We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“D-36 Every convenience in a luxurious setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pointe Santo de Sanibel
Certificate of Excellence
Canton, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“D-36 Every convenience in a luxurious setting”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We had an awesome time!! The space is fully equipped and very comfortable. It is very clean and well maintained. The kitchen is very nice and a delight to use. We especially enjoyed the lanai with views of the lagoon and ocean and the sound of the waves and birds. The master bedroom and bath are huge. The second bedroom has 2 double beds and is very comfortable. There is a convenient washer and dryer in the unit. The unit is on the third floor and there is an elevator that makes it easy to transport your luggage and groceries as well as beach items (they have a whole closet full of beach chairs, sand toys, beach umbrellas, and a cart to haul it all in) for your use. Small things like ice packs in the freezer ready for use are evidence of the attention to detail in making your stay wonderful.

The beach and pool are 1 minute away and both have lounge chairs for your use. There are also kids activities in the clubhouse by the pool. Also fun is the display of different shells you may find and the name of each. The grounds are beautiful and well kept.

Lovely stay, comfortable accommodations, beautiful beach!
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! I would definitely go back!

Room Tip: D-36 and D-37 are owned by the same people, so this would be great for larger groups to get the unit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank insearchofthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    58
    23
    13
    10
See reviews for
212
60
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pueblo, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed in Unit E-36.

The good: aesthetically, our unit was lovely. We fell in love with the online pictures of the updated kitchen with its granite countertops, stainless steel appliances and tray ceiling. Same goes for the master bathroom with its beautifully tiled walk-in shower. Both functioned wonderfully - although the microwave sounds like it's trying to warn you of imminent danger with its strident beeping when it's done heating things up (petty, I know) - and we were quite happy to have those updated features in the unit. We also appreciated the wide variety of cooking utensils provided, the nice selection of plates and silverware and the amount/variety of sand toys and shelling tools. Always nice to not have to pack all that from Colorado to Florida. The location is right at the pointy mid-point of the island, next to Tarpon Beach. Of all the places we've stayed we agreed this is definitely the most convenient in terms of access to grocery stores and restaurants as well as our favorite shelling spots as it's mid-way between Lighthouse Beach and Blind Pass. The beach was average in terms of shelling. I personally think closer to either the Lighthouse or Blind Pass is better. Also, you can't view the sunset from here so we had to go up to Bowman Beach (where it's spectacular) on the nights we wanted to see it. Otherwise, very clean and not too crowded. Our unit overlooked the beach and the view was pretty spectacular. I loved the fact that I could watch my (older) kiddos play on the beach while chilling with a book on the lanai, although it also meant listening to everyone else's beach noise (screaming, etc). The sliding glass doors did a glorious job of blocking out the noise though so inside the condo it was very quiet.

The bad: Other areas of the condo could benefit equally from updates. The shower in the second (non-master) bathroom comes out in one stream no matter how you adjust the head so it's rather like someone pouring water on you forcefully. Also, the light switch for the light in the shower unit/fan has to be jiggled "just so" to get it to come on. The beds in the second (non-master) bedroom are sagging and form a hole in the middle, which may not present a problem if only children are sleeping on them but woe betide the adults like myself who try to get a good night's sleep. I just think for the amount we paid we could at least expect mid-priced hotel-grade sleeping accommodations. The sheets were fairly rough (although, very clean) and the pillows were flat. Just kind of disappointing when you need your shut-eye to be up and lively for another round of shelling.

The ugly: Apparently on this part of the island there's an ant problem. We haven't encountered that in the two other complexes we've stayed at on Sanibel. Granted, this was not the owners' fault and they appear to be taking steps to control it, but it meant having to either put all our food in the refrigerator or a foam cooler we found in the unit. Despite that, we had ants in the dishwasher a couple of days and had to run it just to get rid of them. Also, mid-week the fire alarm outside the bathroom started beeping like the battery needed replacing. Since it started after 5:00 pm we called the only number we could find and were told that there was basically no one who could fix it until the next day. After explaining that there was no possible way we could sleep with the beeping we were told they didn't know who they could possibly find since there was no one, but that they would find SOMEONE. I'm not sure how you run a complex where people are staying 24 hours a day and have no one to take care of things that occur after 5:00 pm but it was not handled well. The man who came finally came to fix it told us he would replace the battery but that sometimes the units still malfunctioned and if that happened we would have to basically rip the whole thing out of the wall. How relaxing! Anyway, it did beep periodically after that but it always stopped so we didn't have to call and "hassle" the rental company again. We didn't avail ourselves of the other amenities offered so I can't comment on those but as you can tell, based on our limited interaction we weren't impressed.

Overall: convenient location and pretty, though not overly comfortable, accommodations with a few drawbacks.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melsbells88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belleville, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Our room was A35 - it was very nice and condo on the 3rd floor. Very sound proof. I didn't wake up at all from people being outside or in the halls talking. Only a very short walk to the beach and pool. You do have assigned parking - my spot I actually had to back park into. The parking lot is rather narrow in my opinion. Sand Flies (no-see-ums) are terrible at night. I had nearly 200 bites on my legs and arms so beware of that!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Jamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Some things you want to keep to yourself, and this could easily be one of them, but the experience was so good that it's just not possible to not say something publicly. We are first time visitors to Sanibel, and the accommodations of this place were perfect for our party of 6. We worked through Select Vacations to secure the place, but we had connected with the owner prior to doing so, and the experience from securing the rental to arriving to see the actual condition of the place, and the amenities of the condos, as well as the property owners beach supplies, it was a homerun. Well done B3 owners....well done. Thanks for the stay, and for helping to make our week visit memorable. Consider Pointe Santo de Sanibel for your next visit as well!!!

Room Tip: B3 is closer to the back part of the condo units, but coming right out of the screen porch to the pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
564 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We rented E5, a gulf front groundfloor 2 bed, 2 bath condo from VIP Vacation rentals. the rental process was seamless and easy. The rental includes bedding and twelve sets of good quality bath towels. No beach towels, so bring your own or buy them. The only real issue i had was that the cleaning service turned off the ice maker, so when we arrived, there was no ice, and we were hot and needed something cool to drink. There is no ice maker on the complex property. The condo was clean and well furnished, with comfortable beds (good pillows!) and sofa. The only issue was poor lighting in the secondary bedroom. Only one lamp. So, i carried a floor lamp from the master bedroom, and also had to replace two lightbulbs. The secondary bedroom is right near the elevator, so you could hear people coming and going. It wasn't too bad in May, because it wasn't very crowded, but i image in the peak season, it would be irritating. The screened lanai had a plastic table and four plastic chairs. Comfortable enough if you sit on towels. The two beach chairs were rusty and gross. There were assorted buckets and nets and a boogie board that looked broken. The screen had a hole in it that needs to be repaired. There are ceiling fans in the secondary bedroom, kitchen and dining room and lanai. The master has a canopy bed for some reason, but they provide a floor fan. The ac unit worked well. The bathrooms were okay, but could use a renovation. No hair dryers, so bring your own. Pointe Santo itself is a ice, quiet complex with a great location. The pool was warm and clean and a nice size, though in high season might be too small. There are chaises on the beach.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellerfromatown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altamonte Springs, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Pointe Santo de Sanibel is a very nice condo complex located directly on a nice section of the beach. Unit B-31 is a 2 bedroom, 2 bath spacious unit nicely furnished and well appointed. The unit came well stocked with everything need for a great stay. This included dish soap, paper towels and every kitchen gadget you could think of. The owners were wonderful to deal with and very accommodating. The unit even include 2 bikes to use while visiting Sanibel. We've been coming to Sanibel longer than I care to admit and this is one of the nicer properties on the beach. The complex is neat, clean and well cared for just as is unit B-31.

Room Tip: All the units have a screened porch with very nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fatbobOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Port Santo is a very well maintained property and this unit is very nice. Clean, great view of pond and the ocean. Everything you need. Has beach chairs, umbrella, beach towels…. Owner has made sure everything is in good condition. First time on Sanibel and won't be the last.

Room Tip: Choose 3rd floor or 4th floor for quieter location. C-35 and C-36 here at Santo are good units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cdbtennessee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
1.7 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,297 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
267 reviews
3.4 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,775 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#9 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,296 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Ybel Resort
Casa Ybel Resort
#13 of 19 in Sanibel Island
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pointe Santo de Sanibel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pointe Santo de Sanibel

Property: Pointe Santo de Sanibel
Address: 2445 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6036
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pointe Santo de Sanibel 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pointe Santo de Sanibel is an upscale condominium resort located directly on the Gulf of Mexico. Our family resort features a gulfside pool and whirlpool, a clubhouse, 2 tennis courts, shuffleboard, beach volleyball and a supervised children's program. The grounds feature extensive tropical landscaping along a romantic lagoon crisscrossed by quaint bridges and walkways, Tiki huts and BBQ grills. All individually owned units feature a screenedmlanai with a Gulf view, full kitchens, individually controlled AC, cable & Wi-Fi. Pointe Santo is close to the bike path, "Ding" Darling wildlife refuge, theater, restaurants, and golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pointe Santo de Sanibel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pointe Santo De Sanibel Hotel Sanibel Island
Pointe Santo De Sanibel Island
Point Santo Sanibel Island
Pointe Santo De Sanibel Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing