We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Couples”
Review of The PalmView

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sanibel Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The PalmView
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This was the second time we ha





We stayed in the Pirates Cove apartment and it was very comfortable and very clean.Plenty of everything you need in the kitchen.Ron is a great manager and was very helpful,considering we lost our keys not once but twice.He just laughed and said they would be found and returned,sure enough they were by the time we left.The beach is just a short walk or bike from the inn.Hope we can return to Palmview again next year.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rebecca d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

Just got home from The PalmView! What a great quiet place!! Ron made you feel very welcome and not just a reservation number. He showed us everything around and had some great advise on where to eat and where to avoid. It was a get-away for my husband and I to celebrate our 20th anniversary.
If you are looking for luxurious , this is not your place. But if you want quiet, friendly and a home feel, it is a must.
They provided beach towels, beach chairs, beach umbrella and bikes to get to the beach. What more could you ask for?? There is no pool, but the beach is just a short bike ride away.
A very clean and well kept quaint resort!
Thank you Ron for making us feel welcome!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SWest2594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We actually stayed at their property on Shell Basket Lane it was the perfect place to go with the family! And it's pet friendly! 300 feet from the ocean, clean, complete with everything you need from a full kitchen to beach chairs etc.... No need to pack a lot! We will definitely be going back and bringing friends. (We actually stayed and extra night because it was to hard to leave)
So glad we found this place!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roxy4667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Our 1st trip to Sanibel. We weren't looking for a luxury resort; the trip was about beaches, shells for my wife, great meals, sunsets, and shells for my wife (in no particular order). What we wanted was comfortable quarters with room enough to lounge when we wanted, within a short walk to a beach, and a short drive to just about everything else. We got that and more at the Palm View. It isn't fancy, and it doesn't try to be. The place is attractive, painted in South Florida colors, a bit worn, but in a charming way. We had plenty of room (good-sized bedroom, a small/serviceable bath, cozy living room, and kitchen that would have been very handy for a family that wanted to make use of it). The property is small, but well laid out and attractive; and it got even better during our stay. At the mid-point of our visit, the new manager, Ron arrived. That day the grounds were swept and raked, and the refuse containers disappeared behind shrubbery. Thereafter, the place was immaculate. Even better, Ron is warm, friendly, charming, a great host. He told us of a few changes/improvements he'd like to make (Note to Property Owners: Turn him loose; he's going to make you money!) All in all, it was a wonderful stay, and at a surprisingly reason able rate.

Room Tip: The website has multiple pictures of each of the unique rooms, with layouts drawn for each, so pick...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank russ r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Very nice place to call home for a few days,,Very clean rooms,,, Bicycles available ,,Beach Chairs with an Umbrella also in room,,short walk to fabulous beach,,,,,Sitting area under palm trees for book reading or relaxing…..

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jav906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Cute little place in a quiet part of Sanibel Island. Very clean and pleasant interior. But it is very irritating with some small details- no coffee filters, pepper shaker empty, and gas grill works poorly. I had to go and relight gas burners a couple of times, and heat wouldn't get hot enough to properly cook steak, so I tried to broil in oven- but no broiler pan. So we had tough, undercooked steak that took 50 minutes to get meddium rare.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Andy000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Sanibel Island has become dog friendly over the years. They are allowed on every beach and in many hotels. My spouse, 2 dogs and I spent two nights at a The Palmview. The place is small and consists of only 5 or 6 cottages. Our cottage was a duplex done up in nautical style and painted a bright, tropical color. It was quite spacious with a full kitchen, utensils, and cookware. The queen size bed was separated from the living area by a half wall. Windows opened and provided a nice breeze. Parking was tight, but doable because everyone was considerate. The place was very clean, and since our "duplex mates were quiet people, noise was not an issue. Had they been loud it WOULD have been problematic since the walls were not terribly soundproof...particularly in the bathroom. I could hear very clearly what our neighbors were saying. The beach was just a short walk away. Beach chairs and bicycles were provided for free. Bikes are the best way to get around the island when it's busy and it WAS busy! We would have stayed another night or two had there been availability, but alas, when our two nights were up, we had to move on. The owner/caretaker, Laurie, (very nice woman who allowed us to do our laundry in HER machine for free) was not around much so if you DID have a complaint it might be difficult to settle it. There WAS a telephone next to the office you could use to call her if needed.
My only complaint, and it's not REALLY a complaint is that checkout was 10 AM.

Room Tip: If there is no duplex, I'd go for that. There was one "duplex" where the units were s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank darasaluki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Anchor Inn & Cottages
Anchor Inn & Cottages
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
299 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,919 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#8 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,333 reviews
3.5 mi away
Beachview Cottages
Beachview Cottages
#2 of 19 in Sanibel Island
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The PalmView? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The PalmView

Address: 706 Donax St, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6708
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sanibel Island
Price Range: £64 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Palmview Hotel Sanibel Island
Palmview Hotel Sanibel Island
Palmview Sanibel Island
The PalmView Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing