We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Accommodations on the Beach!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Waterside Inn on the Beach
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed in Pineapple 128 with a great view of the beach & ocean on the second floor. The room was very comfortable & clean. We had the windows open at night so we could hear the waves on the beach. The pool was relaxing when we wanted to get out of the wind on the beach. On Friday evening the staff hosted a light snack & drink reception near the beach. I would return.

Room Tip: Pineapple 128 is the best room at this location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BiggPapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanibelblondie, Owner at Waterside Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Ahh, Pineapple 128 is such a gorgeous unit. Isn't it wonderful waking up to the sounds of the surf and shore birds? And the view is to die for! So glad you were able to experience this beachfront gem as well as our quiet, laid-back island paradise. Thank you kindly for taking the time to leave a wonderful review on Trip Advisor as well. We look forward to your return .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (616)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

334 - 340 of 616 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

This was our second visit to the Waterside Inn...as we loved it so so much last year. We came with very high expectations of the perfect beach holiday and it didn't disappoint this year again.
We stayed in the Blueberry 112 in April of this year and we loved the extra space and balcony area that allowed us beautiful views of the grounds and sea.
We hired a tandem this year directly from the Inn which mean't we could travel over a bit more of the island before my 7 year old daughters legs began to tire and she could just ride along on the back (which was more often that not, the little lazy bones!).
Listen, if you're looking for a laid back beach holiday in really great location for all of the Islands attractions, then the Waterside Inn won't disappoint. We're very much hoping to make it an annual family memory maker!
Blueberry 112 feels slightly bigger, sleeping up to c.6..so for the 3 of us it felt really spacious with a great kitchen area....also we didn't hear any internal noise from our neighbours which means the walls must be pretty thick too. External balcony area had tables, chairs and a lounger with great views. The internals to the property were spotless, which with the beach location must be quite a feat!
Simply superb...see you next year!
Paul, Jacqueline and Jenna. XX

Room Tip: Although furthest from the sea, Blueberry 112 feels bigger, quieter and is still only c.100m from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TiliScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanibelblondie, Owner at Waterside Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Hey Guys! Sounds like we can chalk up another great stay at the Waterside Inn on the Beach! I love hearing back from everyone that has experienced our unique laid back piece of heaven. Yes, it's actually heaven right here on Sanibel. I'm glad you tried out the Blueberry Cottage this year. I have to admit, it's our staff's favorite unit (besides the Gulf Front Mango and Lime). The views from the porch are breathtaking and the extra room in the cottage is an added plus even though the price is the same as the other Gulf View Cottages. Glad you had a super time and until next year....Happy Sunsets and Moonlit Memories!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This small vintage Inn nestled on the beach is like the old days of Florida. We parked our car on the sand next to our screen door of our cottage. We also brought our 2 poodles. We LOVE this place even though its a vintage older style type of accommdation. Its only 5 min. from the Ding Darling Wildlife Refuge which offers great photography early mornings at low tide. Waterside is located on west gulf drive and away from all the traffic of Periwinkle way. Along with our dogs we bring our bikes and park them right outside our cottage. Sunsets are amazing and the owners are local folks that are just darling. You will make lots of friends here as many people return year after year!

Room Tip: Beach front Mango cottage is our very favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanibelblondie, Owner at Waterside Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thanks Kathy for a great review. For everyone reading this, Kathy is an excellent photographer that visits here often. You can see some of her pictures on our Facebook site as well as this site. She loves nature at it's best and we're proud to have her as our Guest year after year. If you love nature, bike rides, photography, and relaxing, this is the place for you. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We actually stayed here April 07, but made reservations to go back this June. This place left such a beautiful, peaceful feeling with us, we decided to return. We are not able to take many vacations, so they are rare and precious to us. After looking at many possibilities, we chose to return to Waterside. We stayed in a cozy little well equipped cottage..(Kiwi) where you walk out your door and your toes are in the sand.. then, walk under the canopy of palm trees to the beach, just steps away... take your coffee on the beach, watch the amazing wildlife along the shore.. applaud the sunset with others up and down the beach in the evening... and what can I say about the seashells?? WOW.. I felt like a kid finding such treasures... so many beautiful, colorful shells.. We only stayed four days.. this time we have 6. Hoping to discover more about the area, see and do more. Green Flash on Captiva was our favorite dining experience! Waterside also has a lodge, with nice rooms and great views, directly on the beach, beautiful condos, and two pools. The overall, serene, cozy feeling of this place made us feel far away from all our troubles.. and well recharged when we left. Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Stop at Jerry's groceries for supplies and snacks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam8387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanibelblondie, Owner at Waterside Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for the review of your recent stay here at the Waterside Inn on the Beach. We are so glad you enjoyed your vacation and all we have to offer. Our main goal is to bring you back again and again, and it looks like we succeeded. We look forward to seeing you again next year and hopefully many years to come. Once again, thanks for the kind words and returning to our tropical laid-back piece of paradise for your special vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We are not an easy to please couple; we own a beachfront property, which is it's own slice of heaven. We piggybacked on friends' vacation and stayed a happy week here the last week of March. We stayed in Grapefruit 108, one of the one bedroom cottages, while our friends stayed on the second floor of Pineapple. It's an adorable 1960s style cottage, spacious for the two of us, with a generous living/kitchen area and an ample bedroom. It was comfortable for the four of us to dine and socialize after dinner. The kitchen was well appointed, with a full size fridge and a ceramic stovetop and oven. The bedroom contains a long dresser and a double closet. Combined with a second hall closet, the unit offers plenty of storage for clothes and beach gear. The bathroom is tiny. Just the basics here. The unit has a small screened porch, which we used for storing sandy shoes and a burgeoning shell collection. Trash is removed and towels exchanged daily by the housekeeping service. The housekeepers only clean the cottages weekly, but they were happy to supply a broom and household cleaners for us to tidy up on our own. The only negative about this unit is the noisy air conditioner from the cottage next door, which is much smaller and not so well ventilated (we never needed our a/c, which is central in the Grapefruit units).

Our unit was very clean. No musty or moldy smell, which we know from experience is difficult to achieve in a beachfront property. Small pets are allowed, but there was no detectable pet odor or dander (we are both allergic). The staff were friendly. They are strict about their check in time, though; one of us arrived quite ill, but we were still unable to enter our unit until 3:00.

Parking adjoins the unit. The pool is a few steps away, enclosed by plantings that cut down on noise. The pool was quite warm - 80 or 85 degrees I would guess. The beach is a short walk. A limited supply of lawn chairs is available, and some people chose to bring or rent their own from Finnimore's. Beach umbrellas and bikes can be rented from the front office. Bailey's grocery store is a short bike ride away, although W Gulf is a busy road. Waterside is in a quiet area of the island, and we found a car necessary for getting around to restaurants, shopping, etc.

This is the perfect beach for shell collectors. There are piles of shells here, at least this time of year. You can plunk yourself down and dig through ten inches of them. We went on a chartered boat ride to a "shelling" island, but found nothing there we didn't find right in front of our hotel. Conchs, whelks, augers, oysters, clams, lady slippers, angel wings, olives, scallops, all right there. Even if you THINK you are not interested in shells, you will be after you stay here. Wow. In addition, we saw manatee, dolphin, pelicans, osprey and bald eagles while sitting in our lounge chairs. Every day. Bring binoculars.

This is definitely a family kind of place. People come here year after year. Grandparents pushing babies in strollers, etc. The kids were uniformly well-behaved, and the grounds were quiet after dark. We are a lesbian couple, and felt welcomed here. We already have our reservation for next year.

Room Tip: Two units on the top floor, beach end of Pineapple have great ocean view and breezes. 101 and 102 a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanibelblondie, Owner at Waterside Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

What a fantastic review. Sounds like you really experienced the "flavor" of our laid back resort. It's definitely got tons of charm and plenty of great Guests that visit year after year to experience “Island Style" at its best. We're hoping to add you both to that long growing list. We appreciate all your kind words and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We were her back in 2004 the last time and decided to visit again. This place is located directly on the beach which is really nice. Our room was really nice with a small balcony where we could sit in the evenings, the staff was really nice and helpful. Overall we really like this place, the only thing was that it became very dark in the evenings which we believe is because of the protection lighting for the nesting turtles on the beach.

We can definitely see us returning to this place in the future again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EoCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanibelblondie, Owner at Waterside Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Now what took you so long to return? Ten years is WAY too long to be away. Hopefully your next vist here will be sooner!

To answer your question about the darkness...yes, Sanibel is has adopted a "Dark Skies" ordinance. The purpose of the law is to protect the natural beauty of Sanibel's night skies as well as the habitat for nocturnal and crepuscular species, particularly sea turtles during nesting season. It's purpose is to minimize light pollution by eliminating lights that cause a cumulative sky glow, reflect light directly up into the sky or cast light over the open waters of the Gulf and Bay thereby making the stars and moon less visible.

Sea turtles that lay their eggs on Sanibel's beaches rely on the moon for guidance to and from the water. Excess light may discourage nesting turtles or result in the disorientation of hatchlings.

This is just one more thing that makes Sanibel Island such a great place to visit. Where else can you vacation and have sea turtles lumber up the beach to lay their eggs. Quite amazing!
Hopefully you can experience this on your next visit here to The Waterside Inn on the Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Old Florida charm....... modern, updated convenience. Quiet, secluded and yet on the beach and a great place for families. Overall, it is a perfect combination, in a perfect location, making for a perfect vacation.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pamelaandrosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanibelblondie, Owner at Waterside Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments about The Waterside Inn. So happy you had a great experience here at our little island paradise. Visit again when you need that one of a kind stress free vacation spot.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
3.1 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 20 in Sanibel Island
313 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 20 in Sanibel Island
2,503 reviews
3.2 mi away
Anchor Inn & Cottages
Anchor Inn & Cottages
#19 of 20 in Sanibel Island
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#10 of 20 in Sanibel Island
714 reviews
0.5 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 20 in Sanibel Island
2,017 reviews
6.6 mi away
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
#11 of 20 in Sanibel Island
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterside Inn on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterside Inn on the Beach

Address: 3033 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-5609
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range: £126 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Waterside Inn on the Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you searching for that true Olde Florida charm and style? Look no further than Waterside Inn! You?re just steps away from the beautiful beaches of Sanibel. Amenities include a heated pool, beach loungers, on-site bike rentals, and BBQ grills. Come to relax and unwind in one of our small inns or cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Waterside Inn on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterside Inn On The Beach Hotel Sanibel Island
Waterside Hotel Sanibel Island
Waterside Resort Sanibel Island
Waterside Inn On The Beach Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing