We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the waterside-excellent-clean-quiet-romantic-stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waterside Inn on the Beach
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Loved the waterside-excellent-clean-quiet-romantic-stay here”
Reviewed 18 March 2006

I did research for weeks on line and this place was my choice, it was perfect, you must stay here, we stayed in a cottage the yellow pineapple it had a screened in porch, which was perfect for keeping all of our sandy beach towels, shoes, they have a place to hang up wet towels. You park right next to your door, a step to your car! It was the best, no waiting for elevators! As we opened the door the room was huge, sofa-chair-wicker very tastefully decorated, a kitchen with a table, fully equipped, the bedroom was large with a king size bed- the mattress was not great had a lumpy spot but, that was the only complaint better than our previous mattress at fort myers beach it was hard as a rock, so this one was better. It was nice we paid $203 I believe. We were only staying 3 nights and driving back to tampa airport to catch our flight but we decided to stay at the waterside another night instead of driving to tampa for a room, we just got up early that morning at 5:00 to catch our 11:00 flight, since we loved the place but, we did have to move to another cottage next door our last night. I will go back. We stayed at fort myers beach our first four nights at the best western on the beach, it was nice, the beach sand was like powdered sugar and very busy with alot of action and music, and all of the young spring breakers alot of night life-bands playing-people everywhere it was great but, we wanted to split our trip up and we both liked the waterside better if we had to pick of the two. They have free chairs which were great because at the best western we had to pay 20.00 a day to rent them, which was a rip! We really appreciated the free chairs. Can't wait to go back to the waterside, take my advice and don't hesitate to stay in a cottage. Our last night was in the green kiwi, it was all in one room and it would have been ok our entire stay, it was less money and fine. Enjoy your stay at the waterside. High school principal and wife in Iowa

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Raven2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    162
    39
    27
    14
See reviews for
251
200
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Waterside Inn on the Beach from 1/12 for thru 1/15/06. We stayed in the Mango cottage # 102. It was a perfect location for a cottage. Right on the beach....a view of the gulf from our front window and a view of the sunset everynight from our couch or our screened in porch. The staff was wonderful and we loved our cottage. Clean, comfortable and for the earlier review about the rough sheets...well, they were just fine, not rough at all(although a newer bedspread would be nice):). The kitchen was a great plus, and the refrigerator was not rusty as was stated in a previous review. Yes, the bathroom was small, but clean, and fresh towels were supplied every morning. The Friday night sunset get together was very nice. We will definetly be back and hopefully staying at the same cottage. However, we would be happy trying some of the other cottages or their efficiency units.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank mattandleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 26 January 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Waterside 1/13-1/17. It was our second visit and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. When we checked in, the staff told us about the sunset cocktail get together that evening which was a nice way to meet other guests and the staff of the inn. The staff were all very accomodating, our room cleaned early each day and the beach was wonderful. We love the location on the west end of the island. We ate at Doc Ford's, Gramma Dots and had pizza delivered from Island Pizza. All were great. We've made reservations to return next year.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
479 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 536 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2006

I was wary of the hotel after initial booking problems. They charged the deposit to my credit card twice and despite 2 e-mails and a phone call, ignored my request to retain the money rather then refund my credit card. Due to exchange rate shifts their error and unwillingness to listen to me left me out of pocket by around $20. Not a good start.

We have visited Sanibel many times and know exactly what standards to expect from our hotel. On this occasion very few of our expectations were met -

One of the beds in the room was broken. It had a "V" in the centre where the mattress had folded in completely and could not be used.

The second bed was the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in. My partner and I required painkillers each morning as we were barely able to move after a night in this bed.

The room was damp - I'm well used to the beach side hotels and I know what to expect but clothes placed in drawers in the room were damp when we took them out.

The carpet was not clean and did not apear to be vacuumed at any point during our stay.

The closet doors were rusty, as were a number of other fixtures within the room.

The bedside lamp had a bare wire hanging from it.

We were unable to obtain towels for use by the pool - guests are expected to bring their own pool towels - not made clear on the website.

The information contained in the room relating to the costs for guest laundry is incorrect and does not reflect the actual charge

There were several extremely ill mannered and rowdy children staying at the Inn which made relaxing quietly impossible - this I accept is not the fault of the Inn, rather the inability of their parents to control them.

Whilst the staff were friendly and seemed accomodating I was bitterly disapointed in the standard of this establishment. although the grounds were nice on initial arrival once inside the rooms it had a somewhat shabby motel feel . Not somewhere I will return to or recommend to others.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Gill68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2006

Shh - don't tell anyone!
Terrific little unpretentious place, especially for its very reasonable price in relation to its locale: right on the beach next to Captiva - in high season! Staff goes out of its way to make its guests comfortable, and rooms are spotless. We've already booked for next year - looking forward to the "green flash"!

Helpful?
7 Thank jtbjtbjtb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2005

We just returned from the Waterside Inn on Sanibel Island, FL. Athough it was a brief stay, we felt so refreshed when we were leaving. The staff are so friendly and helpful you feel like family. The cottage we stayed in was immaculate and had everything we needed. All we had to do is walk out the door and we were on beautiful Sanibel Beach for its amazing sunrise and sunset scenes. We were pleasantly surprised by the "Sunset Party" the Management scheduled on the beach with an abundance of refreshments for its guests. Waterside Inn has a very nice hated pool area for its guests, a wonderful shuffle board area on the beach and grills for the guests to use. Closeby there are a variety of local restaurants for any taste and service level. Our brief stay was such a delight we have already scheduled our return in 6 weeks. The J.N. Ding Darling Wildlife Preserve is a "must" to visit.

Helpful?
13 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 12 October 2005

We took our 18 month old son to the beach for the first time and stayed in the Rasberry Cottage at Waterside Inn. We used trip advisor to help us decide on our hotel and the reviews were honest and up to date. If you are looking for glitz and glamour and constant planned entertainment this is NOT the place for you. But, if you want a down to earth relaxing beach stay Waterside Inn is a great choice. The staff was very nice and helpful. The cottage was clean and had everything we needed. The beach was WONDERFUL with an over load of shells as well as nice sand. We loved that all of the cottages looked out to one another. It seemed to give a real sense of community. We met some couples with no children, some families both with young children and teenagers, and older couples who are return visitors for the past 30 years. The site was well planned where you can easily get to the pool or the beach in seconds. It also seemed very safe. We saw families allow older children to run back and forth to the pool while younger children and parents stayed on the porch of the cottages. There were gas grills and beach chairs to use free of charge. This was an afordable vacation and we want to return again with other friends and family.

Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
2.7 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,345 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
280 reviews
4.4 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,825 reviews
6.6 mi away
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
#9 of 19 in Sanibel Island
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterside Inn on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterside Inn on the Beach

Property: Waterside Inn on the Beach
Address: 3033 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-5609
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Waterside Inn on the Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you searching for that true Olde Florida charm and style? Look no further than Waterside Inn! You?re just steps away from the beautiful beaches of Sanibel. Amenities include a heated pool, beach loungers, on-site bike rentals, and BBQ grills. Come to relax and unwind in one of our small inns or cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Waterside Inn on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterside Inn On The Beach Hotel Sanibel Island
Waterside Hotel Sanibel Island
Waterside Resort Sanibel Island
Waterside Inn On The Beach Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing