We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back again (October 2013)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Waterside Inn on the Beach
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We were her back in 2004 the last time and decided to visit again. This place is located directly on the beach which is really nice. Our room was really nice with a small balcony where we could sit in the evenings, the staff was really nice and helpful. Overall we really like this place, the only thing was that it became very dark in the evenings which we believe is because of the protection lighting for the nesting turtles on the beach.

We can definitely see us returning to this place in the future again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EoCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanibelblondie, Owner at Waterside Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Now what took you so long to return? Ten years is WAY too long to be away. Hopefully your next vist here will be sooner!

To answer your question about the darkness...yes, Sanibel is has adopted a "Dark Skies" ordinance. The purpose of the law is to protect the natural beauty of Sanibel's night skies as well as the habitat for nocturnal and crepuscular species, particularly sea turtles during nesting season. It's purpose is to minimize light pollution by eliminating lights that cause a cumulative sky glow, reflect light directly up into the sky or cast light over the open waters of the Gulf and Bay thereby making the stars and moon less visible.

Sea turtles that lay their eggs on Sanibel's beaches rely on the moon for guidance to and from the water. Excess light may discourage nesting turtles or result in the disorientation of hatchlings.

This is just one more thing that makes Sanibel Island such a great place to visit. Where else can you vacation and have sea turtles lumber up the beach to lay their eggs. Quite amazing!
Hopefully you can experience this on your next visit here to The Waterside Inn on the Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (610)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

333 - 339 of 610 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

Old Florida charm....... modern, updated convenience. Quiet, secluded and yet on the beach and a great place for families. Overall, it is a perfect combination, in a perfect location, making for a perfect vacation.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pamelaandrosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanibelblondie, Owner at Waterside Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments about The Waterside Inn. So happy you had a great experience here at our little island paradise. Visit again when you need that one of a kind stress free vacation spot.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Stayed at Breakers Condos A4 for just one night before flying home. Condo was clean, roomy, tiling in kitchen and living room, the king size bed very comfortable and the unit full of interesting décor. Equipped with everything one would need for a longer stay. Only problem, the bathroom off master bedroom has seen better days - there was rust in the tub and dingy lighting. Luckily there was a bright shower stall off the second bedroom. Check in was easy and friendly. Beachfront? Well it's Sanibel -beach extraordinaire, magnificent sunset. Lounge chairs were clean and plentiful. Inn has an old florida feel, peaceful grounds and located a short drive from Periwinkle shops and restaurants. Nice.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank narrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanibelblondie, Owner at Waterside Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor. Although you enjoyed your stay and our property, I regret that the Breakers West unit you stayed in had some issues. As you know, these are privately owned units that we manage. The owners try to keep them nicely furnished and up to date but sometimes they cannot do all the updating in one season. This Owner is very good at keeping his unit in great condition and I will forward your comments to him. We hope your travels home were safe and you are able to return to the Waterside Inn soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

If you want to stay at a soulless resort with all the amenities, this place is not for you. If you want a wonderful few days at a relaxed, friendly 1950s style hotel right on the beach, this is your place. We stayed in Pineapple (the small "hotel" part of the complex, as opposed to the cottages, which were all booked by the time we made reservations), and it was great. Nice balcony, efficient, new kitchen, gas grill (so you can take advantage of the wonderful seafood available in Florida, but avoid the islands MANY comically bad restaurants), and a sixty-second walk to the beach. The beach by the hotel is spectacular and is the best shelling beach and birding beach we found. The staff is very nice and really helpful, and let us take showers and keep a beach umbrella many hours after checkout time on our last day. During our stay, every time we left the Waterside Inn, and drove by Sanibel's all-to-common resort-style places, we thanked our lucky stars we stayed where we did. A couple of suggestions. For groceries go to Bailey's not Jerries. Avoid Periwinkle (one of the main drags) like the plague. It has the traffic jam from hell 12 hours a day. Go to Bowman's Beach. Spectacularly beautiful!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 81RLF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanibelblondie, Owner at Waterside Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

OMG! Many thanks for that fantastic review! We try so hard to make everyone's stay here a great one and it sounds like we succeeded with you. You really hit the nail on the head as to what we are all about...I love your description of our competitors: "soulless". Our staff has such big hearts and they love our property as much as our Guests. We really try to make everyone’s stay here like what WE would expect on OUR vacations. Thanks for the tips too...yeah, traffic is quite heavy during season and you really have to plan what times you are out and about on Periwinkle Way, that's why biking is so popular here. You can bike just about anywhere to do just about anything on our small island. We truly appreciate all your kind words and are looking forward to your return visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed in Pineapple 123 for 4 nights. The view from the balcony is lovely, it is only steps to the beach, and you can listen to the ocean while you sleep-- exactly what we were looking for! The staff was very friendly, and you can rent bikes at the front desk (highly recommended, it's the best way to get around the island). We had a relaxing, wonderful time and will definitely be back!

Room Tip: great views from all 2nd floor rooms in the Pineapple Lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nerobb12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanibelblondie, Owner at Waterside Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience here at the Waterside Inn on the Beach. We're so pleased that we could help you have that perfect vacation with the perfect view. We look forward to many more visits from you. Thank you once again for choosing us for your vacation destination.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We have stayed at the Waterside Inn many times and loved it. Nothing fancy, but clean and on the beach. However, they have changed their smoking policy. You can no longer smoke outside on your deck; you must go at least 15 feet away from any building. Also, we were there for 3 nites, and the internet was down the whole time. Doubt if we go back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank justsueNewark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanibelblondie, Owner at Waterside Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you for your review of your recent stay here at the Waterside Inn on the Beach. We are sorry that your smoking habit has caused you to no longer stay at our resort. This day and age, there are numerous establishments that require that you stand 15-25 feet away from any building while smoking in order to minimize exposure to second hand smoke and to ensure compliance with State Laws. We do this to protect and enhance our indoor as well as our outdoor air quality and to contribute to the health and well-being of our guests and employees. We certainly understand that some of our guests still enjoy smoking. We simply ask that you step 15 feet away from any building that is occupied so that children and non-smokers health will not be in jeopardy.

As far as the internet is concerned, we live on a very busy island. At times when our population is up, the internet may be at a snails pace. While you were here, the problem was not only with our hardware (which we fixed promptly), but also with our carrier; Comcast. The entire Island was out of service for an entire day (but we were not). While we usually have excellent coverage, the days you were here, we had spotty reception. We were never without internet for the whole day and as you know, you can always get signal here at our office if you needed to take care of something on your vacation.

I regret that you will not be returning here to enjoy our beautiful property and accommodations. Hopefully you won’t find this policy too hard to comply with and return for another great vacation in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Breakers B7 corner condo with 2 bedrooms and 2 baths was a good choice for us and another couple. Quiet and clean, nice screened in balcony. A few hundred years from the beach. Short ride by car or bikes to restaurants, kayaking, and nature preserve. Appreciated the Friday night happy hour, great for viewing the sunset! Heated pool and rental bikes available on site ( although we opted to rent more upscale bikes 10 minutes away).

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Car0l12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanibelblondie, Owner at Waterside Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

We were so happy that you were able to come to our Friday night Sunset Party. I remember meeting you and thank you for your review of B-7. That is such a beautiful unit and I know you had a wonderful time staying there. Hopefully you’ll be back here before you know it! We’ll be looking for you :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
3.1 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
304 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,447 reviews
4.4 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,956 reviews
6.6 mi away
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
#10 of 19 in Sanibel Island
522 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#9 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterside Inn on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterside Inn on the Beach

Address: 3033 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-5609
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range: £107 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Waterside Inn on the Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you searching for that true Olde Florida charm and style? Look no further than Waterside Inn! You?re just steps away from the beautiful beaches of Sanibel. Amenities include a heated pool, beach loungers, on-site bike rentals, and BBQ grills. Come to relax and unwind in one of our small inns or cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Waterside Inn on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterside Inn On The Beach Hotel Sanibel Island
Waterside Hotel Sanibel Island
Waterside Resort Sanibel Island
Waterside Inn On The Beach Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing