We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem!”
Review of Island Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Island Inn
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New Jersey
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A Gem!”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The Island Inn was a wonderful find on the beautiful island of Sanibel. We were greeted in our room with an unexpected bottle of champagne to help celebrate our anniversary. Our suite was more than we expected: a full modern kitchen, screened in deck overlooking the beach, and large modern bathroom. The atmosphere and personality of the resort is laid-back and romantic. The staff was always helpful and friendly. We especially appreciated the large deck overlooking the beach available to all patrons, bike rentals on site, and the continental breakfast available every morning. The hotel restaurant, Traditions, was probably the best meal we had during our stay, and the staff was attentive and helpful. Enjoyed the entertainment Friday & Saturday night; dancing in the dining room added to the romantic atmosphere. We strongly recommend the Island Inn and plan to return again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlobeTrotter428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your experience at the Island Inn. I’m glad the Inn’s relaxed atmosphere, friendly staff and unparalleled beach proximity were a good fit to your needs and expectations. We hope your travels home to NJ were safe and will look forward to your next visit soon! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    830
    355
    95
    39
    13
See reviews for
380
672
36
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We spent a week at this Hotel and although the temperature was cooler than we wished for, the staff and accommodations were warm and inviting.
We asked for a little extra car and we got it.
The front staff, the onsite restaurant, even the maintenance and cleaning staff were all friendly and helpful.
We got to know the Island, visited a few friends and generally had a great time.

Room Tip: We had a ground level room which allowed us easy access to the beach. We also faced the sunset. Our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stannie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for choosing the Island Inn for your Sanibel Island vacation and for taking the time to leave a review of your experience. I am so glad our staff’s southern hospitality only enhanced an otherwise great experience. Thank you again for your patronage and we will look forward to your return soon! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahwah, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I caution anyone who reads the other reviews of this place to beware. It may be a historic spot on Sanibel, but it seems like it hasn't been updated since the early 80's. The rooms were tired and depressing and the bar and restaurant that looked appealing on the website, could have been an old VFW lodge with a piano. The pool was a hole in the ground, the grounds were dirt. Everything about this place was depressing, so we left right away, ie as soon as we saw our room and brought the keys back to the front desk (trouble with getting our money back but that's another story) and went down the road to another place recommended by Island Inn staff after I complained, and for pretty much the same money but what a difference!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Harvey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and the staff at the Inn remembers the details surrounding your stay. This review, although inaccurate, is a textbook example of why we strongly urge prospective guests to visit only the Island Inn’s website for accurate and thorough information and to call the Inn directly to ask questions about our facilities, accommodations, amenities and guest services, ensuring your needs and expectations will be met before booking your reservation. If this reviewer had read the reviews and management responses below before booking, as opposed to lashing out after false expectations were not met, they may have known not to expect, “someone to bring drinks all day while I sit at the pool.” The Island Inn is a historic, peaceful, low density property with old Florida charm, modern accommodations, updated amenities, world-class shelling and an award-winning restaurant that is open nightly for dinner. As for our recommendation and assistance in finding an accommodation more suited to your needs and expectations, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will be able to return there soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshalltown, Iowa
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We were fortunate enough to get the last room available and it was in the Starkey Lodge. What a beautiful room. Loved the screened in porch, spacious bathroom and all of the amenities one could want. We loved the views, the beach (with wonderful shelling), the landscaping with the well maintained sand area, beautiful trees and shelters, the breakfast and most of all the very helpful and kind staff. It was all perfect.

Room Tip: updated Starkey Lodge is a wonderful choice
See more room tips
Green Features: I appreciate that they are successfully trying to be environmentally friendly
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for staying in our Gulfview Studio in Starky Lodge and for leaving a review of your experience. We hope you can find the time to return to the Inn soon! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 24 January 2014

New management has really done amazing things here in the past 3 years. Starkey Lodge, that used to have the worst rooms, now has their best. The new screened porches and walk out doors on the first floors are just what the doctor ordered. Kimball lodge rooms completely redone - now also have walkouts from the screened porches on the first floor.

I stayed in the Beach House - 3 bedrooms, 2 full baths, great new kitchen - all new decor, laundry! Awesome job by the Inn. I felt like a king.

This place is not for everyone - if you are looking for the four star experience - head to Naples.... but if you are looking for that old Island Inn experience - it's back here under this team and incredibly helpful and friendly staff. The shareholders of this property can be proud once again. This is the kind of place you go back to every year - and the staff will go out of their way to show you that they are glad you came.

Beautiful property, lots of improvements and ongoing improvements, perfect location on the island. Happy and friendly low key guests make this place an annual favorite for people from all over the world. I might add, the shelling was fantastic last week when i was there. We also went out with Captain Mike and lucked into a nice Snook!

Room Tip: Call them and book direct - or book direct off their website. They are straight up and will give yo...
See more room tips
Green Features: Sanibel Island is the home of Ding Darling NWR, etc. Sanibel is Sanibel because of the way they have protected the environment. The Inn is a very low density old Florida experience and they value all the things that help keep Sanibel beautiful. Many environmentalist can be found at the inn.
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank serviceassociates2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for staying at the Island Inn and for taking the time to leave such a wonderfully detailed review. Your Room Tip below is spot on and should be noted by all prospective guests, too. We hope to see you on sunny Sanibel Island again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Our experience started when we contacted the front desk, it was like speaking with long lost friends that was there to help in anyway they could. I made reservations for New Years Eve, the next day I received a call from one of the staff members that suggested we stay another day and enjoy the beach and relax. We are so glad we did, the staff, the accommodations, the beach, and everything about our stay was what a couple looks for. If your looking for excellent accommodations, view, service and memorable experience, this is it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
I am so glad our outstanding and knowledgeable staff were able to ensure your expectations and needs would be met and helped make your Sanibel Island experience that much more pleasurable. I hope your travels home to Ohio were safe and you are able to visit the Island Inn again soon! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
148 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Returned to Sanibel for a girls' weekend, first time staying here. The room was nice, but small - in fact, the smallest room in the Inn! Front desk was almost hostile when checking us in because I had booked through a third party. Other support staff went out of their way to be hospitable and helpful. Very clean and well maintained property. Extremely convenient to the beach. Unfortunately, the heated pool was only available during daylight hours so a warm swim in the evening wasn't in the cards. Nice continental breakfast. The only negative was the hard sell for more expensive rooms.

Room Tip: Higher floors have full kitchens but are more expensive. All rooms (except one) have private porches...
See more room tips
Green Features: I looked hard for recycling and didn't see any. Didn't seem very eco-friendly to me.
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julieroadtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for staying at the Island Inn and I am sorry you felt as though our front desk staff was pressuring you to upgrade to a larger/more expensive accommodation. For prospective guests, many times travelers receive the smallest hotel room we offer because they book by using a “Secret rate” through a 3rd party like Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, etc. We strongly urge prospective guests to book directly with the Inn so their expectations match their selections.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
2.8 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,251 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
265 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#2 of 19 in Sanibel Island
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
669 reviews
0.4 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,708 reviews
3.9 mi away
Sanibel Moorings
Sanibel Moorings
#1 of 19 in Sanibel Island
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Inn

Property: Island Inn
Address: 3111 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-5697
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sanibel Island
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted "Best Inn on the Island," the Island Inn, with its combination of old Florida cottages and modern lodges, sits on 10 beautiful Gulf front acres, offering 550 feet of beach with some of the best shelling in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Hotel Sanibel Island
Island Sanibel
Island Resort Sanibel
Is Sanibel
Island Inn Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing