We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Loggerhead Cay
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Sanibel Inn(Sanibel Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Song of the Sea(Sanibel Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sanibel Moorings Resort(Sanibel Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchor Inn & Cottages(Sanibel Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunshine Island Inn(Sanibel Island)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seaside Inn(Sanibel Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parrot Nest(Sanibel Island)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveller rating
84
40
18
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
84
40
18
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsliving roomtennis courtsthe kitchenpartial oceanbdrm bathmorning sunwasher and drierbeach chairsvacation destinationpool areacomfortable condonice groundsvisiting sanibelceiling fanthe ground floorscreen doorcomfy bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 155 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2010

Loggerhead Cay on Sanibel Island is a wonderful place to visit with your family. We have 2 children (10 and 14) and everyone had a great time--we can hardly wait to go back next year. The location is great--although it doesn't have direct views of the sunsets. You can see the beautiful sky from the it's Gulf location. The pool is wonderful and well kept with a nice walkway to the beach. Friendly, quiet, and welcoming to pets. Not all units accept pets so be sure to check. Great open grassy areas for playing frisbee, Bocce ball, etc... Nice location on the island. Highly recommended. I highly recommend Unit 273!! Clean, well equipped and easy to work with for planning purposes. Third building from the gulf but a very simple walk to the beach and pool. We would definitely rent this unit again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cfoam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

We rented from vrbo.com and had done a ton of research on our condo and hotel options on Sanibel Island. We really enjoyed our condo unit but this review is really on the Loggerhead Cay complex since there are many rental options - mgmt company and personal rentals from vrbo and such - for one to choose from. The complex is very nicely laid out and maintained. Every unit has an assigned parking space and the guest spots are relegated to the back of the parking lot so it's nice to come home and know you have a spot to park in. The pool is very large and was very clean. The only wish was some shade at the pool area since it is so hot in the summertime but there were plenty of lounge chairs to sit in around the pool. There is no eating on the pool deck but there are tables right next to the pool should you choose to bring a snack. This keeps the pool area very clean and I thought it was a plus! All of the bldgs face the pool so it would be a relatively quick walk for everyone no matter where you are located in the complex. The walls are not like a cheap hotel in the units and we were pleased that we did not hear our neighbors very loudly for our 2 week trip. There is a walkway to the beach that has a hose to rinse off sandy feet and there is a walkway that leads to and from the parking lot unit that takes you out to the gorgeous beach. Like clockwork every morning, the maintenance staff hosed down all common areas and emptied the trash from the main trash bin where each floors garbage chutes dumped into. They also recycle in two different areas of the complex for those that are good enough to spend the few minutes it takes to separate their trash/recycling. I was very pleased to see this! The beach itself is lovely right at Loggerhead Cay. There is fantastic shelling and a glimpse of dolphins in the water happened more than a few times for us. The tennis courts were maintained too and fairly empty for the summer months. We would definitely return to Loggerhead Cay for it's location at the quiet end of the island, ease to get to and from the Causeway and the lovely complex. Our unit was a wonderful end unit that faced the ocean and we felt fortunate to call it ours for our two week vacation with our two children (ages 5 and &7).

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank houseof3boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2010

My family of five stayed in Loggerhead Cay 522 the first week of May 2010. The condo was quite large and very clean and well decorated. The masterbed/bath was a good bit away from the second bedroom/bath. The master was also connected to the lanai which was nice. King sized bed was very comfortable. The view from the lanai was great. We could watch the kids walk all the way down to the water. The kitchen was quite large. Large enough in fact to lay out all our shells on the floor and still have room to cook. Plenty of pots and pans and sliverware and glasses. Full size/washer and dryer was used everyday. Nothing really wants to dry too quickly with the humidity and we were able to have clean and dry bath and beach towels everyday. The location in the complex was ideal, close to the beach and a better view than most. It might have taken 20 seconds to walk to the beach, unless you were loaded down with gear and then maybe 30 seconds. In our haste to get to Dairy Queen one evening we locked ourselves out of the unit. A friendly security guard lent us his phone and provided a phone number of the management company. Within 20 minutes a friendly man was at the unit and unlocking our door. The only thing I could knock with this unit is the sleeper sofa. Only the smallest of children would be able to sleep on the mattress. My 6 y/o, who likes to sleep on the floor quite often, was unhappy with the springs poking through the mattress. And the only thing I could knock with the complex is that they allow smoking on the lanais. We had several smokestacks below us and quite often our times spent relaxing on the lanai and enjoying the warm air were a bit smokey. But, I would highly recommend this condo and Sanibel for a fun family vacation. If you are unfamiliar with shelling, go to the Bailey Shell Museum and watch the tank demonstration. We had more fun digging for shells in the surf after that. We didn't wait for them to wash up on shore. We all enjoyed watching the lives shells before gently returning them to the ocean. If it is hot/sunny, rent umbrellas. We rented two and it was a great investment in comfort.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TammyPatterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2010

My husband and I stayed at LC unit #264 with our two young children (20mths and 4yrs) in May 2010. It is a 2 bedroom condo on the 4th floor wtih a partial view of the gulf. The condo was SPOTLESS. I couldn't get over how clean the unit was. It was perfect for our needs. The two bedrooms are on opposite ends of the unit with the 2nd bedroom at the front with a 2nd exterior door in the bedroom. We weren't crazy about that, but the boys ended up sleeping with us anyway. The master bedroom was large enough to accommodate a pack n play crib. The unit itself is not fancy and in fact a bit tired looking. It does have a nice tv and dvd player of which we used every night. The screened in porch is awesome. You can sit there and listen to the waves. The pool is great and there are always people there. For being such a large complex, it is very quiet-- perfect for young familes. I think the pool closed at 8 and then has two hours for adults only (8-9am and 4-5pm). It worked out fine for us, because our children are so young. we also were able to rent beach chairs and a beach umbrella from the Property Mgmt company (VIP Rentals) which were a must have. The kitchen has all the pots/ pans and utensils you would ever need. We would definitely stay there again. There is so much to do on the island and it is very child friendly. We ate at many of the restaurants (Doc Ford's is a must), rented bikes from Billy's Rentals, went on a boat tour at the Darling Ding Refuge, visited Captiva and of course many trips to the pool and beach. We couldn't have asked for a better vacation and May is perfect. The weather is great and the water is warm!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stpaulfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2010

On our previous visit to Sanibel Island, my husband and then 5 year old son stayed at the Sunset Resort (which we loved). After seriously considering returning to the resort, we chose a condo rental option instead, based on the idea of wanting extra space with our now 7 year old and 1 year old sons. We were extremely happy with our decision, which offered us all the amenities of a hotel, but with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a full kitchen , a screened in deck and a nice sized living room area. Loggerhead Cay features a large, heated pool, tennis courts, shuffle board, well-cared for grounds and is located directly on the beach. I LOVED falling asleep to the sound of the waves and being met with an amazing view of the gulf in the morning. True, no one is coming in to make your bed for you, but when you consider how much a large hotel suite would cost compared to a condo rental....I was more than happy to make my own bed. They supplied us with everything we needed (the rentals are professionally managed) and the rooms were beautifully decorated and clean. One caveat: Some of the condos have not been updated, while others have been completely redone. Ours looked brand new, while we heard from other guests that theirs looked several decades old. Also, there are numerous buildings and some are set further away from the water than others. Ours was the closest to the gulf, which we knew ahead of time. When looking for these rentals, be sure to view the photos presented online of each condo. Some units also allow pets, ours did not and ditto on the smoking. Our unit looked exactly like the photos on the Trip Advisor and VIP rental agency sites.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WinnieJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews