We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pointe Santo de Sanibel was amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pointe Santo de Sanibel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed in A-35 in June of 2014. The condo was in perfect condition and very clean. The one thing I think that could be better about the room itself was that it is not equipped with much. There is silverware and bowl/cups, but other than that as far as kitchen utensils, not much. NOT EVEN A BOTTLE OPENER!! The fan in the lanai is great!

The entire grounds of Pointe Santo de Sanibel was just breathtaking. You really do feel as if you are in the Caribbean or something. Palm trees and coconut trees are everywhere (in fact you could see coconuts growing about 15 feet away from our lanai). The vegetation is beautiful with tropical flowers and wildlife everywhere.

It is a very short elevator ride and walk to the pool/hot tub and beach from the A building. The pool was very clean as was the hot tub. The pool is not super large, but I never felt that it was over crowded, there was always chairs available if you needed one. The sun deck on top of the pool building provides amazing views of the beach and the entire compound. The kids activities that the pool center offers are a nice touch for younger kids.

The beach is beautiful. Remember, we were here in June and it was not too hot/humid at all. The weather was absolutely beautiful. NOTICE - THERE ARE A LOT OF SHELLS ON THE BEACH! If you did not know that before you decided to vacation on Sanibel Island, then that is your own fault. I did not wear water shoes once the entire week and was fine. Once you get about 6 feet past the waters edge, the sand is extremely soft on your feet in the ocean. The sand volleyball court is a very nice touch as well.

The wildlife here is awesome. The birds flying around, turtles in the lagoon/pond, itty bitty frogs jumping around, geckos at night, sand dollars everywhere in the ocean, we caught about 10 starfish, just amazing. There were plenty of people fishing from the sides of the beach and they were catching fish. ANOTHER NOTICE - THE BUGS COME OUT WHEN THE SUN GOES DOWN. We never had any issues with bugs during the day, but if you would like to be outside after the sun goes down, make sure to use bug spray.

I really have nothing negative to say about Point Santo de Sanibel. The one small annoyance is that the trash dumpsters are all the way back by the road at the entrance to the parking lots and you have to walk your trash all the way out there, but I suppose I would rather have that than the smell and bugs around the complex!

We really enjoyed Pointe Santo de Sanibel so much that we are planning on returning next summer.

Room Tip: A-35 was perfect! Beautiful beach views and probably the quickest walk to the pool/beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bills453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 357 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Easy walk to the beach. Accommodations really depends on owner upgrades. B22 was a great unit with enough room for 4 people and 2 kids. Beach wasn't too crowded in June but I could see how it would be in peak season. It has a small pool, so beware if that is important to you.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank ArkyTraveler27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed in Room A25 during our May 2014 trip, the view was great, the location was excellent, and the unit was fully equipped and clean. The unit faces the beach, so no problem with sounds from the pool. Very relaxed and laid back atmosphere, shelling was great, the walk to the beach was excellent and very close. They did have sand toys and beach chairs in the unit, not in the best of shape, but made do. The reason for the Average rating is because of the beds, they were horrible! Mgmt. did go out and get a thick mattress pad for the king, and a couple of softer pillows, but for the price, owner should have replaced way before now. They said we were the first to complain, well either people sleep on the floor, which is better than the beds, (I'm including the two twins in the 2nd bedroom) or they slept on the couch or on the lounger with the cushion on the lanai. So all said, the unit was great, the beds horrible, and the management tried to accommodate. Yes, to the Mgmt., not to the unit because of the beds.

Room Tip: Bldg. A is very close to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We had an awesome time!! The space is fully equipped and very comfortable. It is very clean and well maintained. The kitchen is very nice and a delight to use. We especially enjoyed the lanai with views of the lagoon and ocean and the sound of the waves and birds. The master bedroom and bath are huge. The second bedroom has 2 double beds and is very comfortable. There is a convenient washer and dryer in the unit. The unit is on the third floor and there is an elevator that makes it easy to transport your luggage and groceries as well as beach items (they have a whole closet full of beach chairs, sand toys, beach umbrellas, and a cart to haul it all in) for your use. Small things like ice packs in the freezer ready for use are evidence of the attention to detail in making your stay wonderful.

The beach and pool are 1 minute away and both have lounge chairs for your use. There are also kids activities in the clubhouse by the pool. Also fun is the display of different shells you may find and the name of each. The grounds are beautiful and well kept.

Lovely stay, comfortable accommodations, beautiful beach!
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! I would definitely go back!

Room Tip: D-36 and D-37 are owned by the same people, so this would be great for larger groups to get the unit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank insearchofthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed in Unit E-36.

The good: aesthetically, our unit was lovely. We fell in love with the online pictures of the updated kitchen with its granite countertops, stainless steel appliances and tray ceiling. Same goes for the master bathroom with its beautifully tiled walk-in shower. Both functioned wonderfully - although the microwave sounds like it's trying to warn you of imminent danger with its strident beeping when it's done heating things up (petty, I know) - and we were quite happy to have those updated features in the unit. We also appreciated the wide variety of cooking utensils provided, the nice selection of plates and silverware and the amount/variety of sand toys and shelling tools. Always nice to not have to pack all that from Colorado to Florida. The location is right at the pointy mid-point of the island, next to Tarpon Beach. Of all the places we've stayed we agreed this is definitely the most convenient in terms of access to grocery stores and restaurants as well as our favorite shelling spots as it's mid-way between Lighthouse Beach and Blind Pass. The beach was average in terms of shelling. I personally think closer to either the Lighthouse or Blind Pass is better. Also, you can't view the sunset from here so we had to go up to Bowman Beach (where it's spectacular) on the nights we wanted to see it. Otherwise, very clean and not too crowded. Our unit overlooked the beach and the view was pretty spectacular. I loved the fact that I could watch my (older) kiddos play on the beach while chilling with a book on the lanai, although it also meant listening to everyone else's beach noise (screaming, etc). The sliding glass doors did a glorious job of blocking out the noise though so inside the condo it was very quiet.

The bad: Other areas of the condo could benefit equally from updates. The shower in the second (non-master) bathroom comes out in one stream no matter how you adjust the head so it's rather like someone pouring water on you forcefully. Also, the light switch for the light in the shower unit/fan has to be jiggled "just so" to get it to come on. The beds in the second (non-master) bedroom are sagging and form a hole in the middle, which may not present a problem if only children are sleeping on them but woe betide the adults like myself who try to get a good night's sleep. I just think for the amount we paid we could at least expect mid-priced hotel-grade sleeping accommodations. The sheets were fairly rough (although, very clean) and the pillows were flat. Just kind of disappointing when you need your shut-eye to be up and lively for another round of shelling.

The ugly: Apparently on this part of the island there's an ant problem. We haven't encountered that in the two other complexes we've stayed at on Sanibel. Granted, this was not the owners' fault and they appear to be taking steps to control it, but it meant having to either put all our food in the refrigerator or a foam cooler we found in the unit. Despite that, we had ants in the dishwasher a couple of days and had to run it just to get rid of them. Also, mid-week the fire alarm outside the bathroom started beeping like the battery needed replacing. Since it started after 5:00 pm we called the only number we could find and were told that there was basically no one who could fix it until the next day. After explaining that there was no possible way we could sleep with the beeping we were told they didn't know who they could possibly find since there was no one, but that they would find SOMEONE. I'm not sure how you run a complex where people are staying 24 hours a day and have no one to take care of things that occur after 5:00 pm but it was not handled well. The man who came finally came to fix it told us he would replace the battery but that sometimes the units still malfunctioned and if that happened we would have to basically rip the whole thing out of the wall. How relaxing! Anyway, it did beep periodically after that but it always stopped so we didn't have to call and "hassle" the rental company again. We didn't avail ourselves of the other amenities offered so I can't comment on those but as you can tell, based on our limited interaction we weren't impressed.

Overall: convenient location and pretty, though not overly comfortable, accommodations with a few drawbacks.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melsbells88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Our room was A35 - it was very nice and condo on the 3rd floor. Very sound proof. I didn't wake up at all from people being outside or in the halls talking. Only a very short walk to the beach and pool. You do have assigned parking - my spot I actually had to back park into. The parking lot is rather narrow in my opinion. Sand Flies (no-see-ums) are terrible at night. I had nearly 200 bites on my legs and arms so beware of that!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Jamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Some things you want to keep to yourself, and this could easily be one of them, but the experience was so good that it's just not possible to not say something publicly. We are first time visitors to Sanibel, and the accommodations of this place were perfect for our party of 6. We worked through Select Vacations to secure the place, but we had connected with the owner prior to doing so, and the experience from securing the rental to arriving to see the actual condition of the place, and the amenities of the condos, as well as the property owners beach supplies, it was a homerun. Well done B3 owners....well done. Thanks for the stay, and for helping to make our week visit memorable. Consider Pointe Santo de Sanibel for your next visit as well!!!

Room Tip: B3 is closer to the back part of the condo units, but coming right out of the screen porch to the pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
1.7 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,435 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
301 reviews
9.2 mi away
'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Anchor Inn & Cottages
Anchor Inn & Cottages
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
212 reviews
3.4 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
705 reviews
1.6 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pointe Santo de Sanibel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pointe Santo de Sanibel

Address: 2445 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6036
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Price Range: £267 - £550 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pointe Santo de Sanibel 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pointe Santo de Sanibel is an upscale condominium resort located directly on the Gulf of Mexico. Our family resort features a gulfside pool and whirlpool, a clubhouse, 2 tennis courts, shuffleboard, beach volleyball and a supervised children's program. The grounds feature extensive tropical landscaping along a romantic lagoon crisscrossed by quaint bridges and walkways, Tiki huts and BBQ grills. All individually owned units feature a screenedmlanai with a Gulf view, full kitchens, individually controlled AC, cable & Wi-Fi. Pointe Santo is close to the bike path, "Ding" Darling wildlife refuge, theater, restaurants, and golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pointe Santo de Sanibel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pointe Santo De Sanibel Hotel Sanibel Island
Pointe Santo De Sanibel Island
Point Santo Sanibel Island
Pointe Santo De Sanibel Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing