We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Beach Resort”
Review of Casa Ybel Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Casa Ybel Resort
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Beach Resort”
Reviewed 29 August 2009

Casa Ybel is a beautiful historic beach resort on the beatiful natural barrier island of Sanibel. We love to visit beach front resorts and this one rates high on our list. Casa Ybel is the original first beach front resort that was established on the island. First class resort managed by Hilton Grand Vacation Clubs and the Coral Group. Grounds and property are immaculately maintained. The staff was excellent and the responsiveness and professionalism of the Hilton resort manager was outstanding making our vacation experience first rate. Our 2 bedroom unit was well appointed and lovely. ALL units at this resort are 1 or 2 bedroom beachfront condos. They ALL face the beach! Beach location is a gorgeous natural shelling beach. The cuisine and dining experience at the on site Thistle Lodge restaurant was outstanding. This beachfront 5 star restaurant did not disappoint. This is s great family destination. Sanibel is a quiet, low commotion, natural habitat island destination. Shelling beach is first rate. Bicycle trails honeycomb the island providing wonderful experiences of the natural habitat and wildlife. 70% of Sanibel is a protected wildlife preserve. Try renting a boat from Jensen's Marina on neiboring Captiva Island and explore the local islands for a great natural adventure. If you love nature on the coast, you will LOVE Sanibel and Casa Ybel resort.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VacationHappyAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaYbel-Mgr, GM at Casa Ybel Resort, responded to this review, 31 August 2009
Thank you for your positive review of Casa Ybel Resort and Sanibel Island! We're also excited you enjoyed your experience at our Thistle Lodge Beachfront Restaurant. We're very proud of our culinary team and their ability.

Again thank you for your wonderful comments and for taking the time to share them. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    162
    71
    32
    30
See reviews for
265
232
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2009

We were recommeded to this hotel by the chamber of commerce. They are crazy to refer people to this hotel. The staff was rude and not helpful at all. I traveled with my daughter, sister and mother for a relaxing extended weekend. We went to check in and were told that they had a 1 bedroom unit available with a leni that was on the beach. First off if you have luggage be prepared to haul it up wooden worn staircases to your unit. When we went to unit 111 and opened the door it had a TERRIBLE odor something like motor oil or bug spray. It was to the point that you got a headache just being in there for a while. When I called the front desk and asked for a new room I was told the only one available was next door and it most likely still had the same smell and the person hung up the phone before I could ask any further questions. When you looked the walls you then realized it was not textured paint but dust balls and webs on the walls in the bedroom. To further this disgusting find was just as we got in some water was spilled on the floor and when we wiped it up the towel was black. This floor must not have been cleaned in weeks. To get to the beach you have to walk accross a spance of grass with bugs flying up at you to get to the sand. The other thing that amazed me was that we were never told anything about the hotel upon check in. Nobody mentioned where the pool was, that you have to rent chairs and umbrellas on the beach (read below) or basically anything else about the so called resort. I found out about the chair the morning after check in because we woke up early to take my daughter shelling. There was an empty chair on the beach and since I had surgery on my ankle and was on crutches and in a brace I sat in the chair. I was approached by a person who worked at the resort to get off the chair because it was reserved for someone else. I was not offered to "rent" another chair or anything else just get off. Needless to say we arrived at 5:00 at night and left the next morning. As I mentioned above save your hard earned money and time and do not go here.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank dee68Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaYbel-Mgr, Manager at Casa Ybel Resort, responded to this review, 28 August 2009
We are disappointed to have received a negative review and apologize for having missed the opportunity to maintain our goal of providing warm and friendly service in an impeccably clean hassle free environment.

Casa Ybel Resort has a full housekeeping staff that includes daily maid service in the one bedroom suite and an inspection team to review all suites prior to arrival. Daily maid service is optional for the two bedroom suite which is also inspected prior to arrival. Luggage assistance is available to help guests arriving and departing from their accommodation from 8am to 10pm daily.

In harmony with the island’s objective to maintain its surroundings as natural as possible, Casa Ybel’s beach furniture is available upon request and can be reserved prior to arrival; the furniture is set and removed from the beach on a daily basis with an identifying tag specifying which suite it is reserved for. This fee based service is optional.

Casa Ybel Resort is set on 23-acres of tropically landscaped beachfront property, with one of the largest pools on the island situated at the center of the property providing beach towels, pool furniture, recreation activities and food & beverage services for all guests within walking distance from their suite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2009

we stayed in a one bedroom on the floor where you can walk downstairs directly to the beach. sanibel/captiva is beautiful; the condo rooms are very nice and spacious; very close to the beach; the pool set up is very nice. we would stay there again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hsg130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaYbel-Mgr, Manager at Casa Ybel Resort, responded to this review, 28 August 2009
Thank you for your positive review of Casa Ybel Resort. We appreciate your business and look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2009

Casa Ybel is a beautiful, well manicured and exceptionally clean resort. I have traveled many places, and found Casa to be one of the best. It has everything you could ask for!! I traveled with a friend and her daughter, who is 13, as well as my daughter who is 10. We had a fabulous girls getaway, leaving our husbands at home! The resort was set up well, our condo was right near the pool and Gulf so we were very fortunate, but nothing was that far to walk, and the property was absolutely breathtaking. We strolled the beach and looked at other resorts, and Casa was by far the most luxuriant and the cleanest. Little things, the personal water hose for use before entering our condo, fully equipped kitchen and very friendly service pool side. Retta braided my daughters hair and gave us a wealth of information regarding the island and just in talking to her, I could tell she loved her job at Casa. All staff was happy to help and the pool was always immaculate. Gorgeous resort and I would reccommend it to anyone!!! I love Sanibel and all it has to offer, but staying at Casa Ybel topped it off! Thanks for our great stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barbeeWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaYbel-Mgr, Manager at Casa Ybel Resort, responded to this review, 21 August 2009
The staff at Casa Ybel Resort are thankful for your positive review. We appreciate reading such great comments about your "girls getaway". We look forward to welcoming you again to Casa Ybel Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2009

Our wedding at Casa Ybel Resort could not have been more perfect in every way. When we first began the search, I was a little nervous, with some mixed reviews on Trip Advisor, but once we saw the location and met the staff, we could not have imagine our wedding anywhere else!!

I worked with Jessica in the beginning to book the wedding, and she was very professional and accomidating with all of our requests. She was our first impression of the resort, and after meeting her we could not believe anyone would write anything negative about her or Jennifer! They were awesome, and never too busy to deal with us, or rude. Not sure where those people are coming from!

After we booked, we began working with Jennifer, and she is INCREDIBLE!! She was always there for any questions we had, gave creative and practical advice when needed, guided us whenever we needed guidance, connected us with our awesome vendors, and was just all around a great person!

Planning was a breeze, the all-inclusive packages made selecting everythings so easy, and the vendors they recommended did a fabulous job. They also keep a blog just for the weddings that shows REAL pictures of the weddings, so you can see what everything really looks like, and what other people did...a great source for inspiration!!

OUr wedding was on the lawn between the palm trees, overlooking the water, and was just magical. Our reception was in the Waterfront Dining Room, and was so beautiful-I could not have imagined it any better! The food was DELICIOUS-a far cry away from typical wedding food, 5 star all the way and worth every penny. The staff was friendly and treated us like royalty.

We really cannot say enough about how perfect our day was, from start to finish. The rooms at the resort are beautiful as well-all full sized condos with water views...what more could you ask for??

My advice to brides: don't be thrown off by any negative reviews you might see, because in my humble opinion, they could not be further from the truth, and there are quite a few positive reviews to back me up!!! (check out Project Wedding or Wedding Wire).

Casa Ybel Resort is the best decision we could have ever made for our WEdding on Sanibel Island, and we will have a life full of memories to cherish from our time there.

  • Liked — Wedding Location, Staff Professionalism, Service, Rooms, Food
  • Disliked — NOTHING!
  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank LyraBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaYbel-Mgr, GM at Casa Ybel Resort, responded to this review, 7 August 2009
Thank you kindly for your positive review of Casa Ybel Resort and the Thistle Lodge Beachfront Restaurant. It is great to read such positive feedback and we are glad you had an enjoyable experience with us. We very much look forward to your return visit. Congratulations on your wedding with best regards from the team at Casa Ybel Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murrysville PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2009

We've taken many vacations, but this is one of the most memorable.
Casa Ybel resort itself is an awesome getaway! Going over the wooden bridge to the resort felt like coming home. The pond at the entrance has multitude of wildlife and rich colors. The chalet-type condos were clean and had everything you would need. The screened -in porch overlooking the ocean provided hours of relaxation in the early morning and late evening hours; many hours were spent listening to the call of the "uh-oh" birds while sipping coffee (or wine if it's after 11AM, that's not too early when you're on vacation, right?).
The ocean was full of sand dollars, starfish, sea bass, "smelts", dolphins, pelicans, etc. Trying to touch the dolphins, which showed up like clockwork twice a day at 9:30am and 3-4PM, kept us in shape. Tossing the frisbee in the ocean was the best family past-time.
Collecting shells on the beach and listening to the underwater chirping of the dolphins kept the kids busy.
Sanibel Island was the perfect getaway from everything commercialized! If you go, be sure to eat at The Timbers on Tarpon Road and treat yourself to some NASA jewelry at Shiny Objects. And after you return home with all those seashells, get a glue-gun and some magnets for the kids and watch their imaginations fly!
Before you cross the bridge to the island, load up at the Publix on McGregor Road; that way you won't have to leave the island at all. Be sure to load up on SPF 70.
We just returned and are already saving up for next year, and we wouldn't stay anywhere else but Casa Ybel Resort!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Murrysville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaYbel-Mgr, Manager at Casa Ybel Resort, responded to this review, 27 July 2009
Thank you for choosing Casa Ybel Resort and sharing your wonderful experience and travel advice. We appreciate you taking the time to reveal a quick look at your time spent on Sanibel Island and look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Casa Ybel Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2009

I had my wedding at Casa Ybel Resort on Sanibel Island, Florida on June 17, 2009. There were scattered thunder storms that evening and we were assured by our event coordinator that they would have an alternate site available. That "alternate site" ended up being a covered patio used by the restaurant Thistle Lodge (great restaurant by the way). I was OK with the covered patio, but there was no effort to rearrange the tables & chairs from the dining configuration to accomodate our very small party (14 attending). We waited out the storm & managed to have the ceremony on the beach. We were short 2 chairs & they were all wet from the rain and when I tried to ask my event coordinator to help us find more chairs & towels, she had disappeared. A wedding guest had to run back to the resort & track someone down to bring us towels & chairs. I sent a letter to the general manager of the resort & his only response was a promise to "Personally see to your arrangements" if we ever decide to go back to Casa Ybel. WOW - I can hardly wait.

At least the dining experience was a winner - the food was great & the service was impecable. So lesson learned - No on hiring Casa Ybel for a wedding site - Yes on the restaurant.

Helpful?
1 Thank ImreadyKaty_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaYbel-Mgr, manager at Casa Ybel Resort, responded to this review, 16 July 2009
We appreciate you taking the time to contact our resort and provide a follow up review for TripAdvisor. Comments such as yours are appreciated because it gives us the opportunity to improve. We regret that we were not able to meet your expectation with regard to an alternate ceremony location. It was our impression due to rain that your ceremony would take place under the covered terrace followed by a celebratory dinner reception. We will work closely with our team members to better anticipate our clients needs and clarify communication. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your reception dinner at our Thistle Lodge Restaurant and the food and service were impecable. Again, our sincere apology and hopes you will once again choose Casa Ybel Resort to experience the personal service so many have come to expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
1.4 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,347 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
285 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#3 of 19 in Sanibel Island
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
1.9 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,835 reviews
11.7 mi away
South Seas Island Resort
South Seas Island Resort
#2 of 4 in Captiva Island
3,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Ybel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Ybel Resort

Property: Casa Ybel Resort
Address: 2255 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6104
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Ybel Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Natural, secluded and exclusive, historic Casa Ybel Resort epitomizes the sanctuary, old-island spirit of Sanibel. Occupying 23 acres of beach front property isolated from commercial enterprise, the resort forms a sheltered getaway where romantic surroundings and outdoor recreation attract couples and families alike. Travelers have found respite and hospitality here since the 1890's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa Ybel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Ybel Hotel Sanibel Island
Casa Ybel Resort Sanibel Island, Florida
Casa Ybel Sanibel Island
Sanibel Island Casa Ybel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing