We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasent surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shalimar Cottages and Motel
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pleasent surprise”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We drove to Sanibel from Miami without any plans or reservations. Just wanted to check it out and boy what a pleasant surprise...the whole island was a wonderful experience. We ended up staying at the Shalimar Cottages and Motel. Since we didn't have a reservation there was only a hotel room available the first night and a cottage came open the second night. Even though the hotel had been remodeled it was not sound proof at all...you can hear every step from above and everything next door. The second night we stayed in a cottage and it was sooo much better. The previous reviewer was right about the chairs they were cheep plastic and not really beach chairs made for the sand but other than that everything else was pretty good. There was lots to do, many places to eat, and lots to see and explore. We will surely go again.

Room Tip: Stay in the cottages not the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShalimarCottages, Manager at Shalimar Cottages and Motel, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Hello Paula,

Thank you for your review! We really appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    97
    23
    19
    12
See reviews for
83
164
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clermont, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Never mind and disregard the negative reviews here, the Shalimar is an outstanding property on Sanibel Island. Lighten up a little! My family has been coming to Sanibel Island since 2001 and the Shalimar is always our first choice. We've reluctantly stayed in other places on Sanibel but always come back and prefer the Shalimar. It's NOT a fancy 5-star luxurious resort. It IS a quaint and charming property with the best access to the best beach on Sanibel. It's old school Florida charm without the over the top mega resort dynamic (vanilla decor, hyper kids going crazy everywhere, nickel and dime expenses etc...Blech!). The cottages are great for longer stays but the motel efficiencies are just fine for shorter stays. We've stayed in both and it has been great every time. You have direct and easy access to the beach no matter where you are on property. Also, it's an easy drive to the main drag Periwinkle and westward to Captiva. We were even there in 2008 when Hurricane Gustav was in the Gulf and still had an amazing time!

We called very late this year and were thrilled to find out they still had vacancy for Labor Day weekend 2013. They even worked something out for us regarding their minimum stay requirement for the holiday weekend due to another commitment just because we were returning guests and they remembered us! The service has always been excellent and if you are going to complain about a bit of insignificant noise or murky water beyond the management's control, maybe you should rethink your philosophy on vacation! Just chill, relax and enjoy the shells, sunsets and beach. Sanibel Island and the Shalimar will always be a very special place for our family and we LOVE it there! We cherish our memories here and look forward to creating more. My kids have basically grown up going to the Shalimar throughout all the stages of their lives from toddler through college years. We can't wait for our next visit to see our old friend on West Gulf Drive in a few short weeks!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roadtrippers17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShalimarCottages, Manager at Shalimar Cottages and Motel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Hello, thank you for your kind review! We appreciate that you took the time to give us feedback, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miramar, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed at Shalimar about 3 weeks ago. Overall we had a good time. The motel is very close to the beach, which is a nice benefit. The balconies are screened which allowed us to eat on our patio.

However, there are a few cons to this place people should be aware of. First off, if you stay on the first floor and you have anyone above you, you will hear every footstep they take. The ceiling apparently is constructed of a material that i guess creaks and of course this is probably due to the age of the building.

Second, they do provide chairs for the beach, but no umbrellas. Do not expect the chairs to be on the beach as in most resorts. The chairs are not the beach adjustable kind. They are the $10 types you find in Walmart that are not usually used on the beach. You must lug the chairs to the beach and back when you are done.

Like I said - overall we had a good time since we were there for the beach, but for the money, the management could at least provide umbrellas, and actual beach chairs and at least lay them out on the beach for the guests.

By the way - this weekend we stayed at the Holiday Inn - umbrellas along with beach chairs provided right on the beach, no creaking, a tiki bar, and not much more per night.

I would suggest to the management that they upgrade the amenities to compete.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is on the second floor to avoid hearing your upstairs neighbors every footstep
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank southfloridaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShalimarCottages, Manager at Shalimar Cottages and Motel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Hello, thank you for your feedback – we are happy to take your observations into consideration. Just to provide more detail for other readers: the chairs are Adirondack-type, which are quite commonly used on the beach on Sanibel; we ask guests to return the chairs to two main locations (they are light and easy to carry) in order to protect wildlife on the beach. Especially during sea turtle nesting season (May 1st to October 31st), absolutely no items may be left on the beach. As we are a very small resort, we do not have the staff capacity to put out large chairs that would need to be collected and stored by several staff members every night. The same reason applies to putting out, collecting, and storing umbrellas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

First off, We have been staying here for over 10 years and it is by far one of the best places to stay on Sanibel especially the cottages. The hotel rooms are ALL recently remodeled and beautifully done and trust me they spent some money on these rooms. The cottages are also recently remodeled in bright tropical colors. The owners and staff, especially the manager, take great pride in this place and it shows. We are local and this is our go to place for a Staycation.

OK..Second..To the reviewer that gave them a bad review because of WATER CONDITIONS is a crock of Bull crap ESPECIALLY when they themselves live less than 2 hours away. It is all over the news that we are experiencing a set back with the water being released from Lake Okeechobee and YES it is causing our normally beautiful waters to be murky so that is a disgraceful and lack of education review. I am still trying to grasp how this is Shalimar's fault and how that makes them thieves!! Smh

As for maid service, it is in their pamphlet and at their front desk that it is not offered daily. You can always get whatever you need from the staff and or front desk. Stay at an over priced hotel on the island that lacks the Florida charm if that is what you desire.

The noise I have NEVER experienced and I have stayed all over this property. That does not mean you can hear other guests but maybe try communicating the manager and or owners before jumping ship and leaving such a bad review that can be harmful to an establishment.

NO I am NOT an employee and or relative I am a local business owner who takes great pride in saying this place is awesome and am fed up with spoiled vacationers who think nothing of ruining an establishments reputation through social media and or Trip advisor. Trip advisor is our go to place when we want to stay and or eat anywhere. If I had never stayed at Shalimar and read the recent reviews I would have doubts and that is disheartening considering I know this place first hand.

They recently opened a restaurant next to the hotel and it is amazing.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dolfngrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conway, Arkansas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We booked a last-minute weekend trip on Sanibel, and stayed in the motel at Shalimar for the first time. I had read negative reviews on tripadvisor regarding the noise level from overhead rooms; however, I wasn't overly concerned as our room was on the top floor. We arrived late at night, and the staff was very helpful in ensuring we were able to find and access our rooms at that late hour. The room was very clean and had a MARVELOUS view of the ocean. Although we heard very little noise from our neighbors on the first night, the floor squeaked every time we took a step, and we felt like we couldn't walk without disturbing the guests underneath us. The second night was very different - we could hear our neighbor snoring as though he was in the room with us. My boyfriend had to use earplugs to go to sleep! I think we will try the cottages when we come back. Other than the noise issue, Shalimar was PERFECT. The beach is literally steps away from the motel, and we had fun renting kayaks and shelling. The staff was non-intrusive and very friendly. Visitors should be warned there is no room service provided here - you can exchange your dirty linens for clean at the office.

Room Tip: Stay in a cottage if possible (minimum stay is 5 nights, but they will make exceptions). If you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We cut our off-season visit short by 2 days due to the noise levels in our "Motel" room. Wood framing, wood floors, no noise dampening insulation in the walls or between floors meant that we heard every footfall from the unit above ours, every word from the TV on both sides, every slide of a patio door from all 3 sides, every conversation from adjoining rooms could be heard as clearly as if they were being held in our room. The last straw was the guitar playing "singer" and her band of merry men on the patio last night at 11:30. We finally just packed up and left. Attempts to reach the room next door to us by phone the night before went unanswered because their phone did not ring - believe me, we would have heard it ringing. Calls to the front desk when unanswered and re-routed to the automated attendant.
We contacted the hotel this morning after arriving home to let them know that we left and why - maybe not in the most polite fashion - but we had a net of about 8 hours sleep over the previous 3 nights. The manager was argumentative, stating that he lived on the property and was aware of no such issues. (He obviously doesn't live in the motel!) When we requested a refund for the last 2 nights, he refused stating that we had paid the on-line site we used to book the room - when we mentioned the power of social media, he became indignant. The call did not end well.
This place does not offer daily maid service - you need to go the office to get clean towels, extra toilet paper, or linens. It's not even quaintly "old Florida". We booked here because of its location on the beach for a long weekend getaway. Not being able to sleep made any enjoyment negligible. There are other places on the beach.

Room Tip: Absolutely avoid this property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SuwaneeCard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShalimarCottages, Manager at Shalimar Cottages and Motel, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Hello,
We are very sorry to hear about your experience, though in this case yours was the only complaint we received. The following morning we contacted the guests next door and no one else had problems sleeping or complaints about noise. (All phones worked perfectly, as everyone we called answered, and an inspection of the phones was made shortly afterwards.) The reason you received an automated response it is because the office is open between 8 AM and 9 PM. Also we are wondering, why you did not say anything after the very first sleepless night of your stay. We could relocate you to a different room or talk to a “guitar playing singer”.

If you visit our website, read our brochure, or read reviews about us, you would find out that we do not provide daily maid services, and that fresh linens, towels, toiletries, and other supplies are available at the office daily. Although you said 'there are other places in the beach', many have similar policies; in any case, you chose us, and this is simply the way we operate.


We are willing to work with anyone to solve an issue; yet in this case, you were raising your voice at the manager; there was no need to do this, especially because he instructed you to call the third-party site through which you made the reservation in order to receive a refund (which we are not able to process at our office), though you chose to disregard the manager's advice and instead as you put it ”If you will not refund my money, I will light you up on internet”. It is very sad to see, that trip advisor and other social internet sites are becoming a tool for extortion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooksville, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

My family and I have stayed here repeatedly, and we always find it to be a wonderful experience. We just got back from our last trip, and we had a great time. Because it is an older hotel, Shalimar is built closer to the beach than is now allowed. That makes it one of the most convenient places that I have ever stayed. The rooms are extraordinarily neat and clean. The setting is beautiful, and the people who run the place are all very nice and helpful. If you are looking for a lovely, comfortable place to stay on Sanibel Island then I recommend Shalimar without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FLGirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
2.3 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,185 reviews
4.0 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#13 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Song of the Sea
Song of the Sea
#10 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.9 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,665 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waterside Inn on the Beach
Waterside Inn on the Beach
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shalimar Cottages and Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shalimar Cottages and Motel

Property: Shalimar Cottages and Motel
Address: 2823 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-5701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shalimar Cottages and Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shalimar is an Old Florida-style resort of 33 units located directly on the Gulf of Mexico. Blending in with the natural beauty of the island, Shalimar offers many features without spoiling the natural atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Shalimar Cottages and Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shalimar Cottages Hotel Sanibel Island
Shalimar Hotel Sanibel Island
Shalimar Motel Sanibel Island
Shalimar Cottages And Motel Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing