We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best family vacation so far!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waterside Inn on the Beach
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best family vacation so far!”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Waterside Inn is just what my family wants while on our yearly beach getaway. This was our first time to Sanibel Island and we enjoyed every bit of it. Waterside keeps a well maintained place to stay. We stayed in the Pineapple lodge, even though the room was nice I would recommend one of the cute cottages that they offer if you have younger children. Our two year old was so excited that she wouldnt fall asleep unless everyone was out of the room :) Everything is updated but you still get the feel of the old time Florida which is what we look forward to. The beach itself was amazing beautiful shells all over the place. We enjoyed the fishing and there was lots to catch! I would recommended bringing a good spray for no see um's and apply it often in the early morning and at dusk. The critters are bad anywhere you go, but we still had a great time regardless.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank butterfly0811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanibelblondie, Owner at Waterside Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Well, for a First Timer, you seem to had a super time...fishing, shelling, relaxing, pool time. Hey, that's what we're all about! You mentioned the NoSeeUms...that's the tiny pesty bugs that seem to like some people. Next time, try our local repellant called No-NoSeeUm Spray. We sell it at our front desk and it seems to be the best stuff out there to control the biting pests. Thank you again for taking time to write us such a kind review. We appreciate you thinking of us! Please come visit again for a great time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    345
    157
    39
    27
    13
See reviews for
242
194
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ocala, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Sanibel Island is unique in that no big chains are allowed here, so there are lots of little mom and pop places. The Waterside Inn is one of those places. It was easy to find, and we found the staff both friendly and accomodating. It was great being able to see the waves from the balcony of our second floor room in the Pineapple Lodge. There were tons and tons of big shells on the beach and even though this was a summer weekend, the beach was not crowded. The rooms have the throwback feel, like you should be out doing things with your family and not sit in front of the TV or on your cell phone all the time. We put up beach chairs under the tiki hut and stayed there in the shade most of the day, with occasional short walks along the beach. You are on your own for food here, and it is wise to buy it at the Publix before you come over the $6 bridge to the island. Beds were very comfy, towels were thick, and we had a great time doing nothing here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanibelblondie, Owner at Waterside Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Thank you Ken for taking the time to review our little slice of paradise. You and your wife were the perfect Guests and seem to really enjoy our location and beachside rooms. The Tiki hut is a great place to catch up on some zzz's while listening to the lapping water and birds of the Gulf of Mexico. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermitage, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2013

My husband and I visited from June 11-16th and stayed in pineapple 128. The room was clean and inviting. The views were the best on the island just a few steps from the ocean. We watched every sunrise and sunset. The staff was so friendly and helpful. The kitchen was perfect for lunches and dinners everything was at your finger tips. The pool was the perfect way to take a break from the ocean and just have great conversations with all of the other guests. Most of which have been returning for years. We are so thrilled we found this piece of heaven and will be joining the loyal regulars next summer and for years to come.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusantheOceanGoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanibelblondie, Owner at Waterside Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
We appreciate your kind review of Waterside Inn on the Beach. We are so happy that you have joined our "family" of Guests that come every year. If we can do anything to make your stay more complete, just give us a call - we aim to please!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carrollton, Ky
Level Contributor
353 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

This place was just what we were looking for in a beachfront location. Small, colorful little houses/units for families or couples with plenty of room inside. The setting is on the beach, steps away from the Gulf. We could sit on our deck or by our huge window, watching a storm whip up whitecaps on the water. We picked our unit specifically for that view. When the storm passed, out came the sun & out everyone went looking for the wonderful shells again. Would definitely stay here again. Our unit had a small, nice kitchen & king room was very large. Outdoor hose & shower available and a wooden table for washing all those shells. There was a pool for those not wanting in the ocean. Available lounge chairs for sitting under the palm trees or dragging out to the beach (just bring them back!!). Not unlike the little waterside units from my childhood.Very peaceful environment. If you want a nice sterile condo, don't stay here.

Room Tip: Just look for the rooms that say "ocean front". I looked at the photos of the Inn, looked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTravelers1218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanibelblondie, Owner at Waterside Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
What a great description of our Gulf Front Cottage. Thank you for such a nice review. I'm sure this will be a help for all those Guests trying to make a decision on which unit to choose. So happy you had a great time and hope your travels home were safe. Come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013 via mobile

Myself and my wife stayed in the island inn for one night this month to celebrate our 1st year anniversary and we found this hotel to be so nice, location was amazing, beach was beautiful, staff were friendly and the hotel even gave us complimentary champagne and glasses with a card congratulating us on our occasion.
Many thanks for a great stay.
Mr and mrs Forbes (Scotland)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Forbo1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanibelblondie, Owner at Waterside Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Thanks for the review! Glad you had a wonderful time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

I had visited this place once before I decided to have my wedding there and I just love it! It's absolutely beautiful and has that casual tropical relaxed feel that is just what I was looking for for my wedding. The staff was extremely helpful through the whole planning process and wonderful the whole week we were there before the wedding and during. I really couldn't have chosen a better location. It's not one of those big fancy hotels, but you will feel like you are in a tropical paradise with cute cottages, beautiful water and many flowing palm trees.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy1813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanibelblondie, Owner at Waterside Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Thank you so much Amy for that great review. Your wedding was beautiful and we were so happy that you had great weather and a super time. Now you need to plan your one year anniversary trip back to Waterside!!! Thank you for being such a great group of Guests!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Love the location! Literally, right by the beach and so convenient with kids. It's a basic cottage, but liked that we had our own little place w/ a kitchen & separate bedroom (versus a hotel room, etc.). Wish they would have cleaned a bit more thoroughly before our check-in...I never put my 14 month old down on the floor because walking around in barefoot, our feets were visibly dirty.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
2 Thank chicagokims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanibelblondie, Owner at Waterside Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Thank you for leaving your comments on Trip Advisor. We’re so pleased that you enjoyed your beach view cottage. Each of our cottages has a terrazzo floor which is great for sandy feet because it’s easy to clean, but not so good for children crawling around. A carpeted floor might have been better for you and your child. Next time you might want to check our Pineapple Lodge rooms which are carpeted and have a great view of the Gulf. We have them as Efficiencies or as Guest Rooms. There are two that directly face the Gulf and have a beautiful picture window so you won’t miss a thing at the beach! We hope you will choose us again for your vacation destination.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
2.7 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,185 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
4.3 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#12 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,670 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#8 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterside Inn on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterside Inn on the Beach

Property: Waterside Inn on the Beach
Address: 3033 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-5609
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Waterside Inn on the Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you searching for that true Olde Florida charm and style? Look no further than Waterside Inn! You?re just steps away from the beautiful beaches of Sanibel. Amenities include a heated pool, beach loungers, on-site bike rentals, and BBQ grills. Come to relax and unwind in one of our small inns or cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Waterside Inn on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterside Inn On The Beach Hotel Sanibel Island
Waterside Hotel Sanibel Island
Waterside Resort Sanibel Island
Waterside Inn On The Beach Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing