We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shalimar--Some good, some bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shalimar Cottages and Motel
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2008

We recently spent one night at the Shalimar on the second floor of the motel building. The good: fabulous location, nicely kept grounds, great sunset views, comfortable Adirondack chairs for the beach, nice staff. The bad (or not so good): badly dated furnishings, bathroom in need of renovation, full refrigerator blocked access to kitchen light switch so we had to reach using a spatula to turn the light on and off and while the porch was screened against the bugs the fact it faced west and the afternoon sun made it pretty much unuseable most of the afternoon because of the heat.

Maybe the cottages would work for a longer stay but we would not stay at the motel again.

But we still LOVE Sanibel!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank mmob100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (343)
There are newer reviews for Shalimar Cottages and Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 343 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2008

We stayed at the Shalimar for three nights. Two nights were spent in a Gulf front cottage, the third in a Gulf View (due to availability restrictions). Although not lavisly furnished we found the cottage to be extremely welcoming, comfortable and clean. It had a well equipped kitchen area with pretty much everything you need. The bed was large and comfortable. There is no daily maid service but fresh towels are available. The screened porch looked out onto the beach just a few steps away - beautiful! It is worth paying the extra and renting a beach front cottage. The Gulf view cottages although the same layout were quite close to eachother with not much of a view!

There is a lovely small pool which offers fresh towels for swimmers and bikes are available to hire which we rented on a few occassions. A Friday evening social is also arranged which offers drinks and a buffet around the pool - a nice touch if you want to take part. Overall we really enjoyed our stay here and would definately recommend a stay in one of the cottages. During our stay we found a mixture of ages from families to retirees.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank georgemostly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2008

It's so small and spaced so tight, everyone knows your business. It's hard because there are a lot of older people who like to go to bed early . . . I'm talking before 9. So quiet time starts early - I would have stayed out on the screen porch later and talked but was afraid of being to loud. If someone around you has their T.V. up, everyone hears it. I don't think I would return unless I had a gulf front cottage away from the motel side.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank beachopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2008

We stayed at the Shalimar motel on the second floor. The room was nice and appeared to be very clean. The grounds were well maintained and location was excellent.
My only negative comments would be that the room floor was very creaky, which made my wife and I feel we had to tip-toe around so as not to disturb anyone. Also the walls seemed to be fairly 'thin' as we could hear a good amount of noise from the adjoining room.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Jake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2008

My wife and I stayed in the Shalimar Motel area for our anniversary and we loved it! We could see and hear the ocean from our window. The walks on the beach were great. The room was well-stocked with a stove, full-size refrigerator and dishes. Need anything else? Check with the management office because they usually had everything and more, including a good amount of videos that you could borrow if you couldn't find anything on cable! The staff was incredibly friendly, the pool was clean, the room was clean. We really can't say enough about how nice the experience was. We definitely want to book a visit in the future and bring our kids. We're so happy we stayed at the Shalimar.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank bassface127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2007

Wanted to suprise my husband with a trip for his 50th birthday, we had always wanted to go to Sanibel Island. I chose the Shalimar based on various Tripadvisor recommendations, and hoped for the best. We were not dissappointed. The property was absolutely perfect for anyone who wants an experience different from staying at a typical resort. The eight or so cottages were very charming, all with either total or partical ocean views. We stayed in the motel, which was just perfect. Our room was spacious, two queen beds, a very nice porch that was screened in. The kitchen was big enough to cook whatever we wanted, and I was suprised by the full size refrig. The linen exchange worked just fine, all the supplies you needed were available really whenever you wanted. Our 7 year old son came along, and enjoyed a positively lovely, warm pool. He also enjoyed the shuffleboard and basketball "mini court".The view from our porch was absolutely beautiful, sunsets were outstanding, shelling was unbelievable. My 88 year old mother also took a motel room, she walks with a walker, and had no problems maneuvering around the property. An ariel view of the island shows that the Shalimar is the property that is closest to the water, really just 30 feet from the ocean, as compared to all others. We checked out other motels/hotels, and really didn't find any that we thought we would enjoy more. If ever we travel to Sanibel again, the Shalimar is the only place for us. We spoke to several people at the pool who had been coming to the Shalimar for 20 plus years, they wouldn't consider going anywhere else. The only thing that bothered me was that the hallway in the motel, and the floor in the motel seemed to be constructed of something like plywood, because when anyone would walk in the room above us or out in the hall area, you could hear the floor creek, which was somewhat annoying when it woke you up at night. Other than that, the Shalimar is a real find for those of us who love the simple things in life.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank fiftyisnifty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2007

We spent 5 days in one of the hotel efficiencies and enjoyed our stay. The room was clean, comfortable, and reasonably priced. The pool area was nice and we enjoyed the shuffleboard court and also being able to rent bikes on site. They also had a computer available. The staff was friendly and helpful. There was no daily maid service but it was easy to exchange laundry and pick up any supplies that were needed. The shelling was great and the gulf water temperature was warm with lots of dolphins visible. We also enjoyed eating at the Island Cow and the Hungry Heron. We were disappointed that the local shops closed very early in the evening. Maybe it was the time we visited but we found Sanibel to be almost too laid back. If we decide to visit Sanibel in the future I would definitely stay at the Shalimar again.

Stayed: October 2007
4  Thank gdwIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
2.3 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 20 in Sanibel Island
2,371 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 20 in Sanibel Island
286 reviews
4.1 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 20 in Sanibel Island
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 20 in Sanibel Island
1,855 reviews
7.0 mi away
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
#8 of 20 in Sanibel Island
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shalimar Cottages and Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shalimar Cottages and Motel

Address: 2823 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-5701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range: £115 - £273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shalimar Cottages and Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shalimar is an Old Florida-style resort of 33 units located directly on the Gulf of Mexico. Blending in with the natural beauty of the island, Shalimar offers many features without spoiling the natural atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Shalimar Cottages and Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shalimar Cottages Hotel Sanibel Island
Shalimar Hotel Sanibel Island
Shalimar Motel Sanibel Island
Shalimar Cottages And Motel Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing