We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scenic casual resort with evrything you need for a relaxing stay”
Review of Casa Ybel Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Ybel Resort
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We were here for a 4 night stay to escape what has been a very long and cold snowy Canadian winter. It was our first time and we had read some good reviews on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed. The only downsides were the Thistle Lodge restaurant (average food and too large serving sizes) and the reception staff seemed not happy to be working in a vacation resort (a little smile and some friendly chatter would have helped).

The units are in 8 plexes on two levels with each unit having it's own screened in balcony and a view of the gulf and the beach. It's a good sized screened in balcony with a table and a few chairs as well as a ceiling fan to provide some breeze. We spent most of our time out on the balcony including breakfast (the resturant does not serve breakfast). There is a fully equipped kitchen with a dishwasher, oven, microwave, coffee maker (no kettle though) and fridge and all the plates and pots and pans and utensils, so if you buy groceries locally you can cook your own meals if you like.

Two flat screen TVs (one in the bedroom and one in the living room) and well appointed and upgraded bathrooms and a nice king bed in the bedroom make for a nice casual stay. If you have the lower level units (odd numbers) you can even walk down your own stairs to the beach from your balcony. If on the upper floors you have to use the commmon stairs and older folks may have trouble lugging suitcases up the stairs but I'm sure the staff can assist. There are even laundry room facilities, a pool, tennis courts, shuffle board and stations to wash your shells that you know you will be collecting.

Easy access to a very long beach and the stars at night are incredible, making for a perfect vacation. It's conveniently located just a short drive from Periwinkle Way and very quiet. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Go for the lower floors (odd numbers to get your own stairs to the beach from your screened in balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hikescdnrckys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (670)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 670 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2014

This one is a hidden gem. After we had a few not-so-great experiences at various places, we arrived around 10 pm at this property. The unit was nice, but we reserved judgment until the sun came up the next morning. WOW. Beautiful setting right on the ocean with an impecably maintained property, pool, and buildings. We did not eat at the restaurant at the resort, but the menu looked really nice. This resort is a time share property, and as such, many of the visitors know many of the other visitors from their visits over the years. Most of them had 2 or 3 weeks and had been coming for years. It was fun at the pool and the whole resort had a friendly atmosphere.

Sanibel is a very nice, upscale island. The whole island may have about 8 feet of elevation, so everybody rides bikes everywhere. At major intersections, the local police make sure people are able to cross safely. We also enjoyed a couple of nature preserves that are nearby, and if you look over the bridge on the road to the resort, you will see why there is a 'don't feed the alligators' sign!

FWIW, the week before Christmas was very affordable. I guess it goes up considerably after that, but for the combination of weather and cost, we would go back on the same week again and again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

This resort after the rehab from the storm a few years ago is simply awesome. The beach is the most beautiful area with boundiful shells, birds, and warm water. The reports pool is very nice and heated. There is no fitness center but they have an arrangement with a local gym for a nominal fee. They several nice tennis courts but there are few players. Ten years ago you could almost always find a game as the resort was a "tennis destination" of sorts. The sunsets are "The best"

R Kent
Maryland

Room Tip: All rooms face the golf and are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

The, quiet , beachfront location was lovely. You can't beat the view. All the staff we encountered was accommodating and friendly .We parked the car and enjoyed walking or biking to restaurants and museums. Look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank takingiteasy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

I booked a 2 night stay for my sister & her husband. Reservation dept sent her the costs with the confirmation number even though we told them 3 times it was for a birthday. Their condo needed maintenance- carpet bunched up, no grout around tub, kitchen faucet broken, etc.
She reported that lamb chops on the menu were $49.00 & pasta started at $22.00 & felt that menu was overpriced. They also needed breakfast which was miles away w terrible traffic and line-ups at the restaurant. Not available at the property.
The resort is overpriced for the quality.

Room Tip: Lower level which still has 2 flights of stairs and closer to restaurant.
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Babs2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

This resort is very nice, all the amenities of a hotel, with the space of a condo vacation rental. I didn't care for the threadbare robes provided. The cards for the beach towels made me roll my eyes & the fact that you have to rent beach chairs that I feel should be provided to guests. Ad the restaurant was very expensive, we didn't try it. We loved the location of the resort, right on the beach. We also liked the shell washing station, the faucet to wash your feet off before coming upstairs to the screened in baloney & the fact that there was a screened in balcony so you could open the sliding glass doors and let the breeze in.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank CMT23831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Beautiful spot- feet in the sand, you can not get much better than this. Highly recommend for a time away. Although the temps could have been warmer, low 60's in Jan, the pool was heated, the hot tub great and the walks on the beach and shelling can't be compared. The pool side cabana lunch was terrific.
Our king bed beach front unit was clean, pretty and well furnished. Pick up groceries before you arrive for coffee in the am( they don't serve any) and snacks. Nothing walking distance. Wonderful restaurants on Sanibel.
Enjoy-

Room Tip: You can't beat a beach front view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
1.4 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 20 in Sanibel Island
2,501 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 20 in Sanibel Island
311 reviews
9.4 mi away
'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 20 in Sanibel Island
2,016 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#9 of 20 in Sanibel Island
1,351 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sanibel Moorings Resort
Sanibel Moorings Resort
#1 of 20 in Sanibel Island
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Ybel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Ybel Resort

Address: 2255 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6104
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range: £223 - £478 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Ybel Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Natural, secluded and exclusive, historic Casa Ybel Resort epitomizes the sanctuary, old-island spirit of Sanibel. Occupying 23 acres of beach front property isolated from commercial enterprise, the resort forms a sheltered getaway where romantic surroundings and outdoor recreation attract couples and families alike. Travelers have found respite and hospitality here since the 1890's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Ybel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Ybel Hotel Sanibel Island
Casa Ybel Resort Sanibel Island, Florida
Casa Ybel Sanibel Island
Sanibel Island Casa Ybel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing