We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Vacation and Excellent Accomodations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shalimar Cottages and Motel
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Milford, Delaware
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Vacation and Excellent Accomodations”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We have been going to Shalimar for the past 15 years. The staff and management are top notch very accommodating and friendly. We stayed in the motel on the 2nd floor. The furnishings are beautiful and beds are comfortable. This is a very relaxing vacation. Cannot wait to go back again. We would not stay anywhere else. Rates are great compared to other resorts and the motel is practically right on the beach. Shelling is great in front of the motel. We walked 2 miles down the beach and the widest beach was in front of Shalimar. Keep up the good work Shalimar.

Room Tip: We enjoy the 2nd floor of the motel. Great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    98
    24
    19
    12
See reviews for
84
169
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Florida, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This was our first visit to the Shalimar Cottages & Motel and we had a very enjoyable visit. It has an ‘Old Florida’ vibe which is exactly what we were looking for as a quick, long-weekend getaway. We reserved a one-bedroom, gulf view cottage and the inside was exactly as shown in the pictures on their website. We were in Cottage #1 - Seascape which is the closest to the office (and next door to the basketball court – just so you know). I was excited about the idea of relaxing on the screened-in porch, which had a chaise lounge and small table with two chairs, enjoying the view during our daughter’s daily afternoon nap, but you cannot see the water from any vantage point on the porch. You can see the water from inside the cottage in the living area and the bedroom (if you are standing at the window), so I guess it can still be considered “gulf view”, but it was not quite what I expected. If we go back, I would request Cottage #3 which has a nice gulf view from the porch, but is not “gulf front”.

I loved that there was a garden hose attached to the cottage for cleaning our feet (and shells) on a small concrete patio and a back door that goes directly into the bathroom to minimize tracking sand, dirt, etc. into the rest of the cottage. There was also an old-school clothes line behind the cottage to dry swimsuits, towels, or anything else so as not to clutter up the small bathroom. Our one complaint inside the cottage is that the king bed is very firm and the pillows are very soft, so personally we didn’t find sleeping to be very comfortable; although we realize that hotel beds are a tricky thing and it’s difficult to please everyone. Also keep in mind that for short stays there is no cleaning service, so if you need fresh towels or linens, you will need to exchange them at the office between the hours of 8 am – 1 pm. We didn’t find this to be inconvenient; just something you should be aware of if room cleaning is important to you.

There are a limited number of beach chairs for use, so if possible, I would recommend bringing your own (which is what we did). The pool was the perfect temperature and a nice change from playing on the beach or shelling. They provide pool towels, but we went early in the evening and none were available in the bin, so I would recommend taking your beach towel just in case.

The staff was very nice and helpful. We brought our bikes to get around the island, and after unloading them, we discovered that one of them had a flat tire. My husband asked a maintenance person to help put air in a new tire, and he went above and beyond by also replacing the valve stem on the tire which I thought was very nice.

All in all, it was a very nice visit, and if we ever go back to Sanibel Island, we will definitely consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Cottage #1 has a no gulf view from the porch, and is closest to the basketball court. All rooms in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGirl772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frazeysburg, Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We have stayed at Shalimar twice and are going back this September. It has been mid September when we have stayed which couldn't be a nicer time. The beach is very quiet and NO children. The manager and staff are very helpful and kind. We usually stay 3 nights. Yes there is no maid service but that doesn't bother us. I don't mind taking the beautiful walk to the office to exchange linens. The rooms have been recently remodeled with lovely furnishings. We did stay at the motel on the first floor ( would probably choose a second floor room but traveled with elderly parents) and did notice noise from people walking above but it never kept me awake as other reviewers stated. And I never heard tv noise or people's conversations. Yes, when you are on the balcony you may hear other people on a nearby balcony, but I don't see how the owners could avoid this.
The beach is very nice and close to the motel. We saw dolphins swimming by usually twice every day. The pool area is very nice and clean.
The motel room kitchenette is well equipped with dishes and pots/pans. The bathroom could be a little bigger. Other than those small complaints, I love it here and would recommend it to anyone who doesn't need pampered by a fancy resort.
The only complaint I have about Sanibel island is the No-see-ums!!!! They ate me terribly.

Room Tip: Second floor would be less noise and better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShalimarCottages, Manager at Shalimar Cottages and Motel, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Hello Cathy,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback, we appreciate it! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We drove to Sanibel from Miami without any plans or reservations. Just wanted to check it out and boy what a pleasant surprise...the whole island was a wonderful experience. We ended up staying at the Shalimar Cottages and Motel. Since we didn't have a reservation there was only a hotel room available the first night and a cottage came open the second night. Even though the hotel had been remodeled it was not sound proof at all...you can hear every step from above and everything next door. The second night we stayed in a cottage and it was sooo much better. The previous reviewer was right about the chairs they were cheep plastic and not really beach chairs made for the sand but other than that everything else was pretty good. There was lots to do, many places to eat, and lots to see and explore. We will surely go again.

Room Tip: Stay in the cottages not the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShalimarCottages, Manager at Shalimar Cottages and Motel, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Hello Paula,

Thank you for your review! We really appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clermont, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Never mind and disregard the negative reviews here, the Shalimar is an outstanding property on Sanibel Island. Lighten up a little! My family has been coming to Sanibel Island since 2001 and the Shalimar is always our first choice. We've reluctantly stayed in other places on Sanibel but always come back and prefer the Shalimar. It's NOT a fancy 5-star luxurious resort. It IS a quaint and charming property with the best access to the best beach on Sanibel. It's old school Florida charm without the over the top mega resort dynamic (vanilla decor, hyper kids going crazy everywhere, nickel and dime expenses etc...Blech!). The cottages are great for longer stays but the motel efficiencies are just fine for shorter stays. We've stayed in both and it has been great every time. You have direct and easy access to the beach no matter where you are on property. Also, it's an easy drive to the main drag Periwinkle and westward to Captiva. We were even there in 2008 when Hurricane Gustav was in the Gulf and still had an amazing time!

We called very late this year and were thrilled to find out they still had vacancy for Labor Day weekend 2013. They even worked something out for us regarding their minimum stay requirement for the holiday weekend due to another commitment just because we were returning guests and they remembered us! The service has always been excellent and if you are going to complain about a bit of insignificant noise or murky water beyond the management's control, maybe you should rethink your philosophy on vacation! Just chill, relax and enjoy the shells, sunsets and beach. Sanibel Island and the Shalimar will always be a very special place for our family and we LOVE it there! We cherish our memories here and look forward to creating more. My kids have basically grown up going to the Shalimar throughout all the stages of their lives from toddler through college years. We can't wait for our next visit to see our old friend on West Gulf Drive in a few short weeks!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roadtrippers17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShalimarCottages, Manager at Shalimar Cottages and Motel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Hello, thank you for your kind review! We appreciate that you took the time to give us feedback, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miramar, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed at Shalimar about 3 weeks ago. Overall we had a good time. The motel is very close to the beach, which is a nice benefit. The balconies are screened which allowed us to eat on our patio.

However, there are a few cons to this place people should be aware of. First off, if you stay on the first floor and you have anyone above you, you will hear every footstep they take. The ceiling apparently is constructed of a material that i guess creaks and of course this is probably due to the age of the building.

Second, they do provide chairs for the beach, but no umbrellas. Do not expect the chairs to be on the beach as in most resorts. The chairs are not the beach adjustable kind. They are the $10 types you find in Walmart that are not usually used on the beach. You must lug the chairs to the beach and back when you are done.

Like I said - overall we had a good time since we were there for the beach, but for the money, the management could at least provide umbrellas, and actual beach chairs and at least lay them out on the beach for the guests.

By the way - this weekend we stayed at the Holiday Inn - umbrellas along with beach chairs provided right on the beach, no creaking, a tiki bar, and not much more per night.

I would suggest to the management that they upgrade the amenities to compete.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is on the second floor to avoid hearing your upstairs neighbors every footstep
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank southfloridaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShalimarCottages, Manager at Shalimar Cottages and Motel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Hello, thank you for your feedback – we are happy to take your observations into consideration. Just to provide more detail for other readers: the chairs are Adirondack-type, which are quite commonly used on the beach on Sanibel; we ask guests to return the chairs to two main locations (they are light and easy to carry) in order to protect wildlife on the beach. Especially during sea turtle nesting season (May 1st to October 31st), absolutely no items may be left on the beach. As we are a very small resort, we do not have the staff capacity to put out large chairs that would need to be collected and stored by several staff members every night. The same reason applies to putting out, collecting, and storing umbrellas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida, United States
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

First off, We have been staying here for over 10 years and it is by far one of the best places to stay on Sanibel especially the cottages. The hotel rooms are ALL recently remodeled and beautifully done and trust me they spent some money on these rooms. The cottages are also recently remodeled in bright tropical colors. The owners and staff, especially the manager, take great pride in this place and it shows. We are local and this is our go to place for a Staycation.

OK..Second..To the reviewer that gave them a bad review because of WATER CONDITIONS is a crock of Bull crap ESPECIALLY when they themselves live less than 2 hours away. It is all over the news that we are experiencing a set back with the water being released from Lake Okeechobee and YES it is causing our normally beautiful waters to be murky so that is a disgraceful and lack of education review. I am still trying to grasp how this is Shalimar's fault and how that makes them thieves!! Smh

As for maid service, it is in their pamphlet and at their front desk that it is not offered daily. You can always get whatever you need from the staff and or front desk. Stay at an over priced hotel on the island that lacks the Florida charm if that is what you desire.

The noise I have NEVER experienced and I have stayed all over this property. That does not mean you can hear other guests but maybe try communicating the manager and or owners before jumping ship and leaving such a bad review that can be harmful to an establishment.

NO I am NOT an employee and or relative I am a local business owner who takes great pride in saying this place is awesome and am fed up with spoiled vacationers who think nothing of ruining an establishments reputation through social media and or Trip advisor. Trip advisor is our go to place when we want to stay and or eat anywhere. If I had never stayed at Shalimar and read the recent reviews I would have doubts and that is disheartening considering I know this place first hand.

They recently opened a restaurant next to the hotel and it is amazing.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dolfngrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
2.3 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,298 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
268 reviews
4.0 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#2 of 19 in Sanibel Island
378 reviews
0.9 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,779 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#9 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shalimar Cottages and Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shalimar Cottages and Motel

Property: Shalimar Cottages and Motel
Address: 2823 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-5701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shalimar Cottages and Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shalimar is an Old Florida-style resort of 33 units located directly on the Gulf of Mexico. Blending in with the natural beauty of the island, Shalimar offers many features without spoiling the natural atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Shalimar Cottages and Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shalimar Cottages Hotel Sanibel Island
Shalimar Hotel Sanibel Island
Shalimar Motel Sanibel Island
Shalimar Cottages And Motel Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing