We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay in a ground unit if there is a chance of rain.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waterside Inn on the Beach
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I normally like to write good reviews but this place needs some attention. We booked this room because they accepted our dog for an additional fee. Two of the days we were there it rained and the entire grounds surrounding our room flooded. The water was 3 inches high into the screened in patio up to the front door. On the last day of our vacation we were stuck in our room for around 5 hours until the water subsided. Around noon we called to request fresh linen because of all the mud we tracked into the room from the front patio. I went to the office once the water went down to confirm that someone from housekeeping would be bringing fresh linen. One of the staff members in the office told me they were gone for the day wanted to argue with me about why the cleaning crew never came even though we called earlier specifically for them. He then proceded to justify the flooding by stating the Waterside Inn is older and people stay here for its "quaintness." He was annoyed that I even mentioned that they should warn guests before booking about the flooding problem on the ground units. When I asked him for his name he didn' t want to provide it because he was worried I would "post it all over the internet." Once I asked for the manager (who wasn't working until the next day) he gave me a name. The lady at the desk was friendly and understanding and even offered to reduce our rate (which only ended up being around 20 dollars off our total bill). We had family and friends stay in several different hotels on Sanibel at the same time and none of them had an issue with flooding. They definitely didn't encounter a rude and argumentative staff member. I would not recommend staying here and will not be returning. There are too many other beautiful places to stay on Sanibel that don't have any of these problems.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
10  Thank FireF24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanibelblondie, Owner at Waterside Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. I have to say that I disagree with a lot of what you wrote. First let me mention that during the timeframe that you stayed here at Waterside Inn, we (Ft. Myers and Sanibel) had a record amount of rain for 7 consecutive days. We were featured on the News and had flooding in most of Lee County. With that being said, our maintenance crew gave constant attention to draining the water from our property. We had numerous pumps in operation, but unfortunately, with that much rain, there was no where for the water to drain to while it was pouring down. All culverts were full and in fact the roads on Sanibel were very close to flooding. I think it is very unfair of you for not understanding the unusual rainfall we experienced while you were here. I would also like to point out that once the rain let up, the water steadily drained off our property. As much as we would like to, we cannot control the weather.
In reference to your request of fresh linens, it was noted and Housekeeping was sent to your room to deliver them to you. The maids encountered a “Do Not Disturb” sign on the door so they came to the office and informed us that no linens were delivered. We then tried calling your unit, but we received no answer. Because you had 2 dogs in the room, the maids did not enter. At around 5pm you came to our office and requested linens again. We then gave them to you. At that time you were noticeably perturbed with the flooding and lack of linens and service. We tried our best to reassure you that we were doing all we could, but your attitude still remained hostile and argumentative. Once again, I would like to apologize to you for the weather and the tremendous amount of rain that we received during your stay. I would also note that we take our Guest privacy very seriously. In the future, if you want linen service, please do not put the Do Not Disturb sign up unless you really mean it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (604)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

363 - 369 of 604 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2013

We loved out first trip to Sanibel with our two girls, ages 14 & 11. The shelling opportunities exceeded our expectations. Waterside Inn gave us great access to the beach, which was fairly quiet, had plenty of room to swim, boogie board or fish right off the shore. We had a view of the ocean from our room #124 in the pineapple lodge from both doors: one on the veranda and the other out the front door. We had a kitchen and bathroom that were recently remodeled as well. There is a pool in the middle of the property, which was a nice temperature and secluded enough with landscaping all around. They have bikes available to rent and we made great use of the trails which we could access right in front of the hotel. Ding Darling Refuge was easy to access and other stores and restaurants were close by as well. Overall we had a great experience! The service was excellent also, very friendly staff. We would definitely come back!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BadgerFANforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanibelblondie, Owner at Waterside Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Thank you for choosing Waterside Inn and Sanibel Island for your family vacation. I love it when new visitors find our charming property and updated amenities to their liking. Yes, Sanibel is a great place for families and there is so much to do I'm glad you got to experience Sanibel's world class shelling, miles of dedicated bike paths, and our excellent customer service. Hope your travels home were safe and and I look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

This is the place to stay. The beach is only a few yards away and there are millions of shells. The rooms are clean and large. The staff is very friendly. There really is no need to pay and park to go to another beach. This place has it all. If you plan on eatting out, most places are 15 min away and there is usually a line. We are going back with the entire family!!!

Room Tip: Get a room with a kitchen so you can eat when you want. Most restaurants are at least 15 min away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stl2570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanibelblondie, Owner at Waterside Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Thank you for leaving your remarks on Trip Advisor. We appreciate you sharing your opinion of Waterside Inn on the Beach. So glad you had a super time on our beach and surrounding property. We hope you had a safe trip home and come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

My wife took me to Sanibel for my 50th Birthday,
We stayed in Pineapple 128, which had a direct view of the Gulf. We even had a balcony where we sat in the mornings with our cup of coffee.
The room had a FULL kitchen, King size bed, double vanity bathroom.
We took the very short walk to the Gulf to do some Shelling along the beach, the amount of
shells are just incredible.
Waterside Inn is located close enough to " Down Town Sanibel " where all the shops and restaurants are located.
You ask yourself, how nice is this Motel? Would I come back? The answer is YES..
In fact my wife is going back this weekend with her cousins & sister AND we are planning to stay here again in December.
Justin at the front desk will be seeing a lot of us :-)

Room Tip: If you can book early enough, book Pineapple 128 or Pineapple 121 Those room have the direct view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spiderman-is-back
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanibelblondie, Owner at Waterside Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Hey there Spiderman! We are so happy that you had a great 50th Birthday here at Waterside Inn. Sounds like you had a very beachy time too! We appreciate your review and look forward to seeing more of you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

many moons ago, i brought my children here. Formerly the Snook Motel...the waterside has lovingly improved a great secluded spot. the staff was friendly and accommodating, the beach beautiful and practically private. It's clean, quiet, and a hop and a skip from groceries and restaurants without being in their midst. we'll be back again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leeesadouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanibelblondie, Owner at Waterside Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

So happy you were able to find us again after so many years. We still get lots of guests that were past customers of the Snook Inn. Thank you for the compliments and hopefully you little visit brought back many happy memories. Now that you found us, come back soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

My boyfriend and I just checked out of the Waterside Inn and we were so sad to leave! We stayed in Pineapple 121- had a direct gulf view, balcony looking out to the grounds & the gulf, comfy king sized bed, double vanity bathroom with shower & bath, and a fully equipped kitchen with all the utensils/pots & pans needed to make a full meal! We loved being steps from the beach and the convenience of quickly coming back up to the room if we needed food, drink, bathroom, etc. Waking up to a view of the gulf to get you excited for a beach day didn't hurt either. The pool on site was small, but perfect for a break from the sun & salt water. The staff were very accommodating- got us into our room early (11AM!!) upon arrival and let us use their shower cottage right before leaving in the early evening. The Inn is located in an ideal spot on Sanibel. Short drive to Periwinkle Way and about fifteen minutes to Captiva. All in all, the gulf view room was worth the extra money because what you get in atmosphere is worth eating in a couple of nights if you're tight on cash. Will most definitely return!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank canegrl829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanibelblondie, Owner at Waterside Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2013

Thank your for sharing your experience with us. It sounds like our facilities and accommodations were a perfect fit for your needs. I'm so glad you enjoyed your beachfront Pineapple Lodge efficiency. You brought up a great point about eating in your room. Sanibel has only a few true beachfront restaurants. With this beachfront unit you have the perfect window seat with the best view in the house!! Not to mention the great food you can fix. We hope we can see you again soon....and we'll provide the beachside table!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Waterside Inn is just what my family wants while on our yearly beach getaway. This was our first time to Sanibel Island and we enjoyed every bit of it. Waterside keeps a well maintained place to stay. We stayed in the Pineapple lodge, even though the room was nice I would recommend one of the cute cottages that they offer if you have younger children. Our two year old was so excited that she wouldnt fall asleep unless everyone was out of the room :) Everything is updated but you still get the feel of the old time Florida which is what we look forward to. The beach itself was amazing beautiful shells all over the place. We enjoyed the fishing and there was lots to catch! I would recommended bringing a good spray for no see um's and apply it often in the early morning and at dusk. The critters are bad anywhere you go, but we still had a great time regardless.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank butterfly0811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanibelblondie, Owner at Waterside Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2013

Well, for a First Timer, you seem to had a super time...fishing, shelling, relaxing, pool time. Hey, that's what we're all about! You mentioned the NoSeeUms...that's the tiny pesty bugs that seem to like some people. Next time, try our local repellant called No-NoSeeUm Spray. We sell it at our front desk and it seems to be the best stuff out there to control the biting pests. Thank you again for taking time to write us such a kind review. We appreciate you thinking of us! Please come visit again for a great time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
2.7 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 20 in Sanibel Island
2,389 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 20 in Sanibel Island
291 reviews
8.3 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 20 in Sanibel Island
696 reviews
0.5 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 20 in Sanibel Island
1,882 reviews
6.6 mi away
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
#8 of 20 in Sanibel Island
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterside Inn on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterside Inn on the Beach

Address: 3033 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-5609
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sanibel Island
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range: £106 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Waterside Inn on the Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you searching for that true Olde Florida charm and style? Look no further than Waterside Inn! You?re just steps away from the beautiful beaches of Sanibel. Amenities include a heated pool, beach loungers, on-site bike rentals, and BBQ grills. Come to relax and unwind in one of our small inns or cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Waterside Inn on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterside Inn On The Beach Hotel Sanibel Island
Waterside Hotel Sanibel Island
Waterside Resort Sanibel Island
Waterside Inn On The Beach Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing