We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots to say about this place...”
Review of Island Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Island Inn
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed in the cottage closest to the beach. Location, none better and that gets us to the 4 stars here. Nothing beats being able to walk right out there to the ocean.

The staff… nice.

The cottage… well it was way outdated. I love a good charming place but it wasn't that either. I don't find rust on the fridge and ancient appliances "charming". The pillow gave my husband a neck ache which hindered him for the rest of the vacation… he never has this problem so that was unexpected. The beds… weren't too bad but every time you moved the headboard hits the wall so each time our son or we moved, it would bang the wall and wake us up LOL These are the things that make memories I guess but when you're dealing with it, it's not amusing really, no matter how lighthearted you are!

The TV and cable was fine, the wifi worked which was nice. Couldn't miss our Thanksgiving football!

The cottage is also very small… 2 beds, which we knew going in but the door to the outside enters through the BATHROOM.. the one and only bathroom, which was awkward so we always used the sliding door on the other side of the cottage and hoped nobody from housekeeping would ever walk in on one of us while in the bathroom!....

To give you perspective, we are a 4 person family… 2 teens and 2 adults. The other half of our cottage was vacant and boy it would have been nice if someone had told us that and offered us a deal to rent that side so we could have a little more room (and another bathroom!) but didn't happen. Missed opportunity there.

Breakfast was free and not bad.. nothing elaborate though but I wasn't going to cook in the kitchen provided in our cottage :(

We stayed Thanksgiving eve and Thanksgiving day… departed the day after the holiday.
We give 4 stars here because the beach warrants it, as do the other amenities… tennis, shuffleboard, small pool, the coolest and most prevalent seashells… and the staff. Just wish for the grand price we paid that the cottage would have been more updated.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Samantha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you for staying at the Island Inn over the Thanksgiving holiday and for taking the time to share your experience. I’m glad you enjoyed the Inn’s location, amenities and guest services, but I’m sorry your accommodation was not updated to your level of satisfaction. I’ve noted your observations/suggestions and will address them in order to better the experience of future guests.

For future/prospective guests, we do offer four 2 bedroom cottages and one 3 bedroom house for families. Also, we encourage you to inquire about last-minute additional accommodations if needed for your party while on site.

Again, thank you for staying with the Island Inn and we hope you can return to Sanibel Island again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

703 - 709 of 1,382 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

We spent our 3 year anniversary here. It was beautiful. The staff was friendly and helpful. We entered our room which was very nice, they left us wine to kick off the celebration. We got the couple getaway package which gave us credit for dinner or breakfast on site which was delightful. The food was excellent and there are other benefits as well. Very quit , friendly neighborhood. We loved that we got to go bike riding and spending the day shopping and going to the beach.
I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: I choose a room with a beach view. I just wanted to see the sun rise I the morning. This was the mos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charmainebeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you for your review and we hope you can return to Sanibel Island again soon! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

The end of December 2013, Christmas through the New Year 2014, turned out not to be the most relaxing/enjoyable time to stay at The Island Inn; too much pressure on the facilities, and the staff were too pressed with work at their desks to be available for top service.

To be fair, however, we had just crossed Florida from The Pillars Hotel in Ft. Lauderdale, (see that review?) where the service was so exceptional that the indifferentness at Island Inn really stood out badly. And, the exceedingly high charges felt gouging for what amounted to a rather 'bed and breakfast' style.

On arrival, there is no valet service, and certainly a lack of bellmen to help with luggage. After the desk hands over keys, you are on your own to schlep into the room. This probably wouldn't have been so disappointing if I hadn't been afflicted with digestive problems, which threw the burden of luggage onto the other person?
However, at the high prices, better (or some?) service is expected.
The general attitude toward service throughout this visit was dismissive, though due to lack of one room through our four night stay, we had to change rooms three times. Granted, by the time we knew we would be in Florida over the holidays, Island Inn booking was limited.

Room 1 ~~ Kimball Lodge, room 253:
Beautifully redone throughout; very comfortable beds; quiet; private sea front position.
The bathroom has double sinks with granite counters, and private toilet/shower area, also.
Truly delightful.
If only we could have stayed there throughout ~~!!

Room 2 ~~ Starky Lodge, upstairs center:
Again, stunning decor, all new; magnificent beds; large kitchen with full-sized appliances and ice maker in the refrigerator.
The screened porch has a head-on view of the sea, and quite large space.

Room 3~~ Phister Cottage:
This venue had been presented as the finest in the resort, but fell far short~~!!
Two bedrooms, one with twin child-sized beds, which neither of us could fit, as they are
too short and narrow.
The only double bed was like sleeping on a brick; felt cheap and hard, and creaked badly.
Saving grace is the front porch . . . though noise from the adjacent buildings (next door as well as at Island Inn) detracted from quiet enjoyment.
Some sort of critters were digging under the cottage all night, which was alarming, as we couldn't be sure they wouldn't get into the cottage?

A mixed experience for sure . . . not a place we'll choose in the future; certainly not at the hugely inflated 'high season' prices paid this time ~~!!

Room Tip: This resort doesn't allow guests to request specific rooms, though the best rooms are at the fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank ch00seyon3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Thank you for your review and stay at the Island Inn. The staff at the Island Inn remembers you and I’m sorry you did not enjoy your overall stay. Please allow me to respond to your review in an effort to help prospective guests find the accommodation option and location that best fits their needs.

After reading your review and analyzing the majority of the issues raised I see a reoccurring theme of false expectations and inaccurate comparisons.

The Island Inn is a historic beachfront Inn, offering a low density experience with unparalleled beach proximity and world-class shelling along with modernized accommodations and amenities. We are advertised worldwide and consistently reviewed (see other reviews below) as a 3 star facility located in one of the most pristine ecological areas in the United States, offering excellent customer service to our valued guests.

Comparing the Island Inn to the Pillars Hotel is like comparing apples to oranges. For example, The Pillars is a member of the Luxury Small Hotels of the World, is designed to cater to a different type of vacationer and reflects this in its pricing (their Villa, which compares to our Cottage, starts at $750 a night during high season, where ours start at $480). They are located on one of the busiest highways in Florida, in the heart Fort Lauderdale, amongst the skyscrapers and chain hotels. They do not have a beach.

In conclusion, Sanibel Island and the Island Inn do not specifically cater to nor typically offer the level of services that seemed to be a priority. We are, however, highly sought after for other characteristics, none of which you mentioned in your review. With this being said, it is clear that Sanibel Island and the Island Inn were a poor choice for your accommodation needs and expectations. In such cases, we would rather see guests not stay at the Inn, as opposed to have a vacation experience that does not match their needs and expectations.

Again, thank you for your comments and patronage. I hope your travels home to Washington were safe and you are able to find a more enjoyable vacation experience in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Upon our late arrival we were offered a far better room than we had paid for with a very modest increase in our already low price for a single night in December. We were given a huge room on the first floor of the modern, immaculate Kimball Lodge. We looked out over the beach. On arrival, we were given a packet of discounted attractions, including 15 percent off the total bill at the pleasant Traditions restaurant.

Room Tip: We recommend Kimball Lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonnaM49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you for your review and stay at the Island Inn. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that the special discounts and offers from our local partners in our Exclusive Promotion packet, given to guests who book directly through the Inn ONLY, enhanced your Sanibel Island experience. I hope your travels home to Kansas were safe and you are able to visit the Island Inn again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Making our reservations with Diane at the Island Inn I knew that we made the right decision. Diane was very helpful in our choice of room since there are many to choose from, and boy did I ask her a lot of questions, but Diane was a pro and really helped. We stayed in the Kimball Lodge, which was recently renovated. Had a clean, comfortable room with a great view of the water something which I really wanted. Walk from your screened patio, and you were at the water. Each evening you can see a great sunset as you walk along the water's edge. How peaceful.
Marguerite and Leslie greeted us upon arrival and they are friendly cheerful people who truly showed an interest in their guests. I asked questions, as always, and Marguerite and Leslie were so helpful in choosing where to eat and where to go. Whenever we went to the front desk, no matter how many times, Marguerite and Leslie greeted us with a smile and showed a real concern.
When making your reservations, make sure you ask about all your options. There are cottages and lodges to choose from for your needs. You won't be disapointed in your choice. Look on line and you can see what you want and make your choice that way.
We will be returning and we are sure we won't be disapointed with the place and Marguerite and Leslie helping us.
You will enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: Check out rooms online before you make reservations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you for staying at the Island Inn and for taking the time to leave a review of your experience. I am so glad you enjoyed your time at the Inn and that you were provided such wonderful service from our ladies at the front desk. Our staff loves Sanibel Island, the Island Inn and its wonderful guests and is a main aspect of what sets us apart from other Sanibel Island accommodation options. I hope your travels home were safe and we will be anxiously awaiting your next arrival to the Island Inn! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The Island Inn is the place to stay!! the hotel has everything you could possible want. The rates are affordable, the rooms are newly renovated big and comfy with all of the amenity's, a large screened patio takes you directly onto the soft white sand and a few steps from the pool and Gulf, you can walk for miles on end looking for shell's which are plentiful. I have been going to Sanibel for many years and this for me was a sheer delight a small piece of paradise..They have a 5***** Restaurant in house called "Traditions on the Beach" they offer a free breakfast and of course you must have dinner (Delish) This Hotel is the only one that I intend to stay at I try to go 2-3 times a year. I am certain you will enjoy it as much as I......

Room Tip: "Rooms on the south side are quieter" "Corner suites are large and sunny"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JodiBraelow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you for leaving such a wonderful review of your stay at the Island Inn and we are so glad you have found your new Sanibel Island home. I am happy our unparalleled beach proximity and low density, combined with our modern accommodations and amenities were a good fit to your needs and expectations. We will be looking forward to your return soon! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Full of character, this 'old florida' full service, resort is nestled on Sanibel Island. With prime beachfront property, it's tucked between two standard condo properties and almost hidden from plain sight on the main road. Having character and personality, the resort offers 3-4 buildings and a collection of unique cottages (if you want more privacy). Bike rentals are available on site, and we were able to charge them directly to our room without driving/ searching for the rental shop. The Starkey Lodge has recently been beautifully rennovated, and each room has clear view of the Gulf. The rooms offer patios or balconies, depending on which floor you choose. The rooms have mini-kitchens and are tastefully decorated, clean, and spacious. Rentals include a light breakfast. The retaurant is open for lunch and dinner. With two teenagers and grandparents, this small resort offered the perfect environment for a family gathering and Thanksgiving holiday escape from the typical rush in suburban America. We would definitely like to return and recommend it to anyone traveling to Sanibel Island.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank ATLTravelBug18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you for leaving such a well-written review of your family’s time at the Inn. I am so glad that the Inn’s offerings seemed to be a perfect fit for your family’s needs and expectations. We sincerely appreciate your referrals and hope you can return to the Island Inn again soon! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
2.8 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 20 in Sanibel Island
2,504 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 20 in Sanibel Island
313 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#4 of 20 in Sanibel Island
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#10 of 20 in Sanibel Island
715 reviews
0.4 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 20 in Sanibel Island
2,018 reviews
3.9 mi away
Sanibel Moorings Resort
Sanibel Moorings Resort
#1 of 20 in Sanibel Island
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Inn

Address: 3111 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-5697
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sanibel Island
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range: £139 - £383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted "Best Inn on the Island," the Island Inn, with its combination of old Florida cottages and modern lodges, sits on 10 beautiful Gulf front acres, offering 550 feet of beach with some of the best shelling in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Hotel Sanibel Island
Island Sanibel
Island Resort Sanibel
Is Sanibel
Island Inn Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing