We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxed Quiet Low Key”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Waterside Inn on the Beach
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Rural New Hampshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Relaxed Quiet Low Key”
Reviewed 27 February 2011

We stayed at the Waterside for four nights and found it to be a very quiet relaxed place. The trees and landscaping really add to the beauty of this place. The pool was small but heated and very nice. This isn't the place to have a lot of loud kids or young people having noisy late parties - this is the place to sit on your palm tree surrounded porch. You may join people on the beach watching the sunset. Our room was a bit musty smelling, but we got a great rate so who can complain. It's way better than the snow in NH. The food in Sanibel isn't that great, so if you get a unit with a kitchen you are at an advantage. You can also use their gas grills and rent bikes right in the office. You can bike to the Ding Darling nature preserve from here if you are up to it.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BoozieFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    345
    157
    39
    27
    13
See reviews for
242
194
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2011

Even though the place is older, the rooms are updated and meticulous. Staff is friendly and make you feel at home. Beautiful view and quiet surroundings. The bed was as comfortable as the one at home. Nice having a kitchen where you can cook if you don't feel like eating out. Have stayed at many different hotels and motels in the U.S. but I fell in love with the Waterside Inn. Will be going back soon. Yes there swas some renovating going on, but after talking to the maintenance man, he adjusted his start time as to not wake us. He was more than gracious. There may newer resorts, but the comfort and old world charm can't be beat.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ajp56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensburg pa
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2010

We spent a long weekend at Waterside Inn,, The room in Pineapple was even better than the pictures.. When they say fully equiped kitchen, they mean "Fully equiped"
Very comfortable, convienient location. Beautiful white sand beach,literally steps from our room,staff was very accomodating.very helpful Always clean.Easy access, easy parking, ( I have a large 4x4 pickup ). Easy access to the rooms, I am pending a hip replacement and had no trouble navigating the gentle steps to the second floor, ( they offered us a first floor room, we wanted the upper floor for the view.) The outdoor pool was perfect. beautiful,. even the gulf waves at the beach were a pleasure to float on with our boogie boards The overall stay was definetly a great value. We will definetly stay at Waterside Inn on our next trip, Hopefully soon......
Absolutely beautiful sunsets,,,,,,,But, the "no-see-ums" love the tourist, OFF with DEET helps. Or just wear long sleeves, long slacks/pants and socks..

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nurse15601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2010

My husband and I traveled to Sanibel from Tampa on a whim, with no reservations or plans. We checked Trip Advisor right before we left for the location of a place to stay and came up with the Blue Dolphin. No rooms were available at the Dolphin, but they referred us to the Waterside Inn down the beach. Granted, it's not a Westin (and the window air conditioner was way too loud) you couldn't ask for a better deal. With a walk in rate of $99 we were thrilled. The room was spotless, the beach perfect and less than a minute from the door of our room. Check out was 11:00 am, but they had a simple cottage available for use to shower and change, after check out!!! This proved to be a Godsend for us since we went for a 12 mile bike ride and swim before we hit the road home. Nice, nice place. We will go back.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimsnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2010

We went with 2 young kids and this is a great spot! We were right on the water just steps away from the room. Everyone was very nice, they even had gas BBQ grills to use. The rooms were comfortable & very clean! This is now going to be our spot! Great place & can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mdorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hummelstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2010

My husband and I loved being next to the ocean! we left our windows open and were lullabied to sleep each night by the sound of the waves, and awakened each morning by bird calls - it was the best! We didn't need a "golf package" or "tennis package," so we felt we got a great value - we just wanted a place by the beach! Clean room, clean property, friendly and very helpful staff (Joyce, the property manager, was great!), we couldn't have chosen a better place! We've already booked for next year, and have recommended Waterside Inn to our friends and family! I can hardly wait to return!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarinHtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2010

This was our second stay at the Waterside Inn. It is located in a very nice portion of the Island, close to shops and restaraunts, with great views of the gulf, and even better surf fishing. Some of the fish we caught were Snook, Whiting, Spanish Mackeral, and shark. Our whole family stayed in an effcientcy with queen beds. The rooms are large with a balcony. Had room for all our beach and fishing gear.. The rooms are cozy and very well kept. Our days consisted of beach fun and great Florida sun! Our nights were long walks on the beautiful white sand and a million stars above. Special thanks to Joyce at the front desk who helped us through our little boys outing!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jay_dragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
2.7 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,183 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
4.3 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#8 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterside Inn on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterside Inn on the Beach

Property: Waterside Inn on the Beach
Address: 3033 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-5609
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Waterside Inn on the Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you searching for that true Olde Florida charm and style? Look no further than Waterside Inn! You?re just steps away from the beautiful beaches of Sanibel. Amenities include a heated pool, beach loungers, on-site bike rentals, and BBQ grills. Come to relax and unwind in one of our small inns or cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Waterside Inn on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterside Inn On The Beach Hotel Sanibel Island
Waterside Hotel Sanibel Island
Waterside Resort Sanibel Island
Waterside Inn On The Beach Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing