We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Intimate beach wedding package” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Ybel Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Ybel Resort
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Upstate NY
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Intimate beach wedding package”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

We had a very small wedding, followed by a lovely dinner at Casa Ybel. We were thrilled with the level of service we received. Tori was super helpful and flexible with the planning. Jeremy was our waiter at dinner and he went above and beyond our expectations. The setting was gorgeous, the food delicious. The wedding packages and vendor lists allow for stress free planning. Overall a wonderful, simple wedding experience!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Christi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    153
    67
    30
    24
See reviews for
245
215
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
HIghland Park, Il
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We just returned from a glorious week on Sanibel at Casa Ybel. This beautiful resort on the ocean was recommended to us by a friend who owns a timeshare on the property. When we checked in we were shown a 1 bedroom that we were not excited about because it was a bit small. Amy, the director of resort operations, graciously showed us a 2 bedroom unit that was roomier and updated. She handled our concern in an exceptional way. She truly defines the entire Casa Ybel staff attitude. Our room was ready for us in less than an hour. The view of the ocean was breathtaking, the pool is beautifully warm and inviting (in fact, the pool staff was so accomodating, they removed the rope early or later each day so we could lap swim) though we did not eat at the Thistle Lodge, the lunch food served by Thistle at the pool cafe was outstanding, (especially lobster rolls). The location is centrally perfect on the island, with access to restaurants, shops, Jerry's supermarket and easy access to the bridge. CY also has a sand volley ball court, basketball court, children's pool, shell washing stations and even a playground for little people. Our week was so near perfect, we are returning for 2 weeks next year.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean with different views. There is not a fitness center because one can walk on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Teri5450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

We were here for a 4 night stay to escape what has been a very long and cold snowy Canadian winter. It was our first time and we had read some good reviews on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed. The only downsides were the Thistle Lodge restaurant (average food and too large serving sizes) and the reception staff seemed not happy to be working in a vacation resort (a little smile and some friendly chatter would have helped).

The units are in 8 plexes on two levels with each unit having it's own screened in balcony and a view of the gulf and the beach. It's a good sized screened in balcony with a table and a few chairs as well as a ceiling fan to provide some breeze. We spent most of our time out on the balcony including breakfast (the resturant does not serve breakfast). There is a fully equipped kitchen with a dishwasher, oven, microwave, coffee maker (no kettle though) and fridge and all the plates and pots and pans and utensils, so if you buy groceries locally you can cook your own meals if you like.

Two flat screen TVs (one in the bedroom and one in the living room) and well appointed and upgraded bathrooms and a nice king bed in the bedroom make for a nice casual stay. If you have the lower level units (odd numbers) you can even walk down your own stairs to the beach from your balcony. If on the upper floors you have to use the commmon stairs and older folks may have trouble lugging suitcases up the stairs but I'm sure the staff can assist. There are even laundry room facilities, a pool, tennis courts, shuffle board and stations to wash your shells that you know you will be collecting.

Easy access to a very long beach and the stars at night are incredible, making for a perfect vacation. It's conveniently located just a short drive from Periwinkle Way and very quiet. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Go for the lower floors (odd numbers to get your own stairs to the beach from your screened in balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hikescdnrckys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

This one is a hidden gem. After we had a few not-so-great experiences at various places, we arrived around 10 pm at this property. The unit was nice, but we reserved judgment until the sun came up the next morning. WOW. Beautiful setting right on the ocean with an impecably maintained property, pool, and buildings. We did not eat at the restaurant at the resort, but the menu looked really nice. This resort is a time share property, and as such, many of the visitors know many of the other visitors from their visits over the years. Most of them had 2 or 3 weeks and had been coming for years. It was fun at the pool and the whole resort had a friendly atmosphere.

Sanibel is a very nice, upscale island. The whole island may have about 8 feet of elevation, so everybody rides bikes everywhere. At major intersections, the local police make sure people are able to cross safely. We also enjoyed a couple of nature preserves that are nearby, and if you look over the bridge on the road to the resort, you will see why there is a 'don't feed the alligators' sign!

FWIW, the week before Christmas was very affordable. I guess it goes up considerably after that, but for the combination of weather and cost, we would go back on the same week again and again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellicott City, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

This resort after the rehab from the storm a few years ago is simply awesome. The beach is the most beautiful area with boundiful shells, birds, and warm water. The reports pool is very nice and heated. There is no fitness center but they have an arrangement with a local gym for a nominal fee. They several nice tennis courts but there are few players. Ten years ago you could almost always find a game as the resort was a "tennis destination" of sorts. The sunsets are "The best"

R Kent
Maryland

Room Tip: All rooms face the golf and are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

The, quiet , beachfront location was lovely. You can't beat the view. All the staff we encountered was accommodating and friendly .We parked the car and enjoyed walking or biking to restaurants and museums. Look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank takingiteasy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cerrillos New Mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

I booked a 2 night stay for my sister & her husband. Reservation dept sent her the costs with the confirmation number even though we told them 3 times it was for a birthday. Their condo needed maintenance- carpet bunched up, no grout around tub, kitchen faucet broken, etc.
She reported that lamb chops on the menu were $49.00 & pasta started at $22.00 & felt that menu was overpriced. They also needed breakfast which was miles away w terrible traffic and line-ups at the restaurant. Not available at the property.
The resort is overpriced for the quality.

Room Tip: Lower level which still has 2 flights of stairs and closer to restaurant.
See more room tips
Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Babs2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
1.3 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
3.0 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
9.4 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,576 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#9 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sanibel Moorings
Sanibel Moorings
#1 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Ybel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Ybel Resort

Property: Casa Ybel Resort
Address: 2255 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6104
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Ybel Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Natural, secluded and exclusive, historic Casa Ybel Resort epitomizes the sanctuary, old-island spirit of Sanibel. Occupying 23 acres of beach front property isolated from commercial enterprise, the resort forms a sheltered getaway where romantic surroundings and outdoor recreation attract couples and families alike. Travelers have found respite and hospitality here since the 1890's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Casa Ybel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Ybel Hotel Sanibel Island
Casa Ybel Resort Sanibel Island, Florida
Casa Ybel Sanibel Island
Sanibel Island Casa Ybel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing