We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Anniversary”
Review of Casa Ybel Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa Ybel Resort
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We arrived saturday 3 pm... check inn was very fast and easy!!! The pool had a perfect temperature... beachfront... seashlls everywhere! The restaurant was delicious... Rosie the waitress was charming and very efficient! The food on time...

Room Tip: Even number have stairs on the back... are on the 2 floor ( which is like a 3rd floor). We had room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank super_lucia1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaYbel-Mgr, General Manager at Casa Ybel Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Congratulations again! Thank you so much for the excellent rating and for sharing your pictures. We hope to see you again on your next visit to the US. Best regards from the team at Casa Ybel Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (662)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

320 - 326 of 662 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2013

Stayed in a 2 bed condo that we rented from a condo owner who couldn't go for his week. It was our first time on Sanibel so we didnt know what to expect. Having read that Casa Ybel was one of the first and best resorts on the Island we had great expectations. Arriving at the resort we were not disappointed, the entrance and grounds are stunning! We found reception and then headed for our condo. We were the first floor condo's so that meant walking up 4 flights of stairs (with 4 heavy suitcases) to get to our front door - why no lifts??
The condo was dated and rather dull I have to say. We were a bit disapointed, having come from a stunning hotel in Naples! However, what the condo lacked in style and modernity, it made up for in space and function. Everything we needed was there - including great cable channels on the TV for the kids!
We found the pool to be excellent and spent many hours floating around there. There was never a shortage of loungers or shade either. Dissappointing though the beach was a right-off. Water had been allowed to come out the inland Floridian lake Okachobee which had made all the coastal waters brown and unpleasant, plus the No See-Ums (sand flies) bit a lot at sunrise and sunset - we therefore avoided the beach - shame!!
All in all, the longer we stayed, the more we liked Sanibel. We were very comfortable at Casa Ybel and loved the island. It is 'old fashioned' as a destination. Dont go expecting modern/ chic/ cosmopolitain. It is none of these, but it is very very relaxing and great fun!
Looking around other condo complexes on Sanibel I would say Casa Ybel is the best and it has an advantage of not being a very long drive from the causeway! We liked the look also of South Seas Island on Captiva - but this is an hour drive at least from the causeway, so quite cut off.
All in all, we had a lovely holiday at Casa Ybel.

Room Tip: Condo's on the top floor have a lot of steps to climb and access is via the rear of the building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaYbel-Mgr, General Manager at Casa Ybel Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Sarah,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review of Casa Ybel. Our Two Bedroom Suites will be completely refurnished this year. We hope you'll join us again soon. Best regards from the team at Casa Ybel Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Stayed in a condo time share (that my best friend swapped for) after not being in Sanibel for 5 years. Last visit to Casa Ybel was to attend a wedding so I knew I was coming to a classy place. Stayed the week after Labor Day week and it was very quiet, not many people on the beach or in the pool and the rooms on the floor above us were being renovated. But it was still a perfectly great experience. The condo was clean, comfortable, quiet, well stocked kitchen, screened balcony overlooking the pool area and convenient to everything we wanted to do in Sanibel. As for the renovations, the resort had sent my friend a very nice letter in advance explaining that everything would be done to limit noise or inconvenience and they were right. Heck, they have to do the work sometime and we didn't come here to sit in our room but even when we were inside, the activity never impacted us. There's a reason my friend comes back here year after year. Highly recommend! And be sure and say hi to Kenny at the tiki bar and have lunch at the Thistle Lodge!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eileen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaYbel-Mgr, General Manager at Casa Ybel Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Dear Elieen,

Thank you for the positive review and your patience while we refurnish the two bedroom beachfront suites. We also hope that just like your friends, you will come back year after year. Best regards from the team at Casa Ybel Resort. P.S. Kenny says Hi!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed here years ago and always wanted to go back. I am sorry to report that we were fairly disappointed in our stay, especially in the quality of our unit, which was a 1 bedroom and are the furthest from the pool and reception areas. All the buildings, including those in the common areas, seem to be in need of renovation. We are not complainers, especially about small issues and we are fairly well traveled but we found things unacceptable when we arrived. The sliding glass door lock was broken, the kitchen faucet was broken and the toaster was broken. These are items that any guest would have a basic expectation of being in working order and should be apparent to any housekeeping or maintenance staff. We also had a problem with ants in the kitchen. We used to live in Florida, so we are aware of the on going battle with ants, but this is a resort with cooking facilities in every unit, so ants are unacceptable. To be fair to the resort management, all of our concerns were addressed, but these are basic expectations of any guest and should not have happened in the first place. On a positive note, housekeeping was attentive and came every day(not at 4pm either). We like the proximity to the beach and the grounds. The pool is large for Sanibel Island, but the resort gets a negative for still using the practice of charging their guests for the use of the beach chairs-who does that any more and they aren't even nice chairs. On a final note, and this is a safety issue, there appeared to be a bee hive in the tree right by the entrance to our building.

Room Tip: First and second floor units both have their advantages-first floor(actually up one level) you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandinourshorts260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaYbel-Mgr, General Manager at Casa Ybel Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Thank you for taking the team to review your recent stay at Casa Ybel. Please accept our sincere apology for the series of items mentioned in your review. I am glad to read your concerns were addressed during your visit. We continually work toward providing quality beachfront accomodations with excelent guest service. We hope you will consider a return visit to Casa Ybel to allow us the opportunity to regain your trust. Best regards from the team at Casa Ybel Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This was our first time in Sanibel and the Casa Ybel Resort. We loved the resort as well as the island. The facilities are fantastic and well maintained. Every room does have a view of the Gulf. The rooms were very clean. The grounds are well groomed and manicured. The staff is very friendly and accomodating. We did not require any of the child services but I know there are activities on site. We did not eat at the restaurant but we did use the BBQ for several meals. They are kept clean. The a/c was a tad noisy but it was very effective. I will note that this was time share exchange for us. Therefore I don't have price point to base the cost of the room vs the amenities. Overall, we loved Sanibel and our stay at the Casa Ybel.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We spent two nights at Casa Ybel and liked the setting at the beach and the beautiful pool. The room was more average and we did not really like the two queen beds in the bedroom as this was too small for the room. Also airco was quite loud and uncomfortable at night. Still the beauty of the location and the quality of the pool and the restaurant made it a 4* experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SavertFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Thanks TA, you came through again. I choose always to go with the "glass half full" attitude so this time was no different. This was a first time on Sanibel Island and at Casa Ybel. We were celebrating our 31st Wedding Anniversary. All of the staff and I mean ALL were super friendly. The first staff was the front desk and reservations. They accommodated our request for a king bed instead of a 2 queens and a lower level room. The room was nicely decorated and the screened-in porch a nice touch, we loved to sit out there any time of day or night. We stayed in Banyan and was steps away from the beach, to be honest all of the units are steps away!!! The next staff was maintenance.... we had to call a couple of times for minor stuff and it was like they were reading our minds and things were taken care of quickly and efficiently. I never saw housekeeping, maybe they're magicians!!!!.... everything was always clean and fresh! I could go on and on about the guys who put out the umbrellas and how they came without us asking and switched ours out because of the wind but...I won't. We'll definitely be back...thanks Casa Ybel for a wonderfully memorable time. Please give your staff a raise!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HeyCandyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
1.4 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,433 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
301 reviews
9.4 mi away
'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Song of the Sea
Song of the Sea
#10 of 19 in Sanibel Island
714 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#3 of 19 in Sanibel Island
387 reviews
1.9 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Ybel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Ybel Resort

Address: 2255 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6104
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range: £229 - £501 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Ybel Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Natural, secluded and exclusive, historic Casa Ybel Resort epitomizes the sanctuary, old-island spirit of Sanibel. Occupying 23 acres of beach front property isolated from commercial enterprise, the resort forms a sheltered getaway where romantic surroundings and outdoor recreation attract couples and families alike. Travelers have found respite and hospitality here since the 1890's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa Ybel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Ybel Hotel Sanibel Island
Casa Ybel Resort Sanibel Island, Florida
Casa Ybel Sanibel Island
Sanibel Island Casa Ybel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing