the beautiful pool. The room was more average and we did not really like the two queen beds in the bedroom as this was too small for the room. Also airco was quite loud and uncomfortable at night. Still the beauty of the location and the quality of the pool and the restaurant made it a 4* experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SavertFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Thanks TA, you came through again. I choose always to go with the "glass half full" attitude so this time was no different. This was a first time on Sanibel Island and at Casa Ybel. We were celebrating our 31st Wedding Anniversary. All of the staff and I mean ALL were super friendly. The first staff was the front desk and reservations. They accommodated our request for a king bed instead of a 2 queens and a lower level room. The room was nicely decorated and the screened-in porch a nice touch, we loved to sit out there any time of day or night. We stayed in Banyan and was steps away from the beach, to be honest all of the units are steps away!!! The next staff was maintenance.... we had to call a couple of times for minor stuff and it was like they were reading our minds and things were taken care of quickly and efficiently. I never saw housekeeping, maybe they're magicians!!!!.... everything was always clean and fresh! I could go on and on about the guys who put out the umbrellas and how they came without us asking and switched ours out because of the wind but...I won't. We'll definitely be back...thanks Casa Ybel for a wonderfully memorable time. Please give your staff a raise!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HeyCandyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed 2 weeks at the Casa Ybel, room had been modernized and was clean - whole place was a lot of fun, nice beach and pool - can be a little crowded on weekends.

Each unit faces the beaches, even the ground floors have a nice view as they are on stilts. They have large gas BBQs in front of every unit, which is great for extended stays.

No fitness facilities is draw back.

The service is a little relaxed, but they get it done. I'm not familiar with other hotels on the island, but after two weeks on the island and driving around, I would recommend this one.

Room Tip: Stay a little away from the pool as those rooms are a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 6bills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We enjoyed a long weekend at Casa Ybel while attending a wedding at the resort.

I can certainly understand why the bride and groom chose Casa Ybel! The resort's grounds are expansive and beautifully manicured; and, food and service at Casa Ybel's Thistle Lodge restaurant (which catered the wedding, and where we dined twice on our own) are excellent. Also, despite the peace and tranquility of Casa Ybel's situation, the location offers quick access to all conveniences - groceries, liquor stores, restaurants, and shops - on Sanibel.

From our first floor suite located in one of the condo hotel units, located at a far end of the property, we could walk directly cross the lawn onto the beach. Our location was a long walk to the pool, but very peaceful and quiet - so perfect for us. Furnishings and décor were attractive (not super-luxe, but comfortable and substantial). The kitchenette was handy for preparing breakfast or cocktails, though not adequate for serious cooking. The bed was extremely comfortable, and made up every day with crisp, fresh linens; and the bedroom amazingly contained more storage than we could possibly fill. I particularly liked the bathroom arrangement, with two separate sink, vanity, and changing areas, which were very helpful with both of us rushing from beach-bumming to social events. Most importantly, everything in the suite was spotlessly clean, as though no one else had ever been there! (Kudos to housekeeping for doing such a great job even in July when the resort was extremely busy!)

The only real negative about our room has to do with building design, as the only window in our bedroom looked directly on the common stairway accessing all units in the building. In addition to the privacy issue, the entry light on the stairway was on all night and shined brightly through the closed louvers of the plantation shutters (nice for people who use nightlights, but not so good for those of us who like to sleep in the dark).

A few negatives we experienced in Casa Ybel's common areas probably have more to do with the timing of our visit, on a hot, crowded July weekend; but, I must note that ... Parking is tight. When all spaces are occupied, it takes some maneuvering to get in and out of a space without dinging other cars (especially with so many big SUVs around). The pool area was jam-packed with people and water toys throughout our stay. Though we always managed to get chairs and towels, it was hard to settle in and relax for any extended period. I understand (but don't know for sure) that Casa Ybel opens the pool and pool bar to people not staying at the resort, so some crowding may be due to outsiders coming in for the day. Also, the pool restrooms are small, without shower or changing facilities, which we would have appreciated on our first day, when our flight arrived very early and we had to wait many hours for check in. There are changing facilities near the tennis courts, but these are also a bit outdated and really can't accommodate more than one person at a time.

All in all, I highly recommend Casa Ybel Resort. Hope to return, probably in "shoulder" season. ;-)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kiawahvilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaYbel-Mgr, General Manager at Casa Ybel Resort, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Thank you so much for the positive review. We're glad to read you enjoyed your visit to Casa Ybel Resort. We have many guests and local families enjoying the summer on the Island this year. I will share your comments with our One Bedroom Suite housekeeping team, they take pride in their work and it shows. Coconuts Bar and Grill is open to the public, the pool and accompanying services are exclusive to registered guests. Thank you again for joining us. We hope you'll join us again on your next visit to Sanibel Island. Best regards, from the team at Casa Ybel Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sikeston, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

The resort is beautiful. The staff is friendly. We had a few issues with our room. They looked rather dated, but were clean and spacious. Our closet was broken (we couldn't hang clothes because the pole kept falling down). Our ironing board was broken so we had issues ironing and the fuses kept blowing in the room. The view was great! The location was great! The food was really good. We would come back.

Room Tip: If you want privacy pick a room that is not a pool view, but a beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shelz7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaYbel-Mgr, General Manager at Casa Ybel Resort, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you very much for the positive review. We are very sorry for the inconveniences mentioned, you shouldn't have experienced them. We have a full service maintenance team available to address any issues that may arise right away. I will see that these items are inspected throughout the resort right away. The two bedroom suites located around the pool will be completely redone within the next two months. We're glad you'll be back and look forward to welcoming you. Best regards from the team at Casa Ybel Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
1.4 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,297 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
267 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#2 of 19 in Sanibel Island
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
3.1 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
677 reviews
1.9 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Ybel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Ybel Resort

Property: Casa Ybel Resort
Address: 2255 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6104
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Ybel Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Natural, secluded and exclusive, historic Casa Ybel Resort epitomizes the sanctuary, old-island spirit of Sanibel. Occupying 23 acres of beach front property isolated from commercial enterprise, the resort forms a sheltered getaway where romantic surroundings and outdoor recreation attract couples and families alike. Travelers have found respite and hospitality here since the 1890's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Ybel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Ybel Hotel Sanibel Island
Casa Ybel Resort Sanibel Island, Florida
Casa Ybel Sanibel Island
Sanibel Island Casa Ybel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing