We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Children oriented resort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Ybel Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Ybel Resort
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level Contributor
107 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Children oriented resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

This is the kind of place I wish we had been able to afford when our kids were young. Lots of reasonably priced activities to entertain the youngsters. Not sure it would work for couples so much maybe?? It would have been nice to have a bit of the day when the pool was adult only. We went with our two adult children and the rollaway bed in a one bedroom suite together with the bed sofa was fine for us. Meshed in balconies enabled us to enjoy drinks watching the sunset. Well equipped kitchens.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelbug57UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    153
    67
    30
    24
See reviews for
245
215
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

This is the greatest resort in Sanibel, a bit expensive but totally worth it.

Bartenders at the pool bar are very friendly, not so much the ones at the restaurant.

Even if you are not staying at the hotel, stop over to eat something and chill.

The porch is great for an afternoon coffee.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank GonzaloGarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

This is a fabulous place to stay. The units are beautiful and the grounds are well maintained. Beach is outstanding and very private and for those who like a pool better it is well situated and has a lovely poolside restaurant /bar. This is our fifth year coming here and we will be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenkintown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Beautiful resort. Very relaxing and quiet. Definitely the best beach for shelling and we went all around!! The food at the restaurant was fabulous and uniformly excellent. Service all around was very good. We will go back soon!!!!
We had a second floor one bedroom.....
Even better: we were so relaxed after 4 days my wife forgot her wallet in the room safe. We did not realize that until we got to the airport. A call to the resort, and within an hour they found a driver and (for a small reasonable fee) we had the wallet and ID in hand in time to check in and make our flight home! (Not that we wanted to go home in any case...LOL)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank E Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

This resort is picture perfect for a wedding and ranks high on the The Knot. We had our daughters wedding April 5, 2014 on a perfect sunny 80 degree day. They handled the details perfectly and the wedding planner, Tori, was wonderful. The only dark spot was the food. We had ordered a substitute for the jasmine rice, a risotto suggested by the chef and it was overlooked despite several reminders. Also it came out cold, even lukewarm for the bride who was served first. I became concerned when dinners came out with plastic covers on them because you wouldn't think it was necessary for a group of 40 people. I felt bad because generally the food out of the Thistle Lodge is very good, but it was an unfortunate time for us for them to drop the ball.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MUFanMilwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Third time staying at Casa Ybel in a two bedroom unit. Perfect location, right on the gulf. Price is a bit steep but you are paying for the location. Lot's of room for outdoor play. Pool side restaurant a great convenience. Love having a tennis pro available for lessons/clinics. Really miss the courtside water fountain and loss of the sign up board.

Room Tip: Lot's of stairs for the upper units but staff eagerly helped bring up the suitcases and grocerie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moxiefe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

We'd never been to Casa Ybel, having strictly chosen it from researching on the Web, and what a treat! The property is well located, the grounds beautifully maintained, a nice pool/hot tub area and convenient access to the beach. The buildings and rooms are kept up nicely; we didn't observe any defects in our room at all. Our room was cleaned promptly every day and the gal even loaded the dishwasher and ran it! The main office is open 24/7 for your convenience. The Thistle Restaurant served the most delicious food as did the pool bar, Coconuts. It was the perfect place to hole up for a few days of quiet relaxation. We would definitely go back! On a side note: I would highly recommend NOT renting a car. The traffic on the island was very congested the resort has bikes to rent and you can bike everywhere you'd like to go.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank W H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
1.3 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,062 reviews
3.0 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
9.4 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,576 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#9 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sanibel Moorings
Sanibel Moorings
#1 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Ybel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Ybel Resort

Property: Casa Ybel Resort
Address: 2255 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6104
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Ybel Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Natural, secluded and exclusive, historic Casa Ybel Resort epitomizes the sanctuary, old-island spirit of Sanibel. Occupying 23 acres of beach front property isolated from commercial enterprise, the resort forms a sheltered getaway where romantic surroundings and outdoor recreation attract couples and families alike. Travelers have found respite and hospitality here since the 1890's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Casa Ybel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Ybel Hotel Sanibel Island
Casa Ybel Resort Sanibel Island, Florida
Casa Ybel Sanibel Island
Sanibel Island Casa Ybel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing