We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value on Sanibel”
Review of Island Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Island Inn
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Sanibel is not known for luxurious lodgings -- that simply isn't what people come here for. But if you are looking for a quiet, superbly run inn with immaculately clean rooms and fine beach views, your search can stop right here. Sure, some of the furniture could do with a upgrade. (I understand that some rooms at the inn have already been upgraded; ours had not.) And the breakfast, while perfectly adequate, could be more creative (eg, some nice jams to complement the hot croissants, or granola to go with the fresh fruit and yoghurt.) But the staff bends over backward to make your stay pleasant and stress free, there are lots of extra towels, nice toiletries, etc. Bottom line: the Island Inn represents good value and provides an excellent base for touring the Sanibel-Captiva area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NancyBmillvalley_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you for staying at the Island Inn and for taking the time to share your experience. I am so glad that you found the Inn to be of great value and a terrific jump-off point to explore the pristine ecosystems of Sanibel and Captiva. Thank you again for your patronage and we hope you can return to Sanibel Island again soon! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

655 - 661 of 1,356 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2014

I traveled to this beautiful peaceful haven Feb8-12,2014 and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. From check-in to check-out everyone we encountered was very helpful and friendly. The screened in porch of our second floor room was furnished with a table and 4 chairs.Our view of the water and property was great. Our room had two queen size beds, a sofa bed,full kitchen with table and 4 chairs and also a counter with two stools. The full bathroom had two sinks. The pool was lovely and there were chairs near the beach entrance that could be taken to beach. Bikes were available for rent and very reasonable.The free continental breakfast was plenty for me. There was coffee,juice,yogurt,hard boiled eggs,pastries,and fresh cut fruit. Dinner at the restaurant was fabulous and the live music was fun. A rental car allowed us to dine at other area restaurants,shop at local grocery for happy hour supplies. Every afternoon we had happy hour on beach and enjoyed the greatest show on earth .....SUNSET.....Rental car also took these travelers to the island SPA, a marina to catch a sunset cruise and unfortunately back to the airport to return home.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you for staying at the Island Inn and for taking the time to share your Sanibel Island experience. It sounds like you folks took advantage of all that Sanibel Island has to offer and the Island Inn’s location, accommodations, amenities and guest service fit your needs and expectations perfectly! We hope your winter in PA is short and that you are able to return to sunny Sanibel Island again soon! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Been coming to Sanibel for the past 7 years. First time at the Island Inn. A very pleasant surprise. Stayed in the Kimball building. Freshly remodeled. Screened porch on room plus a neat second floor deck with a panoramic view of the Gulf. Complimentary breakfast every morning very healthy and delicious. Tradewinds restaurant offers excellent food. The ambiance of the Inn is very quiet,laid back and relaxing. Everything is clean and well-maintained. Shuffleboard,horseshoes,tennis,swimming pool and small beach add to the package. We will be back!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Scrmnjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you for choosing the Island Inn for your most recent Sanibel Island stay. I'm glad the Inn's old Florida charm and unparalleled beachfront location, combined with its modern accommodations and amenities were the right fit for your Sanibel Island accommodation needs. We will be anxiously anticipating your next arrival at the Island Inn soon! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Recently remodeled studio apartment had screen porch with outdoor furniture. (Not all apartments have screened porches) There is no safety grab bar for bathtub/shower. No door mats on either door to try to catch sand, therefore one tracked beach sand inside day and night. Friendly staff clean every day but what can they do for the rest of the time? Our studio looked out toward the water. Good shelling for pretty ones. Near Ding Darling Wildlife Preserve.. Good for families because the small pool is gated. ( No lifeguard, one must mind his/her own child.)
Breakfast minimal and unchanging. Did not try the dining room dinners because the breakfast was so limited that we felt our money was better spent at a busy/popular restaurant.

Room Tip: Stayed in Starkey Lodge 4 nights and had unobstructed water view. Did not see other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Checkers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Thank you for your stay and review at the Island Inn. We appreciate your feedback and will use your suggestions to better serve our future guests. We hope you enjoyed the remainder of your time on Sanibel Island!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We stayed here two nights for a getaway. The staff was great, very helpful and friendly! The first thing i noticed was the many buildings on the grounds. There were lounge chairs for guest use that you could drag to the small almost private beach (and drag back when you're done). The pool is small, but had an 8' end! The shuffleboard equipment has seen better days. The horseshoe pits looked a little rough. No exercise room. We had a large comfortable 2nd floor room that included a refrigerator, microwave and safe. Our room smelled musty and old, even though it was clean. The included Continental breakfast was adequate for me, but I've had much better. I'm saying all this because we paid a lot of money to stay here, even if it was "season". I really expected much better. We also did not eat at the restaurant, which only serves dinner. I wouldn't recommend this place to friends.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Thank you for your review and stay at the Island Inn. I am sorry you did not enjoy your time at the Inn and we will use your comments to better our guests overall experience

Again, thank you for your review and patronage. I hope you will be able to return to Sanibel Island soon! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We recently spent a week in the Matthews Lodge at the Island Inn. The room was clean and comfortable, but very small for a week's stay. It did have a screened in porch with table and chairs which expanded the space a little - if the weather is nice. The restaurant doesn't serve lunch and the continental breakfast needs some new options - it's very limited. We didn't go there to dinner as other nearby restaurants were more highly rated in Trip Advisor. The beach and activities are very, very nice, and the staff is wonderful. There is no fitness facility, and the one that they recommend has very old equipment.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mejehn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Thank you for staying at the Island Inn and for taking the time to leave a review of your experience. I am so glad you enjoyed your overall stay and hope you can make it back to Sanibel Island soon.

To add information for prospective guests:

If a larger sized accommodation is desired for extended stays we suggest the Gulfview Studio in our Starkey Lodge or one of our cottages. They both have full kitchen facilities, along with our Gulfview Kitchen Suite and Gulfview Kitchen rooms.

Our restaurant serves a Complimentary light Continental breakfast to our guests, which consists of fresh baked pastries, fresh cut fruit, hard boiled eggs, yogurt assortment, coffee, tea and fresh squeezed juices. Traditions on the Beach, our bar and lounge, is then open for dinner at 5 PM. Guests who book their accommodations directly with the Island Inn receive a 15% off discount for the restaurant and it is consistently a top choice for Sanibel diners.

We recommend guests use the Sanibel Recreation Center as their gym while on the island. It is approximately 2 miles from the Inn and has fairly modern facilities. By googling Sanibel Recreation Center guests can find the site that lists their classes, equipment, programs and facilities.

Again, thank you for your patronage and comments. I hope your travels home to VA were safe and you are able to return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

My husband & I stayed here last month for an extended weekend trip to get out of the cold. While he weather was not ideal, this property certainly was. Such wonderful, helpful staff and beautiful grounds. The beach directly in front is superb for shelling in the morning and sunsets in the late afternoon. Our room was quite large and very clean. The restaurant on site was fabulous as well - we ate there 3 times! Other reviews indicated there was an issue with the hot water - just give it a few minutes, its get nice & hot!
This was our first visit to Sanibel and we would highly recommend Island Inn!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kitkatSouthJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishingflats, Manager at Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Thank you for visiting the Island Inn and I’m so glad you had an enjoyable Sanibel Island experience. It sounds like the Inn’s unparalleled beach proximity, relaxed, old Florida atmosphere combined with our modern accommodations and amenities were a perfect match to your needs and expectations. Thank you for your recommendations and we hope to see you again soon! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
2.8 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 20 in Sanibel Island
2,390 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 20 in Sanibel Island
291 reviews
8.2 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#3 of 20 in Sanibel Island
386 reviews
0.4 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 20 in Sanibel Island
1,882 reviews
3.8 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#9 of 20 in Sanibel Island
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Inn

Address: 3111 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-5697
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sanibel Island
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range: £124 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted "Best Inn on the Island," the Island Inn, with its combination of old Florida cottages and modern lodges, sits on 10 beautiful Gulf front acres, offering 550 feet of beach with some of the best shelling in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Hotel Sanibel Island
Island Sanibel
Island Resort Sanibel
Is Sanibel
Island Inn Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing