We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a family vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shalimar Cottages and Motel
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Canaveral
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place for a family vacation”
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We rented three cottages for Christmas week 2013, and we couldn't be happier. We've been coming to Sanibel or Captiva for almost twenty years and have not had better accommodations. The beach is right outside the door, the swimming pool is centrally located, and the staff is great. We'll be back. Chet, the owner, also owns the Sand Bar restaurant next door, which is very convenient if you don't want to drive somewhere else.

Room Tip: Any of the cottages will be small but adequate. Get as close to the beach as possible--we did and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobandDianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    97
    24
    19
    12
See reviews for
83
165
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed in the hotel part of the property and had a very clean basic room. There is a quite friendly and helpful staff, willing to go above and beyond! Located very close to the beach with very easy access!

Room Tip: If stairs aren't a problem, I would recommend an upstairs hotel room. We were on the bottom and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jylene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apollo Beach
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

This is the only place to stay in Sanibel Captiva. We stayed for a week in June and it was awesome. We decided last minute to do a Saturday Sunday get away for my birthday. I emailed the resort to see if they could accommodate just one night and they did in the motel that's is tge closest rooms to the water in all of Sanibel. What a great room, view, beach, shells, price etc. Well worth the trip!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sunset1517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key Largo
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We have been repeat guests for quite a few years and were pleasantly surprised to find the room decor updated with new carpeting in rooms, and new bedding and furniture. Quite a nice look! The rooms are adequate, beds are comfortable enough and there is a small kitchenette. Baths are small, but adequate. You are not in your room much so who cares? Most importantly, the rooms are clean. The beach access is great and the property has a quiet ambience. My only complaint is that there is no daily maid service and with the amount of sand that tracks in with no way to sweep, it is a mess after a couple days. If you want a flag hotel, forget this place and leave it to the rest of us who like the low key Old Florida feel!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sycamore, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

Loved the old school cottages and motel. The room was clean and fresh! Our balcony had a perfect view of the ocean and unbelievable sunsets!! Great shelling, could of spent hours! Also a must do.... Rent bikes and tour the island. The owners were present and very happy to have us as well as the staff. Can't wait to return with the family

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodiehi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batavia, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2013

I stayed at Shalimar in the motel. It was very clean, seemed newly remodeled, the pool was great, and the amenities were awesome. I would recommend renting bikes and riding all over Sanibel. The best part was being so close to the water. Closer than the other high-rises. It was so quaint and cozy. We also ran into the owners who were so nice and made us feel so welcome. We were able to use their fitness center, Sanibel Health Club. We biked there which was awesome. WE WILL DEFINITELY BE BACK. We checked out the cottages and I think we will be renting one of those next time. Can't wait to sit on the screened in porch at night and listen to the waves.

Room Tip: We stayed in room #12 which had a great view of the beach and sunsets
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunset Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2013

This is a well hidden secret on Sanibel Island. The staff is the greatest, always helpful and very easy to work with. I only wish I could be there for a full month! The most awesome sunsets and sunrises is the world!

Room Tip: Rooms 10and12 are the best. There is no fitness center. Could not unclick rating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Littleman_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
2.3 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,251 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
265 reviews
4.0 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#2 of 19 in Sanibel Island
375 reviews
3.5 mi away
Song of the Sea
Song of the Sea
#9 of 19 in Sanibel Island
684 reviews
0.9 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shalimar Cottages and Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shalimar Cottages and Motel

Property: Shalimar Cottages and Motel
Address: 2823 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-5701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shalimar Cottages and Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shalimar is an Old Florida-style resort of 33 units located directly on the Gulf of Mexico. Blending in with the natural beauty of the island, Shalimar offers many features without spoiling the natural atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Shalimar Cottages and Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shalimar Cottages Hotel Sanibel Island
Shalimar Hotel Sanibel Island
Shalimar Motel Sanibel Island
Shalimar Cottages And Motel Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing