We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,513)
Filter reviews
1,513 results
Traveller rating
978
376
103
40
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
978
376
103
40
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kimball lodge traditions restaurant continental breakfast kitchen suite hard boiled eggs yogurt marine biologist bottle of champagne screened in porch full kitchen old florida beach walk second floor no see ums onsite restaurant gulf view low key
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1,513 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2019

We were a couple and stayed for 1 night in Kimball 2nd floor Gulfview Kitchen Suite. We really enjoyed our stay.

Positives -
1. Clean, nicely done facility throughout. Directly on beach with sunset views.
2. Room was clean and well appointed. Appears to be newly updated. Full kitchen including full size fridge and stove.
3. Room included screened balcony.
4. Property includes onsite restaurant/bar. We ate dinner at the restaurant and found the food and service to be great, and the value to be good.
5. Helpful front desk check in staff provided useful information about the property and the island.

Negatives -
1. None noted.

Overall we really enjoyed this property and would recommend it.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishingflats, General Manager at Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for staying at the Island Inn! We appreciate your recommendation and are happy you found your accommodations in Kimball perfect for your stay. We hope we'll see you again on your next Sanibel trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2019

My wife and I stayed at the Island Inn for several days in January. The hotel appeared to have a fairly long history, with a clientel that, in part,seemsvery loyal. The strong points of the Island Inn were: a pleasant and helpful staff (in the front office, the dining room, and the housekeepers.) The Inn and its several buildings has a generally unobstructed view of the beach and the Gulf; it may be one of the premier shell collecting spots in the world.Nevertheless, the Inn had for us several drawbacks, particularly considering its hefty prices. We were expecting a fairly old or traditional hotel, with a bit of old-fashioned charm. Some of the many buildings that make up the Inn could be considered in this light, but our room was in a fairly large structure (the Kendall, I think) that had a somewhat institutional air about it -- clean but somewhat antiseptic, with little attempt at distinctive interior decor. Our room, which did have a pleasant porch with a beach view, was plain with one wooden chair, and two queen sized beds -- both of which were lumpy and uneven and badly in need of new mattresses. Reading area? Not much. No radio. The front desk closes at 8pm, with an emergency number after that.
The Inn has a large and reasonably pleasant dining area with a friendly and efficient staff. The continental breakfast (included in the cost) was ok, but just ok; dinner was also reasonably good, if not particularly creative, and leaned toward the pricey side.

So, in summary, an older hotel with a nice location and some charm but past its prime and charging prices not justified by the final product.

Date of stay: January 2019
Thank 534Equinox534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishingflats, General Manager at Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Island Inn and for taking the time to share your feedback. While we are sorry you did not find all aspects of your stay complete, we do appreciate your comments and will be sure to use them to better the overall experience of the Inn. For prospective guests, we do offer 10 different accommodation types, all with different configurations and sizes, so be sure to call the Inn directly to book your reservation and ensure your selection meets your expectations and needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2019 via mobile

A beautiful resort. Top notch service. The lovely lady at the front desk was extremely helpful and kind. We were upgraded by management for a gorgeous room as the weather was chilly. A perfect stay. The best on the island. Lots and lots of shells in their beach and beautiful sunsets

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank fido1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishingflats, General Manager at Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2019

Thanks for sharing your review! Glad to hear you had the perfect stay with us and found many shells. We hope we'll see you again on your next Sanibel vacation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2019

We have been coming to II for several years. Great laid back beach hotel to stay while at Sanibel. Plus they have Traditions Restaurant and Bar. Love it here.

I am going to rate hotels, restaurants or events in the future on what is important to me. Recently TA has only been focusing on the politically correct things they think are important. Like is the restaurant “dog friendly”. I want things to be good for me and don’t really care to have a dog in a restaurant sitting next to me.

Room tip: All the rooms we have stayed in have been just fine.
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 626lloydm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishingflats, General Manager at Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2019

Thanks for leaving your review! Glad you have joined us once again at the Island Inn and had a wonderful stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2019

This was our second visit and it was wonderful again. Our room in Kimball Lodge was always.very clean and cimfortable. I did have problem with the bed being too hard for my arthritis but others probably like it. Great views of the ocean which is steps away. Used the shell cleaning station and laundry too. Great friendly people!

Room tip: Odd numbered rooms in Kimball Lodge face the sunset!
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Roxanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishingflats, General Manager at Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2019

We always love to hear your recommendations. Thank you for sharing your experience and review! We're glad you were able to join us at the Island Inn once again for your Sanibel vacation. The shell cleaning station is a great amenity to clean your shells before taking them home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews